Missing 3 Days

I’m feeling a little melancholy this evening.  I’m feeling a little disappointed in myself.  I’ve been spending the weekend being a little contemplative. 

 

One year ago this weekend I spent the most amazing weekend.  I spent the weekend walking 60 miles…. For a cause.  Last year I walked the Susan G Komen 3 Day Walk.  We basically walked from Lake Lanier, GA to The Ted (otherwise known as Turner Field) in downtown Atlanta.  It was one of the hardest things I have ever done.  It was also one of the most gratifying things I’ve ever done.  To know that I was a part of something so much bigger than myself.  To know that I was helping in some small way.  To know that I was helping raise money to hopefully one day find a cure. 

I have lost so many friends and had so many people that I know affected by breast cancer.  My friend Wanda that I wrote about a while back.  Several moms that I have known through my kids.  Family friends.   I have two aunts that have been battling this disease and a cousin.  And my niece is still battling it.  I am very afraid for her that she is fighting a losing battle.  The last time she went in the doctors told her 6 months.  The breast cancer has spread to her brain, lungs, bones, etc.  She has two young children.  She is way too young to be going through this.  Of course any age is too young to be battling cancer.  I heard last week about a young girl who is maybe 18 years old who was just recently diagnosed.  WAY WAY too young.

I had every intention of walking again this year.  I signed up almost immediately after I finished the walk last year.  Even though I had blisters on top of blisters and bruised feet and exhaustion beyond comprehension I still signed up to walk again.  Last year I started training in early February.  This year I still didn’t have a toenail on my right big toe in February.  I couldn’t wear a closed toed shoe for several months afterwards so I put off training because every time I tried walking it hurt like heck with not having a toenail and that tender skin rubbing against the inside of my shoe, even bandaging it and padding it. 

I had paid my  entry fee when  I signed up and had gotten several donations but hadn’t gone all out like I had last year so I was nowhere near where I wanted to be with that either.  Then before I knew it summer was upon us and the sweltering heat this year seemed even more stifling than last year.  Finally, I guess in July, I “gave up the ghost” and decided there was NO WAY I’d be able to either finish raising the rest of the money I needed to raise in order to walk (you have to raise a minimum of $2,300 in order to participate in the walk of cough up the remainder yourself) and I knew was nowhere near the shape I need to be in to finish the walk.  I had a hard enough time last year.

So, with a heavy heart I called them in July and begged off from the walk.  As much as I wanted to do it, I knew I couldn’t.  I tried to switch from being a walker to a crew member but they said it was too late for that because they had already been doing the training for that too.  So, this weekend was the walk here in Atlanta.  Every time I see someone’s update on FaceBook I feel bad.  I feel like a bum because I didn’t do what I set out to do.  They of course still keep whatever money I had raised and my entry fee so in that very small way I helped a little… but I really wanted to be there and be a part of it.  To be a part of something so monumental again. 

I have signed up for Relay for Life for next Spring.  Not sure if I’m gonna try to undertake the 60 mile walk again.  It really is hard on you physically.  I’m not sure I can handle that again.  But maybe next year I can at least sign up to crew and it won’t be near the physical stress the walk is and I’ll still be helping in some way.  I’m including some of my favorite pics of last year’s walk.  Enjoy and if you have a few extra bucks lying around, please donate to the Susan G Komen Foundation or any of those searching for a cure for breast cancer.  Too many lives have been lost already.

The morning kick off

 

Even the motorcycles were dressed up for the cause.

 

Our tents we slept in last year. At least it was inside and not in the rain.

Me and my teammates at the end of last years 3 day walk

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Missing 3 Days

  1. SuziCate says:

    I think you’re pretty awesome for having done it last year…proud of you!

  2. jenny says:

    60 miles is a long way…I get blisters just walking 3 miles. I know your family is proud of you…you are an inspiration to me whether you walk or not.

  3. Peg, your heart is so in the right place. But, Honey, going and ending up crippled for the next few months because of it just doesn’t fly! Write a check and you’ve done your part for this year. I’m totally amazed that you did 60 miles last year! Don’t be hard on yourself!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s not just the money part. Being there and being a part of it and talking to the survivors is so inspiring that I can’t even describe it. It was truly humbling.

  4. Ron says:

    Yes, I think I remember you posting about the walk last year (for some reason, I remember those pink tents in one of your posts).

    I must chime in with Linda and say…you’re heart is ALWAYS in the right place. And at least you raised the money that I’m sure was put to good use in some way for either research or someone needing assistance/support with this disease. Bless you!

    (((( Peg ))))

    Have a wonderful Monday, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron. It’s still disappointing to me (myself personally) to commit to something and not be able to follow through. That’s just how I’m wired I guess. Thanks for the encouraging words all the same.

  5. That particular walk really is an undertaking. Good for you for finishing last year! Although, please don’t feel bad about not being able to participate this year. Your intent was there, you raised some money anyway and that’s what matters. You’re still awesome!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It really is an undertaking Jen and to be able to accomplish that, no matter how hard it was, it was fulfilling. Just knowing I actually DID it! It’s hard to put into words. It was just an awesome experience.

  6. terrepruitt says:

    Aww. I am sorry you are disappointed in yourself, but you still did it that one time and that is more than most of us can say. So be proud of that. Yay you!

  7. Carol says:

    I can understand your being disappointed because you couldn’t do it this year – but don’t be disappointed IN YOURSELF – you did what you could. And now I’m about to issue that statement that I do so hate to hear: we’re not 20 anymore, and I’ll bet there are a lot of other things you can do to contribute to the cause that aren’t as strenuous and hard on the body.

  8. Jimmy says:

    I remember you posting about this and I am proud of you for what you did, I am also proud of you for having your heart in the right place, realizing that you are not up to doing the walk is not a bad thing, your post here is an excellent shout out so to say and by doing this look at how much awareness you have raised.

    You have nothing to be disappointed in and so much to be proud of my Friend.

  9. Heather says:

    At least you know the money you raised was for a good cause. I am amazed that anyone can walk 60 miles, I do good to walk three miles and suffer sore feet for two days!

    Don’t be so hard on yourself! LOVE the bikes all dressed up.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Weren’t those bikes adorable? At least we did the 60 miles in three days. I know I couldn’t have done it in one day. I still don’t know how I did it in THREE!

Leave a Reply

