“Mad” Update

I went to Savannah earlier this week and again stayed at my favorite Inn, The Dresser Palmer House. This time hubby wasn’t with me so I was by myself. I was going to stay two nights but found out that the second night the Inn would have been empty except for me, so I decided to come back home. Sorry, Madeline… didn’t want to keep you company by myself!

 I met a really nice couple from Canada that was on their way to Florida and a nice couple from Florida. The “activity” level this time was very low. Last time we had all kinds of stuff happening and this time not much at all. I had met both couples that evening at the wine social and they both said they were staying on the East Wing in the back of the house. I was in the West Wing on the front of the house so I was the only room occupied on that side and the front of the house that I knew of. The house is very old so it has a lot of creaks and groans. Like when anyone on the West Wing opens the front entryway door the windows will rattle in the room I was staying in. Theoretically if no one else was staying on that side of the house, the windows should have had no reason to rattle…. Am I right or am I right? I did hear the rattling several times before I went to bed and after but maybe it also rattles when they open the door on the East Wing. I’m not gonna dwell on it too much cause it will just freak me out.

I was sitting at the “welcome” desk that evening doing some stuff on the computer and there was a very loud noise that came from like the upstairs hallway and almost sounded like heavy furniture being dragged and then dropped or something heavy. I attributed the sound to the fact that the couple from Florida was leaving the next morning and they were probably packing their suitcases and set it on the floor really heavily. Yeah, that was it! They were staying in one of the upstairs bedrooms on that side so it very easily could have been from them. And the woman came down later that evening looking for ice water and she was already dressed for bed and she didn’t mention the noises which she would have had to have heard so since she wasn’t freaked out, I figured I shouldn’t be either.

Nothing really out of the ordinary (too much) happened during the night. I have always heard of 3 AM as being “the witching hour”. I don’t mean literal witches but I have always heard that more “supernatural” or paranormal activity happens during the wee hours or the morning when most people are usually asleep and for some reason that time 3 AM has always stuck in my mind. Well, at precisely 3 AM I was awakened by a noise. I lay there for a while (or it seemed a while to me… like 30 to 45 seconds) before I picked up my phone off the nightstand to see what time it was. My phone said 3:01. So, yeah, that in itself freaked me out a little.  Then I tried to figure out what the noise was that had awakened me. Then I heard it again.

 You know that weird little clicking shifting noise your computer makes when you put a CD in the drive and it’s trying to load the CD? Yeah, well that was the noise my computer was making. At 3 AM… all by its lonesome… on the other side of the room. I know without a shadow of a doubt that I had turned my computer OFF before I went to bed and it was closed. After it’s been powered off and closed you have to open it up and physically push the button for it to turn back on so why it was “searching” the drive when it was supposedly powered down I have no idea. AND there was NO CD in the drive. That much I know.

 So that was the only kind of freaky thing that happened but it was enough that I turned the TV on (extremely low volume) and turned the light on before I went to the bathroom. Then I left the light on in the bathroom with the door partially shut so only a little light shined out. Yeah, I’m a big scaredy cat. I’m not gonna lie. IF hubby had been there I probably wouldn’t have thought twice about it. Ok… really… I’d have probably had to hold his hand and go with him to the bathroom if he didn’t knock me out of the way to get out of the room first. Sorry honey, it’s okay to be afraid. I love you anyway. You have to remember this is the man that watches scary movies looking through his fingers that are covering his eyes! I’m not sure he’d have been much help.

The next morning when I went down for breakfast, as I passed by the only other room upstairs on the West Wing (on my hallway) and headed down the stairs I distinctly heard LOTS of shuffling right behind the door in that room. I’m not gonna lie… I think I might have peed my pants just a little. Scared me so bad that I almost fell down the steps. Let’s just say it sure didn’t take me long to get to the bottom of the steps. Good thing that door didn’t open or anything when I passed it or as I was walking down the stairs or they would have had to call 911 to come get me. And if I HAD heard it open, I definitely wasn’t going to look back!

I asked the person cooking breakfast if there was anyone else on that side of the house and she said yes. But, both of the other couples said their rooms were side by side so I’m not sure how that would work. I wasn’t about to get myself too worked up cause I still had to go back up there.

 I did however find out a little more about “Madeline”. Her name is Madeline Palmer. I know many of you asked me after the last post on this if I knew any history on her. I didn’t at the time but I did find out a few things. Okay… first a back story on the house.

The Inn was built in 1876 by Henry Dresser and Samuel Palmer. Henry Dresser and his family lived in the West Wing of the house (it was originally a duplex) and Samuel Palmer and his family lived in the East Wing. The Palmers lost not one, but TWO children in that house. Their son died of yellow fever and their daughter, Madeline, apparently died in a fire in the house. Back then there was no such thing as flame retardant clothing and apparently her bedclothes (nightgown) caught fire (not sure if it was from a candle or one of the fireplaces) and she burned to death in her bedroom. And her bedroom was NOT in the West Wing at the top of the stairs as I was originally told, but in the East Wing upstairs.

The person who told me this said that was what he thought was so interesting. First, that she was such a playful little spirit, liking to play pranks and giggling during the night (after having died so tragically) and secondly, that she seemed to favor the West Wing even though she lived in the East Wing. This person said that he thought maybe she was friends with the Dresser children and maybe she was “looking” for her playmates. On the East Wing she mainly confines her activity to running up and down the stairs with a wooden spoon against the slats and locking and unlocking doors and turning off and on radios.

The West Wing is where people have actually seen her on the stairs and that’s the side she seems to like to leave pennies laying around and turning on and off the water to the showers. The one picture that was captured of her it appears she is wearing a nightgown and bonnet which makes much more sense to me now. Maybe she’s on that side looking for her brother? I’m not sure. I just know that the thought that a family lost two of their children there fills my heart with sadness for them. I cannot imagine.

I know one of the former innkeepers there told me that when he’d stay there by himself is when she would be most active. He said the less people that are in the house, the more she seems to roam around. The night #3 and I heard her on the stairs (playing with the wooden spoon against the slats or that’s what it sounds like anyway) the only people in the inn right then were the innkeeper, myself and #3. Thank goodness we weren’t staying there that night. That was when they were remodeling the bathrooms and apparently she didn’t like her house being torn apart.

He said one night he was there alone and he literally could not go to sleep because she kept giggling so much. He said he finally turned the light back on, sat up and kind of sternly said “Okay, Madeline. That’s enough! Time to go to sleep now.” And that she immediately stopped. So, she may be mischievous, but I guess she’s also polite!

Seriously any time you want a wonderful stay in Savannah, The Dresser Palmer House is a delight. The staff is amazing and the accommodations are wonderful and the breakfasts are superb. Just call Shannon or Allison and make your reservation or go online to http://www.dresserpalmerhouse.com and you can reserve your room from there. You can take a virtual tour and read about all the different rooms online. It really is a charming and quaint Inn. Here’s the pictures of my room from my latest visit:

My bed in the Mercer Room (Named after singer Johnny Mercer)

 

Sitting area of the Mercer Room

Fireplace and Waltz windows

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to “Mad” Update

  1. SuziCate says:

    You are too funny…after all these Madeline stories, you want us to go visit here?! I’m sure she sweet, but I think I’ll pass. Yes, I’m a wus!

    • pegbur7 says:

      She doesn’t visit everyone all the time! She is quiet most of the time and it really is a beautiful place. I just don’t want to stay there by myself!

  2. Ron says:

    Okay, first I say that your room was absolutely stunnung! And being someone who lives in a studio apartment, I could actually LIVE in that hotel room very comfortably.

    “You have to remember this is the man that watches scary movies looking through his fingers that are covering his eyes!”

    HAHAHAHAHAHA! OMG, please tell hubby that I’m the same way! I love to watch scary movies, yet at the same time, they SCARE me to pieces!

    Great post, Peg! Thanks for sharing!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ron, he is terrible about them. He will mute them and then go stand around the corner in the kitchen and peek around the wall THROUGH HIS FINGERS! He cracks me up. We went to see American Werewolf in London in the 80’s in a not so nice area of New Orleans and he said he had to go to the bathroom (it wasn’t even halfway through the movie) and he NEVER CAME BACK!!! He left me in there by myself. He went up to the projection booth (we knew all of them) and stayed up there talking to the projectionist the rest of the movie. This was before cell phones and I was left sitting all by my lonesome in a theater full of people I didnt’ know in a slummy part of town when the lights came up at the end. I was so upset with him… Then he rented it and watched it like a dozen times when it came out and I still don’t think he’s seen the entire movie!

  3. Carol says:

    Sounds like an interesting place to stay. I love to hear about places with ghosts.

  4. I would love to visit. Savannah has such rich history anyway. I love hearing more of the Madeline story. The room is gorgeous. We have a ghost app on our iPhone now, maybe we can talk to her. Lol.

  5. NikNik says:

    Thanks for the offer but no thanks. I will NOT be staying there- EVER.

  6. terrepruitt says:

    Wow, that place is beautiful! I’ve never experienced a ghost so I don’t know.

    • pegbur7 says:

      It is beautiful and not everyone that goes there has “experiences” and there are times that she is quiet for long periods of time. It’s really a beautiful Inn if you’re ever in Savannah.

  7. Pingback: Moon Freaky River « Square Peg in a Round Hole

  8. Pingback: Share Your World Week 19 « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

