Please With a Cherry on Top

Thanks Carol!

Several weeks ago I was reading blogs and Carol from Wanderings of an Elusive Mind had gotten an award called Cherry on Top Award. The premise was to answer the question provided and pick 6 others blogs to give the award to and then inform them they had received the award. She didn’t want to pick anyone and said pretty much if you’re reading my blog now and you want the award, consider it yours. So, I took it! It’s one I didn’t have so I thought why not!

I put it here on my page, see right there to the right…. Over here >>>>>>> Isn’t she all cute and pink? Anyway, I put it there and then forgot about it until the other day. I was supposed to comply with answering the question and passing the torch. Well, I can’t think of a better way to pass the torch than the way Carol did it. If you’re reading this and you would like the award, please, feel free to take it. I don’t want anyone feeling “obligated” to have to pass it on, or accepting it if they don’t want it, but, if you’d like it, please feel free to grab it.

If you WANT to pick 6 to pass it on to, please feel free to do that too. Just make sure you inform whoever you pass it on to so that they are aware of it. And there is a slight “catch”. That being that you still have to answer the question. The question is: If you had the chance to go back and change one thing in your life, would you and what would it be?

I thought about this and thought about it and I think my answer is that I wouldn’t. I mean, sure, there are things that have happened to me that I wished hadn’t and there are things that I wish I had done that I didn’t but… honestly, all things, I feel, are interconnected. Therefore if I could change one thing then everything AFTER that one thing would change and therefore I would change and my life would not be what it is now.

As much as I may not have like some things, every single thing that has happened to me has led me to be the person that I am today and to be with the people I am with. Every single event in my life thus far has led me to be where I am at this moment in time and if I changed any single one of them, who knows what my life would be like now. I could be happier… but I doubt it. I am very content with my life the way it is. I love my life. I have a very good life and better than a lot of other people. I may not have the best of everything and there are others that may have more but then I’m sure there are areas where I excel and they lack. All in all, I have everything I need. Sure I’d like to be healthier and thinner and have more money, but, would any of that really make me a happier or better person? I really think not.

If I changed any one single event in my life, I might never have met my wonderful husband or given birth to my three extraordinary daughters and I could not imagine my life without any of them in it. Yes, we may have struggled from time to time emotionally, physically and/or financially but going through those struggles put us where we are today. And that place is in the land of contentment. I choose contentment or a lot of other things I could have.

So, please, pretty please…. With a cherry on top, don’t make me change a thing!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Please With a Cherry on Top

  1. jenny says:

    You are so right…everyone has their “oops” in life and the important thing is to learn from them. They can either make you stronger or destroy you as a person. It is your choice as to what character traits you choose. I’m with you…I have certainly had my share but I am content with who I am as a person.

    • pegbur7 says:

      And Jenny you and Bobby both are GREAT people and I know hubby has a lot of his great traits that he can thank Bobby and his family for. I shudder to think what could have happened had they not taken him in. THEY were great people too! I am so glad we have reconnected. You guys HAVE to come see us!

  2. terrepruitt says:

    Yay for you! It is great to be happy. I am glad that you are content where you are. Not everyone can say that! So yay you for doing that . . . because it takes work and/or effort in attitude. Like you say you “choose to have a positive attitude”. I believe that allows people to be content.

    • pegbur7 says:

      And I truly an Terre. I was just thinking about it the other day. There is really nothing I really NEED to make me happier. (Ok… a newer car… but I don’t really NEED that today. It can wait!) 🙂

  3. Ron says:

    Absolutely not, don’t ever change a thing, Peg!

    And if I had to answer this question, I would have said the same thing…

    “Every single event in my life thus far has led me to be where I am at this moment in time and if I changed any single one of them, who knows what my life would be like now.”

    It is my belief that everything in my life (positive or negative) happens for a reason. So really, it’s ALL positive.

    FAB post, dear friend!

    Hope you’re having a super Sunday!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Oh Ron! I SO agree with you. One of my main mantras in life is that everything happens for a reason. We may not understand or know the reason at the time but usually it will be revealed to us later. I truly believe that. Even the bad things usually provide us with a lesson.

  4. Jimmy says:

    You are so right Peg, if you change one thing then everything after that is changed also, and you would then be on a different path all the way around. I have actually thought about this a lot and if I had the chance to go back and do something in my life over again most likely I would do it exactly the same way.

    We are exactly where we are supposed to be and if we had the power to change something we would most likely be so far off base that we could never be happy.

    Here’s to being Happy 🙂

  5. SuziCate says:

    You’re right, don’t change a thing. Everyting is interlinked. You have a great life and you’re smart enough to be grateful. You (and your life) are wonderful just the way you are!

  6. Carol says:

    I think when we reach the age of maturity (that’s a nice way of saying our kids are grown, our middles are spreading and our hair is graying)I think we realize that making a change early on would have a domino effect. Much easier to say when you’re 25 that you’d change . . . whatever. At 25, you’ve not yet reached that age of contentment. Hopefully at 45, 55 or beyond, you have.

Leave a Reply

