Universally FREE

I realize I rag a lot on Hubby and his little obsessions, but, I have to give him props for his little idiosyncrasies sometimes.   Hubby likes Coke bottle caps.  Let me ‘splain.  See, several years ago, Hubby started with the Coke Rewards program.  Now if you are pharmaceutically inclined your mind might be veering in a different direction.  No, not that kind of coke.  I’m talking Coca Cola here.  They have a program where they put numbers inside the bottle caps and the cartons that 12 and 24 can packs come in.  I always threw them away because it seemed like WAY too much trouble to deal with for me.  Not hubby.  

Hubby would diligently save his bottle caps and go to their website (yes, they have a whole website set up for this) and input his numbers.  You would think this would be a couple of minute process but not with us.  No, hubby would find bottle caps everywhere.  He was like a bottle cap magnet.  I think he must have a bottle cap sensor in his brain or something.  We could be walking through the grocery store parking lot and all of a sudden he’d gasp one of those little sharp intakes of breath where you think something’s wrong but it’s just him getting excited about something.  I’d go “What’s wrong?” and he’d reply “There’s a bottle cap over there!” and go running off to retrieve it.   

We had bottle caps everywhere but especially piled around the computer desk.  It got to the point that the kids would bring home their bottle caps for daddy.  #1 would even save hers and bring them back with her from Nashville or she’d collect the numbers and email them to him so he could input them.  And their little system is pretty sophisticated.  It knows if you have already input a certain number and you can’t just make up numbers because if you accidently transpose the numbers or something it will tell you it is an invalid number or that the number has already been input so I guess it gets rid of cheaters to the system.   Here’s the link to the website if you’re ever interested:  

http://www.mycokerewards.com/home.do  

It has gotten so bad that once we were at a concert and saw someone throw down a bottle (with the cap still on it) two or three rows ahead of us during the concert and we waited until they left and retrieved their bottle cap.  I know, ridiculous, huh?  I would be working at the concession stand and when we had to open the cases of cokes and put them in the cooler I’d rip off the number and stick it in my pocket to bring home to hubby.  So, he has been doing this for years and it seemed like a lot of effort for nothing.  

The first few things he “redeemed” were for Blockbuster tickets.  He’d redeem the points (I don’t know how many it required) and get a ticket for like two free movie rentals at Blockbuster.  At the time I didn’t think a whole lot about it but when you think about it, those rentals aren’t cheap anymore.  He probably redeemed about a dozen of those so that alone was probably worth over $100 which isn’t too shabby for just collecting something you already had and just inputting the numbers into the website!  

The next thing he started redeeming them for was movie theatre tickets. I think the participating one is AMC Theaters.  He’s probably redeemed close to a dozen of those I think.  So we have been to several first run movies FREE.  And they throw in a free Coca Cola coupon (redeemable at the theatre) with the movie passes so we go to the movie and all it costs us is the popcorn.  Not too shabby huh? I think the only requirement is the movie has to be out at least two weeks which usually isn’t a problem with us because we don’t go that often.  

His biggest feat so far has been:  

Welcome to Universal Florida

 

Entrance to the Universal side

 

Yep, that’s right!  On our latest trip to Orlando we went to Universal Studios and our tickets were FREE.  He redeemed his coke points for two tickets to Universal.  A one day park pass, which is what we had, is $82.  That means we saved $164!  Of course we paid for parking but, hey, saving $164 is not too shabby.  I can’t wait to find out what we’re getting free next!  

Of course the down side to all this now is that since #1 found out that we got to go to Universal FREE she has decided that she is going to start collecting them herself.  She’s not gonna share with Daddy anymore.  That apple didn’t fall too far from the tree.  What can I say?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Universally FREE

  1. Ron says:

    “Now if you are pharmaceutically inclined your mind might be veering in a different direction. No, not that kind of coke.”

    bwhahahahahahahhahaa! You are toooo funny!

    OMG, I can’t believe you guys got a FREE trip to Universal Studios from redeeming your coke points – WAY TO GO!!!

    Now you’ve got me thinking about saving my coke caps for maybe a FREE computer!

    Seeing your photos here reminded me of when I worked at Universal when it first opened in Orlando – what a FUN time that was!

    Hope you’re having a super Saturday, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      You worked at Universal? How cool is that? I consider myself thrifty but hubby just says I’m cheap (but in a good way!) LOL Free computer… that’s an idea!

  2. I am a total coke addict. Diet Coke. But I like the coke to come out of a can. I don’t like bottles. If I could force myself to drink bottles of coke, I would send you all the caps. I have no patience for saving “things”. I have never used coupons either. I lose them or forget about them and that’s that. Alex is not like you husband. He doesn’t save things and he loses everything.

    • pegbur7 says:

      They also have numbers on the inside of the cardboard boxes that 12 pack cans come in! It’s on the end piece that you pull off to put the “fridge” pack in the fridge. Our daughter used to just type them in an email and send them to her dad. as soon as he puts them on the web-site he throws them away so you don’t have to save the caps and mail them in or anything. You just go to their website and record the numbers. I don’t even have the patience to do that though. I am terrible with follow through.

  3. Heather says:

    Wow! Who knew that being compulsive about something so small would pay off soo big!
    Congrats on your free trip!

    About the only thing I save here, is those box tops for schools, my niece insists that we all do it. So I have been doing that for years.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I used to save those box tops too for the kids PE teacher and soup can labels. I still save thouse box tops even though my kids aren’t in school anymore. Old habits die hard.

  4. Jimmy says:

    Cindy is addicted to Coke too, after reading this she just may start saving the numbers too 🙂

    Looks like a blast and the savings just made it that much better.

  5. Fred Miller says:

    Let me know if he starts in on Samuel Adams bottle caps.

  6. Carol says:

    I am sooo not good at that kind of stuff, and I just don’t win things. I buy Coke, but in cans because they’re lighter-weight and easier to recycle. You did a good job, picking the Hubby you have!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I did Carol. I think I have a winner! No pun intended. They have the numbers on the inside of the 12 pack cans package on the part you rip off before you put it in the fridge? When we used to work in the concessin stand for the schools, I’d pull those off for him.

  7. suzicate says:

    Yay, his persistence paid off and you BOTH benefitted!

  8. terrepruitt says:

    I love it when it works. I never think that stuff like that works so I never do it. Glad to hear it actually does work. And it would be cool if you two could take a trip with #1 with free tickets for the four of you, huh?

Leave a Reply

