PET Peeve

Pet Peeve

 

This week for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop I chose prompt #4.) Your pet’s least likable character trait. As most of you know, Hubby and I are the proud embarrassed owners of 6 cats. Yes, I said SIX. But as I’ve explained, it wasn’t on purpose that we have become the crazy cat people. I just don’t have the heart (or more precisely “lack thereof”) to turn them away. 

I love all our kitties. I love their mysteriousness and I love their independence and I love that they can pretty much fend for themselves and you can go somewhere for a day or two (as long as you leave them with a fair amount of fresh food and water) without worrying about having to rush home to let them out. Most of our cat’s are pretty self reliant and resilient. We do, however, have two in particular that have kind of funny traits. I don’t know if it was because they were born in the house and our house is the only home they have ever known or what but it drives me insane (okay, ER). 

Poe & LaLa when they still loved each other.

 

These two happen to be brother and sister, LaLa and Poe. They used to never be out of each other’s sight hardly until we got them “fixed” and then they got mean towards each other and seem to forget that they are related now. They used to lay beside each other and groom each other for hours and now you’d think they were total strangers. But, I digress… 

brother & sister when they were still kitties

 

 Both of these kitties you can let outside and they will stay for a long while (Poe longer than LaLa) but pretty soon they are going to scratch the back door down unless you let them in and then they run STRAIGHT for the cat box! Are you freaking kidding me? You just came inside from the largest cat box in the whole world… It’s call outdoors! And you have to come INSIDE to use the bathroom? 

again

 

And they both think that when you clean the cat box, they have to “christen” it before you can leave the room. They will just about knock each other out of the way to be the first one back in the box to use it. I don’t care if they have just used the bathroom literally right before I clean the box, as soon as I set it back down after cleaning it, they will hop back in to use it again and I have at least twice caught them both hopping in it at the same time after I had just cleaned it. 

Father (I think) Hellboy and son Poe hanging out

 

The rest of them will go outside in the woods or the lot next door (empty lot by the way so it’s not dissing the neighbors) but those two simply will NOT. They remind me of those kitty commercials where the kitty is standing on its back paws with its little arms crossed in front of their privates? Yup, that’s them. They about bust a gut getting inside to let it all out. 

To make matters worse, LaLa has a horrible habit of peeing on anything that gets left on the floor or laundry that does not get put away (if you leave it in the clothes basket). I’m not sure if that’s her way of policing the area or if she’s “marking” her territory. She won’t do it on laundry left on the bed or dresser or sofa but if you leave it in the basket she will hop right on it! She won’t go on a towel or blanket left laying on a piece of furniture or the bed but if you leave it on the floor she will pee on it. And if you don’t pick up the bathmat after you take a shower and throw it over the edge of the tub to dry she will pee on it. I have no clue how to break her of it. I have threatened to “give her away” but I think she knows it’s an empty threat… mainly I wouldn’t want to saddle anyone else with the burden. 

LaLa (when she's not using the world as her pee stop)

 

One day about a year ago, #3 called me at work and told me I might have a dead cat when I came home or at least one less than I had then. When I asked her what happened she proceeded to tell me how LaLa had crawled INSIDE her purse, her Kathy VanZealand purse and peed inside the purse. Of course everything in her purse was ruined, along with the purse. Her wallet, and check book and makeup and everything was in there. Thankfully her phone wasn’t but everything else. And once something has cat pee on it, it is almost impossible to get the smell out. I have found some good products that work (if you get to them right away) but for the most part I have found once something has cat pee on it, you may as well plan on replacing it. 

Poe enjoying his grooming from LaLa

 

And now she has a fear of the outdoors since something apparently tried to eat her out there one night so she won’t go out after dark and when she goes out during the day she won’t stay longer than like 15 minutes and she’s scratching at the back door again. I know my husband has replaced that sealant thing that goes around the door a half dozen times because every times she just scratches it right back off again. 

So, that’s my pet “pet” peeve. If anyone has any idea how to #1 stop her from peeing on inappropriate things and places and #2 how to make them start going outdoors when they are out there instead of waiting to get back in, I’d appreciate it.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to PET Peeve

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    Oh my! Nothing worse than that smell and those bad “marking” habits. Ugh. I’m sure he is fixed already too. Very strange!

    So funny about the liter box and how they christen it. HA. Cracked me up. Why do that do that? They are such funny creatures.

    Your babies are precious. I really do miss having cats and I just want to pet all six of yours.

    Plus, I need a good mouse hunter!

  2. terrepruitt says:

    I love cats. They are so cute. I love them sleeping together, too cute.

    I would NOT like the peeing thing. Maybe that is her way of helping with the housework? She knows that you know that if you leave it (anything) on the floor she will pee on it, so that is how she has trained you all to pick up. She would not have enough urine in her little body to get everything on my floor in the bedroom and in my “office”.

    Sorry, no idea how you can stop her.

    But the two of them racing to a just-cleaned-litter-box is funny!

    • pegbur7 says:

      They do and I literally once had them both jump in, one on one end and the other on the other end. They are amusing even if they are annoying. At least it’s only one of them that pees on stuff. She is also the one that scratches. We have threatened to have her declawed. Can you get them de-peed? LOL

  3. Amanda says:

    LOL my parents cats have to go in the litter box right after its cleaned too! They literally wait right outside till she is done and hop right in!

    Stopping by from mama kats!

  4. Fred Miller says:

    I’ve had only moderate success correcting peeing habits with a light “paddling.” Our cat occasionally pees in the corner of the bathroom where her litter box was five years ago. If I don’t “paddle” her, she continues peeing there. If I pick her up and hold her over the pee and say “Bad cat!” she gets really upset and scratches my arm and runs away. But she quits peeing there for a month or two.

    • pegbur7 says:

      If we happen to “catch” her we do spank her and put her outside and she HATES going outside but the problem is catching her doing it. It’s not usually until way after the fact that we catch it. YOu know… one of those you smell it and have to follow the scent in the air until you find the source? Trust me, if we catch her in the act or shortly after we punish her. It’s not as bad since our youngest moved out because hubby and I tend NOT to leave things lying on the floor like she did but she will still get that rug in the bathroom occasionally.

  5. Tanya says:

    I am a cat lover and yours are cute! I wish I had advice for you, but none of my cats ever did that. My last cat Mitty passed away in May at the age of 14 (tear), he used to like to “christen” the cat box also. I think he liked to tease my husband with it! Great post- stopping by from Mama Kat’s.

  6. Carol says:

    Our last cat got into the habit of marking things – he didn’t do that until the last year he was with us, don’t know why he started. He was fixed too. I used to threaten him, but he knew better so that didn’t work. He’d get a bit of a whack when I caught him, but that didn’t work either. They’re like kids – you just live with the bad habits you can’t correct.

    • pegbur7 says:

      That’s true. I guess I just live with it because we’ve had her since she was born and I couldn’t give her away now. And we can’t make her an outdoor kitty because she’s scared to death of outdoors since something tried to eat her a few months ago!

  7. suzicate says:

    Those two are so precious…love that last pic with the close up face, sweet. Sorry I don’t have any magic trick cures to tell you to help with the pee situation!

  8. Jenny says:

    I can’t help you with the peeing thing…hubby is allergic to cats but they are just like kids…you know, when you clean their room…they have to mess it up immediately like they are checking to see if you have thrown something away or if you just cleaned the kitchen and then they are starving and the list goes on!!

  9. K Odell says:

    aw the pictures remind me of my brother and sister kitty duo. so sweet. I had one that marked the kitchen counter- ewww. I think the pet store might have a spray that keeps them away from stuff- but you’d have to spray the whole floor. also, sometimes they change peeing habits because of urinary tract issues. If it’s marking- some do it even if they are a girl and fixed.

  10. liz says:

    now THAT’S a lot of cats! 🙂 though it seems i really don’t know many people who have cats, who have only 1 cat.

  11. Jimmy says:

    Not sure how to fix that problem, but reminds me of my cousin who had a cat that would jump into your vehicle and pee on the drivers seat if you left your window down making him laugh at you very loudly, he would always make the statement “That’s why I roll my windows up”

    I went to visit one morning and he was looking for his cat, to make a long story short he had accidentally locked it in his own van overnight, his drivers seat wasn’t pretty and there was no laughter from him this day 🙂

  12. LisaF says:

    I got nuthin’. But if you find out how to get the smell out, let me know! Fortunately, we haven’t had that problem yet, but in the future……. Your photos are simply precious.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I found something at Sam’s that works well called Odo ban and it’s also an antibacterial and I was finding this Pet Odor Eliminator for fabrics that worked really well but they discontinued it which really made me mad! I liked it!

  13. Spot says:

    Oh Peg! We have six cats as well! And we occasionally have pee problems with several of them. What is it about that wet bathmat??! I have no idea how to stop them. Like you I have found a few products that stop them for a month or two. I guess it’s something we just live with…

    ♥Spot

  14. Erin says:

    oh i am cracking up right now! i thought i was the only one on the face of the earth who had cats that peed on stuff, including my ex’s head! good thing they are cute huh?

  15. Smokey is old and a touch senile now at about 14. He started peeing in the kids playroom when Alex brought home a new “improved” litter. We are in the process of having the room re-floored and re-carpeted. It’s a hard lesson to us all. He’s still cute though.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know when things are changed on them they do that but she was born in the house I can only attribute it to marking or just being a little b**ch…that’s probably it!

  16. Heather says:

    Whiskers will be sitting there watching my every move as I scoop the poop, just waiting for the okay to soil it up again. Heck sometimes he doesn’t even wait till I’m done. He has no privacy issues at all!

    I’m thinking the cats that refuse to go do their business outside are the type that don’t like to soil up their own playground. BUT then again she will soil up the house. That has me pretty puzzled.

    Thank goodness my cats don’t releave themselves just anywhere, they would most definately wake up in a new home!

  17. I’m into pet peeves and pet hates too – big time! If you’re interested, you might check out my cartoon blog at http://www.cartoonsbysheila.wordpress.com
    Cheers, Sheila

Leave a Reply

