Laughter IS The Best Medicine

Laughter

This week’s Spin Cycle is all about laughter…. And who can’t use more laughter. Laughter is, after all, the best medicine, right? I know I personally feel better when I laugh than when I cry. Unless I’m laughing so hard that it makes me cry. I especially love those times when you laugh so hard you can hardly catch your breath. Or you’re laughing so hard you’re doubled over. Except the only problem with me is if I’m laughing that hard, then I’m probably peeing my pants too and that’s never pretty! Wet, but not pretty.

I love to laugh and I love even more making other people laugh. And I’ve found the more I make other people laugh, the harder I try to make them laugh more. It’s like a high or an adrenaline rush. And I have always valued a man who can make me laugh so much more over one who is just good looking. I feel like I hit the jack pot because I happened to marry my best friend who just happens to be handsome and funny. His good looks caught my attention initially but his sense of humor kept my attention.

Fortunately my whole family has a great sense of humor. My son in law swears when me and my girls get together we have our own language and all he does is smile and laugh and nod his head. That’s because we are all usually cracking each other up and laughing ourselves and he can’t get a word in edgewise. All of my daughters are beautiful but they also happen to be beautifully funny. They have wonderful senses of humor and we enjoy each other’s company and can always find something to laugh about.

And when my sisters and mom and I get together the same thing happens. Actually any of us together usually end up cracking each other up. When we had the anniversary party for our parents last month, we were having a hard time getting the “siblings” picture done because we were cracking jokes, especially my brothers.

And I love the fact that my mom and dad still have such a joking and relaxed relationship. My parents both have wonderful senses of humor. I was talking to my friend Margie, who took the pictures and we were laughing because in one of them my dad has such a devilish little grin on his face. Like a little boy with his hand caught in the cookie jar and trying to convince you that it’s not there. And in one of them you can tell that my dad has just cracked some joke because my mom looks like she’s trying her hardest not to bust out laughing and she’s barely succeeding. And I love that about them.

Note the expressions, Mama trying not to laugh and Daddy cracking her up

I guess that must also be why I prefer watching comedies to dramas as far as movies or television shows go. I admit I do watch dramas but I still prefer to laugh. When I want to vegetate in front of the TV, I just want something mindless that is going to make me laugh. The harder I laugh, the better I like it. Growing up I loved watching I Love Lucy.

That woman could make me bust a gut. She was funny in her actions and in her words. The expressions on her face, her slapstick humor and the things she would say. I think she was one of the funniest women in the world.

In fact when hubby and I went to Universal last week I had to go to the Lucy Museum.

Lucy tribute at Universal Studios, FL

Mural in the Lucy tribute

Another mural for Lucy

Some of Lucy's famous dresses

I also loved watching Carol Burnette and The Golden Girls. And Betty White? She still rocks!

I love going to comedy stores like The Punch Line or The Laugh Factory or any type comedy act like that. And yes, I am one of those sick people that laugh when other people fall down. I can’t help it. I love slapstick and I’m weird. Want to make me follow you around like a little puppy dog? Make me laugh and I’ll love you forever. For your enjoyment:

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Spin Cycle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Laughter IS The Best Medicine

  1. SuziCate says:

    Fabulous Spin. Yes, we are a funny family. At least, we “get” us! They cracked me up when we were taking pictures. I LOVE LUCY! I am in awe that you got to go tho the museum, you lucky dog!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Iknew it was SOMEBODY who loved her as much as me. I would have sent you the pics from the museum. I was thinking it was one of my girls and they each said no and I was like “Well, who the heck IS it?” Mystery solved! It was great… they had film clips and all kinds of stuff. One side of the museum was Lucy and the other side was Betty Boop. I was in heaven!

  2. Spot says:

    I grew up watching and loving “I Love Lucy”, “The Carol Burnett Show” and Abbot & Costello movies. Guess that explains a lot!! My mother would turn the TV on for me in her bedroom and I’d lay there for hours laughing by myself. She said I once laughed so hard I fell right off the bed. I’m happy to be addicted to laughter and have passed it on. =]

    ♥Spot

  3. I love laughing, too! I love sketch comedy as well – going to stand up shows or comedy clubs like Second City and the like. I have to agree about tv shows, as well. I just started watching The Larry Sanders Show for the first time (I know, I know, I was 2 when it came out, so I’m way behind on this…) and I love it :).

    I love the fact that you and your family have a secret language of communication – and all of it through inside jokes! It’s the best feeling in the world when you can laugh with people you love.

  4. I adored Lucille Ball. I grew up watching “I love Lucy” and she was hysterical. I too love kind of slapstick humor. And I love that my son got my strange brand of wit.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Don’t you just love when your kid does something insanely hilarious and you’re like “Hey… that’s just like me”? Or when they leave you breathless from laughter?

  5. Angelia Sims says:

    Lucille is my favorite too! I love, love watching her no matter how many times I’ve seen it. Laughter truly is the best medicine. Laughing til it hurts even better. 😀

  6. Jimmy says:

    I too would rather laugh than cry, comedy is the best entertainment in my opinion also.

    Lucy and Carol Burnette are some of the best at what they did because after watching them you were at least smiling if not laughing out loud, the Lucy museum is one I would like to visit one day.

    I love a family that can laugh together like yours does, no wonder I like you so much 🙂

  7. Carol says:

    I used to watch Lucy, and I loved Carol Burnett. Remember Laugh-In with Rowan & Martin, Goldie Hawn, Lily Tomlin and so many funny others? Loved Artie Johnson’s little guy on the tricycle.

  8. So Sorry! We’ve had a power outage that has been plaguing us since yesterday and it WASN’T funny!
    I LOVE Lucy and Singing in the Rain! In fact, I met Donald O’Connor back in 1993 when he came to my high school to do a show for the senior community. I happened to be helping with the tech crew that night and he was such a pleasant man! He even did “Make em’ laugh” which was one of my favorites.
    Great Spin and you’re linked!

  9. LisaF says:

    They just don’t make them like Lucille Ball anymore! You are 100% right, it was her expressions that made each scene funnier than the other.

    Betty White comes close though!

  10. terrepruitt says:

    Ah-ha! Now I know your secret. Laughter helps keep you young and you are still so young! Now I get it.

    I was pretty impressed by Lucy walking on those stilts. Dang! She was awesome.

    Thanks for the laughs! (in this post and pretty much always!)

  11. Raven says:

    Thanks for the laughs! I loved ‘I Love Lucy’ when I was a kid too. Lucille Ball is just hilarious. I also love Betty White, she totally rocks!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It amazes me that most people are just beginning to “get” Betty White. I have always loved her. From Mary Tyler Moore, to The Golden Girls and now every where you turn she’s there. She is HOT right now. I saw her in a guest episode of The Middle last year and she cracked me up. LOVE HER. Thanks for stopping by.

  12. Heather says:

    Oh I love to laugh! Hubby makes me laugh all the time. I tend to crack myself up a lot too.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know… one of my favorite things to say is “At least I can amuse myself!” I crack myself up all the time so who cares if someone else laughs. That’s just extra gravy!

  13. Your family sounds a lot like ours – we’re always cracking each other up! And laughing until you can’t catch your breath or have tears? Priceless! 🙂 I LOVE Lucy, too! 🙂


    SC: Laughter

  14. Laufa says:

    Lucy is classic funny!
    Sounds like anybody would want to be in one your family get togethers.

Leave a Reply

