Did I Do That?

Thursday morning we got up early and headed back to Georgia.  We took #1 and SIL to breakfast and then hit the road.  We hadn’t even gotten out of Nashville yet when I topped a hill, going about 80 mph, and there on the side of the road was a cop shooting radar.  I was in the second from left lane and there was a car getting ready to pass me on the left hand side.   They slammed on the brakes and pulled in behind me.  Wouldn’t you know the cop pulled out?

I told hubby that my strategy (or lack thereof) was to just keep going and NOT hit the brakes.  In my head (which is kinda scary sometimes!) I figure that if I slammed on the brakes I’d be admitting guilt.  So I decided to remain at the same speed behind the car I was following.   Oh, #1 had just called me about 5 minutes before to tell me that my left brake light was out, so, I figure if I did hit the brake then he’d see that my light was out and then he’d stop me even if he wasn’t planning on it.  I know, I’m weird.

So, I stayed right where I was at the same speed and didn’t move or slow down.  The car that had moved over behind me moved over one more lane to the right so they were in the lane to the right of me and behind me.  The cop pulled across three lanes of traffic, behind me, and turned on the lights.  DAMN…. He was still pretty far back so I pretended I didn’t see him and just kept going.  Miracles of miracles he moved back over behind the car that had been passing me and pulled them over.

And hubby and I sighed a HUGE sigh of relief!  Squeaked by one more time.  Good thing.  Our insurance couldn’t take another hit!  Whew…. I promise to try to slow down…. Really (note I said try).

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Stupid Stuff We've Done and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Did I Do That?

  1. suzicate says:

    A lucky duck you are, Miss Leadfoot!

  2. Ron says:

    Whew! That was a close call, Peg!

    “Oh, #1 had just called me about 5 minutes before to tell me that my left brake light was out, so, I figure if I did hit the brake then he’d see that my light was out and then he’d stop me even if he wasn’t planning on it. I know, I’m weird.”

    No, that was VERY smart of you!

    Have a super Saturday, dear friend!

    X

  3. I think your hubby should buy you a tank for when you hit the road. It’s the only way for speed demons like you! We have a BMW M Roadster with 333 horses in a little stripped down muscular body. It’s a race car, pure and simple. I won’t let Alex drive it if I’m not in the car. We just can’t afford the tickets, higher insurance, and the fact that in a tiny car, some 18 wheeler could smash him like a bug! Be careful out there Peg!

  4. Teresa says:

    Wow…that really was a close call. I hope you’ll slow down so you can avoid any similar occurences. Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  5. Carol says:

    Cruise control. For five miles over the speed limit. Easy for me to preach – we won’t talk about my speeds when I lived in So Cal and traveled freeways.

  6. Jimmy says:

    Yep you played it cool and it paid off 🙂

    You are right slamming on the brakes and adjusting where you are driving does no more than draw attention to you, glad you are trying to slow down anyways 😉

  7. Susie says:

    There is nothing worse than seeing those lights flashing in the rear view mirror. I do have a new trick up my sleeve for the next time that happens to me. my nephew is a new police officer and I have his picture (where he is all dressed in uniform) right underneath my license. It has worked once for my brother already…we will see if it will work for me too when the time comes. And it always does!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’ve always heard it also helps to have one of those Police Benevolent stickers on your windsheild. You know the ones you get when you donate to their organization? At least them they see that you support them!

  8. terrepruitt says:

    Did you see the article from the link I posted? Scary . . . . to me anyway.

    You seem a bit fearless though. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Not really fearless, I guess I just figure if anyone wants to know something about me badly enough, they will find a way to find it! Getting too old to worry myself constantly about that stuff.

  9. Heather says:

    The girl is ready for Nascar! Good strategy though.

Leave a Reply

