Chicken n’ Waffles

I promised to go into a little more detail about our touristy week in Atlanta.  My cousin and her husband came to visit from Virginia.  They got here on Tuesday so I knew they would be tired after having been in the car for like 9 hours on Tuesday night so I just cooked dinner at home and hubby got home early enough to eat with us. 

I made Old West Porkchops with rice which is one of hubby’s favorite’s.  I don’t cook them very often because the girls don’t really like pork chops that much.  I know they aren’t home anymore but, it’s kind of hard to cook that for two people. So I made that with green beans and Charlie Bread and if I do say so myself, dinner was delicious.  After dinner hubby made us (Cheryl, Danny and me) his famous margaritas.  He makes great margaritas.  Here’s a couple of shots (no pun intended) of the margaritas (and drinkers).

The master margarita maker with his creation

My cousin and me getting ready to enjoy our margaritas

Our plan was to get up on Wednesday and do our “tourist day” in Atlanta.  It was raining cats and dogs.  We loaded up our umbrellas and headed into the ATL.  We had planned on eating brunch at Gladys and Ron’s.  For those of you unfamiliar with Gladys and Ron’s, it is a restaurant owned by Gladys Knight and her son.

We had seen it on an episode of Man vs. Food and hubby had been wanting to go since he had seen that.  Our youngest had also been telling us about going out with her boyfriend for “chicken ‘n waffles” and we had no idea what she was talking about at the time.  I guess the “official” name of the restaurant is Gladys and Ron’s Chicken and Waffles.  Here is a link to the clip from that show:  http://www.travelchannel.com/TV_Shows/Man_V_Food/Episode_Atlanta_1  (I tried to just insert the clip but it didn’t work).

This dish is one of their signature dishes that apparently has its origins in Harlem.   This is how their website describes it: The Beginning of Chicken And Waffles ~The concept of Chicken and Waffles was born in Harlem, New York in the 1930’s. Wells served many celebrities as they hung out in the late night hours. Many of them could not decide if they wanted breakfast or dinner-Wells gave them both!

Gladys Knight continues the Chicken and Waffles tradition. Gladys Knight and Ron Winans, together with Shanga Hankerson, developed: Gladys Knight and Ron Winans’ Chicken & Waffles. Her son, Shanga, continues the tradition. Shanga’s additional connection to the restaurant industry started very early when his father introduced him to working in a butcher shop in Detroit, Michigan. The family also had a restaurant for a period of time and learned the pitfalls of owning a restaurant. The hard work in the butcher shop and the first experience of owning a restaurant did not deter Shanga. He continued to display a strong desire and passion to stay connected with restaurants. Shanga had a dream of starting his own restaurant some day -A restaurant that would serve the food that he had grown up with, while also adding to the legacy of his mother. Gladys Knight and Ron Winans’ Chicken and Waffles™

Inside of the restaurant

I know on the episode of Man vs. Food that we saw she, Gladys, was talking about how when she was growing up that every Sunday everyone would meet at her mother’s house after church and usually they’d end up with like 38 people in their house. That their Sundays revolved around the family cooking together and eating together and that was where she had learned to cook.  Even though she wasn’t at the restaurant it was still a great meal.

We got there a few minutes before 11 so we ended up waiting on the sidewalk for it to open.  There are actually two locations in Atlanta.  One is near Stonecrest Mall and one is on Peachtree Street across from Emory Hospital.  That was the one we ate at. It was a nice restaurant.  The walls were covered with pictures of celebrities that have eaten there.

I had The Midnight Train which is the famous chicken and waffles.  Ok… everyone helped me eat my chicken and waffles because there was NO WAY I could eat all that.  It was a HUGE waffle and 4 huge fried chicken wings.  The waffle was really good.  It had a sweet taste almost like a waffle cone.  The fried chicken was phenomenal. I only ate one piece of my chicken and one quarter of my waffle so I could test all of hubby’s veggies. Hubby got a vegetable plate (I gave him most of my chicken).  Cheryl got Shrimp and Grits with a chicken wing thrown in and Danny got the “smothered” fried chicken.  One of the veggie specials for the day was speckled butter beans which is one of hubby’s favorites.  He also got squash casserole which was also sweet but really good and fried corn which had peppers in it and greens which he loved.  

 Here is a picture of our table with all the food on it.  Can you believe all that food? 

 
 

Nummy food and lots of it!

These were our "neighbors" at the next table. They were from Charlotte and had stayed just to come get chicken and waffles!

All of us at the table pigging out.

The manager is actually one of Gladys Knight’s nieces.  She looks a lot like her aunt.  In fact, one of the other people waiting when they opened said they thought it was Gladys. No such luck.  We had decided after we left there we were definitely in need of a nap before we headed to the rest of our day.  More on that later.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Chicken n’ Waffles

  1. SuziCate says:

    Awesome eats and great company!

  2. dwight says:

    What a great time we had that day. The food was better than expected! It was great fried chic. The greens were good. If I had to rate them,this is how they go. Arnold’s #1,Dwight’s #2 then Glady’s #3. I do feel my speckled butter beans are better. Just saying. Sure wish SuziCate and Dirtman would come down for a visit! Dirtman’s Sidekick!

  3. Ron says:

    Okay, I’m looking at the picture of the table with all that food on it and my mouth is watering.

    What a FEAST!

    YUMMY! YUMMY!

    I LOVE southern-style food! And like Dwight, butter beans are one of my favorites.

    It was so fascinating to hear about Gladys Knight’s restaurant. I so like her!

    Delicious post, dear friend!

    (now I’m hungry)

    X

  4. Robert says:

    What a feast, can’t get that around here anymore! I miss it!

  5. Uno margarita por favore! (or quatro)

    🙂

    That looks soooo good. I LOVELOVELOVE southern food. There is place here called Babe’s Chicken. YOU HAVE to come back and go. Bring hubs. I would love to hear his rating. They have to die for smoked chicken, green beans, taters, and corn all served in family platters. The waitresses even sing and dance on certain songs. Too fun. 🙂

    Looks like a great day and trip! I would love to see Atlanta as an adult and not a 13yr old girl scout camping on Stone Mountain. 🙂 HA.

  6. K Odell says:

    I don’t know which made me drool more- the margarita or the dinner. Southern cooking is the best. Chicken and waffles go together well, and beans and grits -mmm

  7. Jimmy says:

    Shrimp and Grits with a chicken wing thrown in–I could go for that 🙂 but yet I could go for anything you mentioned.

  8. terrepruitt says:

    What are Old West Porchops? And what is Charlie bread?

    • pegbur7 says:

      Old West Pork Chops is a recipe I got from an old cook book years ago. You braised them and then they are place on a bed of rice with tomato sauce and chili powder and green peppers and top them with sauteed onions…. yummy! And Charlie Bread is my mom’s masterpiece. I can never make it as good as she does. It’s corn bread with sour cream and creamed corn in it… delish!

  9. Shanga says:

    I am so glad u guys enjoyed my restaurant. This was an excellent write up. Thank u so much for the feedback. If u ever come back to town shoot me an email and I will make sure u don’t wait in line, which shouldn’t be an issue anymore because I just bought the building and expanded the restaurant! Thank God. If U come across any primo locations that u think would work in your area give me a shout. Take care.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks so much for reading my “review”. I thought the food was wonderful. It’s funny. We are now opening our own restaurant so if you ever find yourself outside the perimeter on the west of ATL… look us up. Burke’s Grill in Douglasville! Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

