Misty Morning Walk

Yesterday hubby and I got up early and went for a walk.  I had woken up at 5 AM and couldn’t go back to sleep.  I think I finally dozed back off around 6 but soon got up and decided we should go ahead and walk because the weather the day before said it might rain.  When we went out it the air felt “heavy”, moist like it was going to rain and the road was a little damp like it maybe had been raining.  It was still rather foggy and misty but a beautiful morning.  I took lots of pictures so I was going to take you on our walk with us virtually.

This is what the sky looked like when we walked out the door

Doesn't it look like the sky is gonna just open up and pour rain?

Doesn't that mist rising off the golf course bottom look beautiful (and mysterious)?

Looking out over the old driving range - someone knocked down our barricade.

Heading down to the front of our side of the subdivision - still looking a little misty.

We even beat the school bus up!

The other side of the neighborhood where the deer almost ran me over last year!

I loved the way the sun was breaking through the clouds.

The sky couldn't decide if it wanted to be pink or blue

You can't reallu see them here but there were 4 deer down in that field

If you look closely at the walk on the righthand side of the picture, about halfway up you can see the last deer crossing it.

I just liked the light play here. Back home and the sun is casting a shadow on the house from the trees across the street.

And my furry son welcomes me back home

Hubby had to be at work at 11 and around 1:30 or so the phone rang and Hubby’s orthopedic doctor’s office was on the line to tell me his appointment was at 2:45 and in the office here in town.  WTH?? I didn’t even know he had an appointment.  So, I did the only thing any loving wife would do and called him to ask him what the heck was going on.  So, I call him and say “Oh, honey, the doctor’s office called and said to be sure to tell you that your 2:45 appointment was at the office here in town.”  He said “Oh, okay.”  Hmmmnnnnn so, I press a little harder and say “When did you make the appointment?”  And he says “A little while ago.  By the way.  I had an accident.”  HUH????? And just when were you going to tell me that?  So, after our little “discussion” he tells me he’s on his way home so that I can drive him to the doctor. 

Hubby waiting for the doctor in his lovely paper pants. Goes with his tie don't you think?

It wasn’t too bad, someone pulled out in front of him and he kind of sideswiped their car as they were driving by.  Got their back quarter panel and our front end of our van but they are probably going to total our vehicle simply because it will take more to fix it than it is worth.  The front headlight (passenger side) is laying in the front passenger seat!  Oops.  I guess it’s a Cyclops now.  The problem is that years ago hubby had total knee replacement surgery to his right knee.  The one you use driving.  And he saw the accident coming.  She saw that the woman wasn’t stopping and he wasn’t going to be able to stop in time so #1 he stiffened up (which is probably the worst thing you can do) and #2 he slammed on the brake.  His foot was on the brake during the impact which means the brunt of the impact travelled from the front of the vehicle up through the brake pedal into his leg and therefore his titanium knee.  He said it’s been “clicking” since the accident.

Probably gonna need a new bumper at least?

I went with him to his appointment and after waiting a couple of hours and a few xrays the doctor said he couldn’t see any damage (which was a BIG relief to both hubby and I) but to try to take it easy for the next couple of weeks and if it wasn’t better in two weeks to come back.  Unfortunately the clicking part he might be stuck with.  He said it might never go away.  He also told hubby that he knew no matter what he told him (about taking time off or taking it easy) that he (hubby) was just going to do what he wanted to anyway – considering 6 weeks after complete knee replacement hubby was back at work when the doctor told him to take 4 months off.  See?  He’s not hard headed.  Nah!  Never!!

Right now I am taking him to work and picking him up until the fate of our van is decided.  On the UP side… maybe we will get that new car a little sooner than we were thinking.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Misty Morning Walk

  1. SuziCate says:

    Pretty sky and clouds. Glad D-Man is ok. Maybe, that new car decision you’ve been pondering over will be made for you.

  2. Alaina says:

    Yikes, glad he is ok…accidents are always scary. I love the pictures…I always love to see the sun breaking up the clouds like that. Reminds me of the heavens opening up.

  3. jenny says:

    Beautiful pictures!! I’m glad Dwight is okay. What kind of car do you want?

  4. Ron says:

    Gorgeous, and I mean GORGEOUS photos, Peg!

    Especially the misty ones.

    Aren’t early mornings and dust the most beautiful and magical times of the day?

    So glad to hear hubby’s knee is okay – wheeew! Our knees are such an important part of getting around. I work with a guy who is having major issues with one of his knees and it’s actually preventing him from working, because we stand all day on a hard concrete floor.

    Thanks for sharing the virtual walk. Enjoyed it!

    Have a great Friday!

    X

  5. NikNik says:

    I am surprised Daddy let you put a picture up of him in paper pants!!! Poor guy…

    • pegbur7 says:

      LET me??? Are you kidding? Have you not met your parents? LOL I think he’s kind of gotten used to the fact that he’s an open book whether he wants to be or not. At least it was only from the side…

  6. liz says:

    It’s the weirdest thing when air is wet and it hits your face. 🙂 i can’t believe you got good pics with it not messing your lense up!

  7. Carol says:

    Although I have a bit of resentment when I have to get up while it’s still dark, it would be a perfect time to walk. Your photos are wonderful!
    I am so sorry about your Hub’s accident, and so glad he’s okay.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I seem to be waking up early and can’t go back to sleep so we just get up and walk. Of course we may have to put it off for a few days because of Hubby’s knee.

  8. terrepruitt says:

    BEAUTIFUL walk. Thanks for taking us along.

    Bummer about your hubby’s knee. I my knees crack when I bend down and my left foot snaps. Sometimes we just make noise when we move. 🙂

  9. Jimmy says:

    Beautiful Pics Peg, Glad Hubby is OK even though you posted him in the paper pants, you have to give him credit for being a good sport, hopefully the clicking will go away soon I can just imagine how irritating that can be.

    New Car soon maybe–sometimes things happen to nudge you into a decision you had already made 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yeah Jimmy he IS a good sport. I had just told him how sexy I thought those paper pants were and didn’t he want to bring them home? LOL

      We had already kind of made a decision to get a new car. We were just waiting for the right time and money!

  10. Goodness! Glad he is okay. I’ve been so out of the loop. Hopefully you get a new and improved car! 🙂 I haven’t gone into Sydney’s wreck. Yes. Already. Haha.

Leave a Reply

