My Neighborhood

Mama's Losin' It

This week for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop I chose prompt #2.) Show us where you live. Not on a map (security please), but take a picture of the view out your front door, back door, or neighborhood.(inspired by Randi from S Club Mama

Front entrance to our house

 I love where we live.  I love our house, our neighborhood, our county and our state.  I am a Virginian by birth and I will always consider myself a Virginian but I am now a Georgian by choice.  It’s still the South so it’s all good.  We’ve been in Georgia off and on for over 25 years.  We moved here literally a week after our second child was born.  We moved out of the state for two years when #3 was a couple of weeks old and back when she was two so I’ve lived in Georgia longer than anywhere else in my life. 

Front of our house on our snow day last year

This is a picture of our house that was taken last winter on one of our seldom snow days.  I think it looks lovely.  We bought this house as our retirement home meaning that we aren’t planning on moving anywhere else.  It has everything we need in our retirement years.  We’re just planning a little ahead.  It’s one floor which is great for hubby’s knees.  The only steps in the whole house is one step down to our sunken living room and one step down to the back patio or one step down into the garage.  I think we should be able to handle one step. 

Hubby enjoying his Wolf Stove

We also bought this house because it has a commercial Wolf stove in the kitchen.  That is the single item that sold hubby on this house.  He loves to cook and having that stove and then the extra oven was all it took to push him over the edge to the yes column. 

When we bought the house and moved here it also had an open (but not public) golf course, tennis courts and swimming pool.  The golf course has since closed (when the builder filed bankruptcy) but we still (for now) have the tennis courts and swimming pool.  At least with the golf course closed, we don’t have to pick up golf balls out of our yard several times a week like we used to. Our house backs up to the driving range so we were forever getting golfers with horrible swings banging their balls into our yard (golf balls – get your minds out of the gutter!).  We even have a couple of dings on the back of the house from a couple of really terrible golfers. 

If you look at the piece of siding to the left top of the right set of doors you can see a ding from a golf ball

When the golf course was open there were no trees between our house and the driving range so there was no barrier to deter the balls from hitting our house.  There is now a little line of small pine trees that have sprouted up since it closed.  Here is a picture from our bedroom. Notice the line of trees at the top of the little ridge.

From our back door - trees separating our yard from the driving range

Here is a picture from the side of our bedroom:

From our bedroom window looking to the lot to the left

Here is a picture from the bathroom on the other side of the house: 

From the bathroom looking to the lot on the right Looking down to the end of the cul de sac from the front bedroom

Here is a picture from the front of the house looking across the street:

Looking at the lot across the street from the front bedroom

From the front door

Do you notice anything that all these views have in common?  NO houses.  We do have one neighbor at the bottom of our cul de sac but from our house, you really can’t even see their house and they are the only other house on our street.  In fact, our subdivision is divided by a main road and our side of the neighborhood is the side with the “amenities” (pool, golf course, tennis courts, etc.) therefore, it is sparsely populated.  Especially with the closed golf course. 

There are only two streets on our side and the other street only has three houses.  So there are only five houses total on this side of the neighborhood.  I love it.  No kids running around screaming and yelling.  No teens running around screaming and yelling or getting into mischief.  Really no screaming or yelling period.  Just nice and peaceful and quiet.  Which is perfect for two old boring fogies like us. 

The only ones we have to look out for are the critters and we do see plenty of those.  Since we have lived here within a few block radius (and mostly from our yard) we have seen armadillo, geese, cranes, hawks, turkeys, deer, mice, rabbits, foxes, beavers, coyotes, snakes, moles, squirrels, ducks, chipmunks, and even a cougar!  We have our own little wild kingdom going on and get to enjoy lots of creatures from the comfort of our own home.  It doesn’t get much better than that.

How about telling us about where YOU live?  Just hook on up with Mama’s Losin’ It and her Writer’s Workshop. New topics to choose from every week.  What more could you ask for?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to My Neighborhood

  1. suzicate says:

    Wow, you have armadillo?! That is so cool. I’ve always loved your house! However, you can keep the cougar!

  2. Ron says:

    Oh WOW, Peg…….AWESOME house!

    It looks like a nice size, but also very cozy. One that would feel great to snuggle in during a snowy winter day. Being a winter lover, I really liked the second shot with all the snow. It looks like a magical winter wonderland!

    Yeah, I bet it’s fabulous not having neighbors home right on top of you.

    “We have our own little wild kingdom going on and get to enjoy lots of creatures from the comfort of our own home. It doesn’t get much better than that.”

    I would LOVE that!

    Even though I’m a city boy, if I’m spending some time out in the country, I want to be TOTALLY secluded; surrounded by nature.

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend. Enjoyed!

    Have a wonderful day!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! Yeah, it’s not too big and not too small. Three bedrooms, about 2500-3000 sq ft (I think) but that’s plenty for us! We love it out here!

  3. Mom says:

    You have a beautiful home peg. I love to look at how other people live…especially the inside of their homes. That is why HGTV is my favorite station. It is so nice you found all the things in this one house that will enable you and your husband to enjoy the retirement years.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Dr. Soosie! We love it and hopefully will enjoy it for many more years! We can’t afford to sell it because we owe more than it’s worth now with this sucky economy! 😦

  4. LisaF says:

    Your home and surroundings look very comfortable, quiet and cozy! Love the winter photo with the snow. It looks very peaceful. Entrepreneur would love to life on a golf course, providing he could play every night!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I don’t thonk there’s gonna be any playing on this one for quite awhile. It fell into disrepair after it closed and then after the flood last year, most of the bridges on it got washed away and noone has bothered to fix any of it. I think it would take more to get it in playing shape than most people want to spend in todays economy. And it really is a shame because it used to be such a beautiful course.

  5. Tarunita says:

    You have a beautiful house!! Love the photographs especially the one with snow.

    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s.

    http://dwivedi2326.blogspot.com/2010/10/frozen-time.html

  6. Jody says:

    What a beautiful house and view. I envy you minus the golf balls lol

    • pegbur7 says:

      Since it’s closed now we don’t have to worry about the golf balls. I think the coyotes have made the driving range their little “home on the range” so we have a little more than errant golf balls to worry about! LOL Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I really like your house. It looks so pretty in the snow too. i like everything about that area except the trees, but you know me and trees!

  8. Angelia Sims says:

    This is beeee-u-tiful! I love all the views and especially the NO OTHER HOUSES. Like your own house on the prairie (critters included-ha)!!

    It really is gorgeous and hubby looks good in front of that big ol’ stove. I think it’s a great place to retire. Maybe I can visit one day. 🙂

  9. Erin G says:

    Oh, it’s just lovely! All that space!! Thank you for sharing!

  10. beautiful!!! I love living where there are lots of critters. We have lived in MD, VA, WV, MT and OK. Montana by far out does them all when it comes to scenery!

    • pegbur7 says:

      That (Montana) is one state I’ve never been but would love to go. I have lived in VA, NC, Louisiana, TN and GA and I think all the south is beautiful. I’ve heard the Northwest is too and one day I will go!

  11. Candice says:

    What beautiful pictures. The snow one looks dreamy. Tell your husband the Wolf stove would sell my husband too. He’s the cook in my house. We have a top of the line JenAir double oven and my hubby says he wants to be buried with it. It’s hysterical.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Hubby is our cook too. I do cook… just not as well as he does. When our girls were still home and I’d cook they would say “Oh, Mom. you’re not gonna try to cook again, are you?” LOL so I stopped really trying… Figured I was just punishing them.

  12. Tanya says:

    Looks like we choose the same post Peg! I am sooo envious of that stove!! I love to cook and am stuck with a stupid electric one. Since you have read my post you know that I would much rather have no neighbors than the ones I am stuck with. Maybe someday, see you next week-

    • pegbur7 says:

      We had no idea when we moved here that we’d end up with no neighbors. The lots around us have all been for sale, it’s just with the economy, no one is buying which is fine by us!

  13. K Odell says:

    Nice! except for that cold white stuff. It’s pretty, but drop below 70 and I am freezing. Your hubby is tall and sure dresses up to cook! fancy

    • pegbur7 says:

      The cold white stuff is an unusual occurence for us. Yes, hubby is tall and funny… he was getting ready to go to work. He doesn’t normally dress like that to cook (unless I were to ask him to!) LOL He was just trying to impress me I’m sure! hahahaha

  14. Jimmy says:

    Very Nice Peg, I can see why you Love it so, a nice size house like this with no one right on top of you is a blessing, I can see why you chose this as a retirement home.

    I sure enjoyed the tour.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Jimmy. We sure have loved living here. It has less rooms than our old house but the rooms it does have are bigger and it has no stairs which in itself is a blessing!

  15. Hi Peg! Lovely house with awesome views. The place is made even more awesome by showing that your husband cooks! Man, I wish mine did. But, he orders out when I don’t feel like cooking, so that works, too.

    Thanks for visiting Grandma’s Briefs today. I appreciate it!

  16. Heather says:

    Lovely house! I am soo jealous that you don’t have any neighbors. Ohhh, how I could really go for that. You are a lucky woman!

  17. terrepruitt says:

    Beautiful. I love all the land and nature you have around you. Beautiful home, beautiful views, beautiful yard!

    Makes me think I want to live there. Then I remember the weather and realize I can’t.

    • pegbur7 says:

      We had more snow last year than we have had in YEARS and it was really only one day! We are jus so NOT prepared for snow here. Don’t have the proper equipment.

      • terrepruitt says:

        Ha! I wasn’t even really thinking about snow, even though you have a picture of it. I know that it doesn’t snow there that often. But I also know that it is so beautiful and lush looking because it is damp and humid. I can’t tolerate damp and humid.

      • pegbur7 says:

        Yeah sometimes it can be. But it is beautiful. My sister in law from Arizona is always amazed at how green it is when they come to visit.

    • terrepruitt says:

      Yes, it is green and beautiful.

  18. C. Mom says:

    I love the stove!!! I am in Virginia— have been here since 1997. Although, I am in northern virginia, which is probably almost like a foreign country related to the rest of the state.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I grew up on Walton’s Mountain (Schuyler) Virginia. It’s kind of halfway between Charlottesville and Lynchburg. My brother lives near Stafford/Fredericksburg and I have lots of friends in Northern VA.

  19. Carol says:

    Isn’t it so nice to live in a country setting? Quiet, private, space to roam. Love your house and the setting.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Carol. Yes, we love where we live. Far enough away from the city to not be in all that hustle and bustle yet close enough to be in the thick of it in less than an hour if we so choose.

Leave a Reply

