Hand painting

I’m sitting here deciding what to write about and I happen to look at my hand.  You know how things just catch you out of the corner of your eye? I was typing and I noticed my thumbnail was white in the corner of it.  I’m thinking what the heck is on my thumb?  I know I just took a shower about 20 minutes ago.  Then I notice it’s paint.  Hmmmnnnn. I guess some things don’t just wash right off in the shower, huh?

Paint on my thumbnail

paint on my index nail

Back at the beginning of the summer I made a “honey I’ll do it list”.  Seems I didn’t get around to doing a lot of the things on that list.  One of those things was finishing painting the windows outside.  I started it several months ago and I got both sides of the house (windows) and front (windows and door) done and them kind of ran out of steam.  Then it rained for the next several days after that and then it got too frigging hot.  That’s my story anyway.

So anyway hubby has been harping on me because I’ve had the screens off and keep telling him I’ll put them back on when I finish painting.  They still aren’t on the windows yet.  But now that it’s been getting a little cooler in the mornings, I decided to bite the bullet and finish the windows.  I knew it was going to be a little more work because the other three sides only have one door and then windows.  Over half of the windows are smaller ones.  The back has 3 doors (actually like double doors even though one is stationary so 6 doors) and 8 windows and almost all of them are the bigger windows so it was going to take more time. 

I got up early and made my coffee and checked my emails and then decided I needed to just get my butt up and get it over with.  I gathered together my paint and brush and window tape and I was outside ready to go by 9:30.  It took me quite a while to tape all those windows and the windows in the doors.  I actually ran out of tape about a foot before I needed to but I figured I’d just have to be extra careful on the spot I was missing the tape.  I think I did pretty good.

All taped up and ready for paint

 

I definitely know that it needed it.  The trim looked horrible, I had just kept putting it off.

window trim sadly in need of sanding and painting

Then I started on the window on the west side of the house and worked clockwise around the windows and doors so that was the sun was a little behind me instead of baring down on me all day.  It didn’t start getting really hot until about 1:30 or so.  I forgot how tiring it can be going up and down the step ladder all day.  Good thing I didn’t need the big ladder!  I got them all done and a couple of them I even got the second coat on and around 4:30 I ran out of steam.  I did realize one thing.  I am SERIOUSLY out of shape.  Funny thing that what hurts the most (besides my low back) is my thumb and my right shoulder.  I guess from gripping the paint brush and raising my right arm painting all day.

Even with the aches and pains I’m glad I got it done.  I think I did pretty good!  What do you think?

Now I just need to pull off the tape

Take off the tape and put on the screens and I'm good to go!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Hand painting

  1. suzicate says:

    You are good…you even use tape. I get yelled at for trying to skip that step!

  2. I always think painting is easy until I start it. There is nothing I hate worse! And I’m terrible at it. So is my husband. Thank God for professional painters!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know. I realized yesterday when I was painting the windows that there is a piece of “trim” on each corner of the back that goes all the way up to the roof and I didn’t realize until I started painting the first one. Now I have to get the BIG ladder out to finish painting it. So annoying!

  3. Ron says:

    Ok, this is soooo funny because when I first started reading this post, I thought you were going to tell us that it was White-Out on your finger!

    And the reason being is because I accidentally got some on my left thumb while I was erasing something at work earlier this week, and do you know it took me THREE days to get that stuff off my finger! That crap won’t budge (which is why I guess it’s great for covering mistakes on paper – HA!

    Anyway…can I just say, FAAAAABULOUS job on the windows, Peg! Applause…applause! Love the blue outline around the window panes. And such a flawless job you did. It looks professional!

    Hope you had a super weekend, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I have to take that blue outline off tomorrow (the window tape). If I didn’t have that on there you wouldn’t be able to see out the window for all the paint.

      I know what you mean about whiteout. I’ve had the same thing happen. That stuff does stick!

  4. Carol says:

    Good job! I really don’t mind painting, but I hate the taping thing, so like Suzicate, I often try to skip it. I’ve got the same thing going with cleaning my windows. Got half of them done, but was waiting for stuff in flower beds to die off before I tromped around in them washing windows. Now it’s raining, raining, raining. Hopefully it’ll stop before it gets too cold to get out there and finish.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I had planned to go out this morning and pull off the tape and scrape whatever needs scraping and woke up to thunder and lightening. Don’t mind the rain so much but I don’t do lightening! Guess it will have to wait til tomorrow…

  5. Beautiful work! So glad that you got it over and done with :). Isn’t it weird how procrastinating makes the job you need to do seem so much worse than it is? I mean yes, it took you a good long day’s work, and it’s left with some aches and pains, but admit it… you feel totally satisfied and accomplished now, right?

  6. Heather says:

    AND this is why my bedroom isn’t finished yet! Out of shape, too tedious and too painful!

    You did a great job!

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Yay! It IS a lot of work climbing up and down a ladder no matter how big. BIG ladder or a step ladder. Its good for your bum!

    Didn’t you get sunburned on the first part of this project? I think it is good that you waited.

    And, yes, I think you did very good!

Leave a Reply

