Jezebel, Jezebel, Let Down Your Hair

Last week, on Thursday, Hubby and I made the long drive up to Virginia so we could be with my family for the celebration of my Uncle Bo’s life.  It was wonderful to be around family, just hate that it was for the reason it was.  We didn’t leave Atlanta until about 6 p.m. or later because Hubby had to work and I had to pick him up which put us right in the thick of rush hour traffic.  Add to that the 4 wrecks in about a 2 mile section of 75/85 in downtown Atlanta and we were both about ready to pull our hair out.  We didn’t get to my mom and dad’s until around 3 or 3:30 in the morning. 

After we had gotten up and had breakfast, we didn’t really have much planned until we were to meet my friend, Margie for dinner that night.  Hubby decided he needed to check in on his Fantasy Baseball team and as most of you know… there is no internet connection at my parent’s house.  No internet, no cell service….cut off from our electronic toys!  What to do?  Well, Hubby decided we were going to Rapunzel’s.

I know I’ve told you guys about Rapunzel’s.  It’s the little coffee shop/used book store in the little town that is the county seat of the county that they live in.  It’s probably about 12 or 15 miles (maybe more) over the mountain from my parents.  I got to get me a nice cup of coffee and check my blog and facebook and Hubby got to set his line ups for his Fantasy Baseball teams.  It took us a few hours. 

While we were there we did meet a very interesting gentleman who is writing a book on Pakistan.  He was at a Writer’s Retreat at Norwood and he was also “cut off” from society and the owner had told him he could go to Rapunzels for internet connection and coffee.  We spent a couple of hours talking to him.  He is getting ready to retire from the military and was on leave and decided to do the retreat.  I talked to him about writing and blogging which he said he had been thinking about doing so I showed him around my blog (and introduced him to you guys!) and told him how to go about setting it up.  Hubby talked to him about the military and I’m sure lots of other stuff but I wasn’t really paying attention because I was trying to get done so hubby could use my computer.

We went back and picked up my parents and we went and met my friend Margie and her husband and grandson for dinner at this fairly new restaurant called Hibachi and had a great time.  My mom is a chocoholic and they have a chocolate fondue fountain and my mom was in heaven.  I got her a cup of chocolate and several desserts and she dipped them all in chocolate and I think she ate what was left with a spoon.  I did get a picture of her enjoying her chocolate:

My mom getting ready to enjoy her dessert

Let the (chocolate) dipping begin

We had the memorial/celebration for my uncle the next day and got to spend some time with relatives I hadn’t seen for a while.  Here’s a picture of SuziCate and my Hubby:

SuziCate and my hubby

SuziCate and I were both getting ready to leave about the same time and Dirtman comes up to me and says (grinning from ear to ear the whole time) “So, I hear yall are going to Jezebel’s later?”

Of course my first thought is “Who the heck is Jezebel?  Is he referring to one of our relatives?  Did I miss something important?”  Then Suzi clears up the mystery when she said something to the effect of: “Are you telling on BIL?  I thought you were gonna let him slide on that.”   Turns out that Hubby had informed Dirtman that he needed to go check on his line-ups for his team and invited them to join us later at “Jezebel’s”.   Dirtman got a BIG kick out of that and was like “Do you mean Rapunzels?”  To which Hubby apparently replied “Oh, well, same thing.”

Rapunzel as depicted on KidZone

Jezebel - quite the contrast to Rapunzel (image found on google)

Later after we got to my mom’s we both decided we were too tired to go to “JEZEBEL’S”.  My mom and I were teasing him because he kept insisting that the two were close enough to the same thing.  I told Hubby “Remember honey?  Rapunzel was the one with the long hair that she threw down from the tower?  Kinda sweet and innocent?  And Jezebel was the one that…. Well, she was just a slut.  I guess to differentiate you could say that Rapunzel dropped her hair and Jezebel just dropped her drawers!”

I think he understood after that… Sometimes men just need a visual.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Jezebel, Jezebel, Let Down Your Hair

  1. Heather says:

    Sorry for the reason to get together, but it does look like yall had a good time. So true that the guys need visuals! LOL!

  2. suzicate says:

    See, I am innocent…I didn’t tell on him. He can be mad at Dirt Man! Yes, he knows you well. He said “Oh, now. If Peg finds out, you know she’s gonna’ blog about it!” Mom looks like she was in heaven with all that chocolate and Dad looks quite amuzes with her!

  3. Jezebel, Rapunzel, it’s all the same to guys. A chick is a chick, Peg. And don’t kid yourself, old Rapunzel was probably getting some action when she let dudes climb up her hair and come in the tower with her.

  4. NikNik says:

    Love the pictures! esp. the one of Daddy and Aunt Suzi!

  5. Ron says:

    “Rapunzel dropped her hair and Jezebel just dropped her drawers!”

    Bwhahahahahahahaha!

    OMG…I love you, woman! You’re hysterical!

    And you’re right, us guys need visuals. LOTS of visuals – HA!

    OMG, my mouth was watering watching your mom dip into that chocolate. Like she, I’m a chocoholic!

    Fun post, Peg!

    Have a great weekend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! My dad has told her more than once that she’d eat a turd if you’d dip it in chocolate! So one year my sister found her a box of chocolates shaped like turds… and she ate them! She laughed hysterically and then she scarfed them down! LOL She is such a trip. I love my parents.

  6. Carol says:

    I think, if I remember right, that Rapunzel morphed into Jezebel as she got older. Obviously your Hub met her when she was older. But not wiser. But more fun. If you were a guy. Or something like that.

  7. LisaF says:

    Well, they both do have “z” in them. That counts, doesn’t it? ;-D

Leave a Reply

