Completely Jimi

I think my Hubby has a problem.  I think he has a music CD addiction.  Do they have a 12 step program for that kind of thing?  I mean, I know he has a problem with his baseball cards and I’ve shared that and his Fantasy Baseball “hobby” with you but this I think is worse than both of them combined.  

Let me back up some.  I should have realized his obsession with love for music when we first got married.  I mean, I love music as well as the next person but between the two of us we had multiple crates jam packed with “albums”…. Yes, the vinyl albums from yesterday and let’s not forget the 8 track tapes.  I know you younger generations are probably going “What the heck is an 8 track tape?”  Let’s just say they were the dinosaurs of the music world (not as bad as reel to reel but almost).  We had boxes and boxes of both.  In fact, I think I got a little upset with him when we had a yard sale once and he “sold” (I use that term VERY loosely) the majority of our albums to some guy who said he was a radio DJ for less than $5.  There must have been at least 50 albums he got for that and I’m not exaggerating.  

One of his cases

 

Anyway, when they first came out with CD’s my husband refused to buy a CD player or any CD’s. AT ALL… I guess he knew it would be a problem for him so he just stayed away from it.  That is the precise reason he would never buy the kids a Nintendo or Xbox or any of those games or players.  He knew HE would end up playing games all day long on his days off so his solution was to just not have one available.  So, when CD’s first came out, he did the same thing.  He just stayed away from it.  Then he started out s l o w l y and progressed to where it borders on hoarding insane.  

Sampling of some of the pages

 

Eclectic musical taste

 

It’s not just the buying of the CD’s.  It’s the categorizing and sorting and sifting and burning and so on and so forth.  I made a mistake several years ago of buying him a CD burner.  Not for his computer but one of those separate contraptions that is about the size of one of the older VHS recorder/players.  He started out with one of those black BIG CD holder binder thingees.  Here is a picture of one of the front pages:  

His organizing

 

Now just to give you an idea… he started out with the one.  It has 12 pages.  Each page holds 8 CD’s, 4 on each side so each binder holds 96 CD’s.   So, at first he started out with his one little book and he had it memorized with which CD’s were on each page and if one was missing… he could tell you just by looking at THAT page and no others exactly which CD was missing.  The poor girls would go through pure hell if one was missing.  Heaven forbid they were to “borrow” one and forget to put it back!   

He would take the CD’s out of their case as soon as he got them and file them in their sleeve so we now have boxes and boxes of empty CD cases because he won’t throw those away either.    When he got that first one full he bought another one and I think he had it separated maybe by rock and country (I can’t remember) but now he has enough different books that they are separated by category and era.  Like 60’s rock, 70’s rock, heavy metal, 80’s music, 90’s music and so on and so forth.  I tell you one thing though… our girls have a VERY wide range of musical tastes.  They definitely know their music.  

I think he has progressed to where he probably has a dozen of those big black books if not more, so, you do the math on how many CD’s he has.    And he has now invested in a label maker so that he has labeled each slot with what CD is supposed to go there and there better not be any missing.  I have seen him even buy multiple copies of the same CD so the girls could have a copy, he could have one for the car AND he’d have one for his book.  

His burner - set and ready to go

 

Then comes the burning…. I can’t tell you how many hours he has spent burning CD’s.  And this is a BIG production.  I am not talking taking a CD and burning the entire CD to a blank CD.  No… he burns CD’s like a “mixed tape” from those 70’s and 80’s movies… He has burned CD’s that he has gone through and compiled with such “titles” as “driving music”, “rainy weather music”, “Peg’s favorites”(isn’t he sweet?), Zmaster (I have no clue what that is supposed to mean but he as several with different numbers on them), “#1 and Dad”, “#2 and Dad”, “#3 and Dad”, “Acoustic”, “70’s music”, “thinking music”, “Oldies” (several of those too), “Rock 70’s”, “country”, “Good Stuff”, “cool 80’s” (as opposed to UNcool 80’s?), “fun”, “psychedelic”, and on and on…. I think you get the picture.  

A couple of his "mixed" CD's

 

I suppose I have been an enabler and have contributed to his “problem” over the years because I usually always try to buy him at least one box set of some sort every year on our anniversary.  Here is a pic of just some of his boxed sets.  

Some of his boxed sets

 

The point of this whole “set up” is to relate another one of THOSE conversations that we had last week.  It was Labor Day and since we are now empty nesters we usually have pretty easy going days if he is off and we don’t have anything planned with the girls.  All the girls had their own plans so our plan was to have a relaxing morning and then see a movie in the afternoon.  We’re both sitting at the dining room table, me with my laptop, blogging or reading blogs or facebooking or something and he with his “burner”.  He is going through his books and popping in his CD’s to find the right mix of songs for his newest “mix tape” when we have the following conversation.  He looks up at me with a look of horror on his face and says:  

Hubby: OMG!  I can’t believe it!  

Me:        What?  What’s the matter?  

Hubby: I can’t believe it!  We don’t have a Jimi Hendrix CD.  

Me:        OK  

Hubby: NO, you don’t understand!  We don’t have a Jimi Hendrix CD!  

Me:        I heard you the first time.  What’s the big deal?  

Hubby: Well, we don’t HAVE one. That means we HAVE to get one!  

Me:        We HAVE to get a Jimi Hendrix CD?  It’s THAT important?  

Hubby: Yes!  We have to get one. I can’t believe we don’t have one.  

Me:        Just exactly WHY do we HAVE to have a Jimi Hendrix CD?  

Hubby: Because I want one!  

Me:        And just how is this going to harm you or kill you without one?  

Hubby: Because it will complete me if I get one.  

I’m starting to hear monologue from Jerry McGuire running through my head….  

Me:        Oh…. So I don’t complete you?  

Hubby: Well, yes… but having a Jimi Hendrix CD will really complete me.  

So, for the next few hours we kept going back to his incompleteness and my utter failure as a spouse (not really) for not having ever gotten him a Jimi Hendrix CD.  We went to our movie (saw George Clooney in the American… Yummy… not the movie but Clooney) and as we’re coming out of the movie hubby says “I’d like to stop by Best Buy on the way home.”  

Of course I knew immediately what he was getting at but feigned stupidity and suggested we walk around the mall for a little while first.  I had my own plan.  I knew he was chomping at the bit to see what they had in the line of Jimi Hendrix CD’s but I knew that FYE was at the other end of the mall and usually has a pretty good selection of used CD’s.  Sure enough we found a greatest hits CD by Jimi Hendrix (and saved several bucks) and I tell you … you couldn’t have wiped the grin off his face with steel wool!  We made our purchase and as we walked out of the store he turns to me grinning and says “NOW… we are complete!”  

He is complete

 

It even has MY favorite Hendrix song - #9 - Little Wing

 

Silly me… I thought he was complete when he married me and we had kids…. Had I known that was all it took I’d have bought him a Jimi Hendrix tape as a wedding gift!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Completely Jimi

  1. suzicate says:

    He is so silly…is he now “completely” insane?! Really though, everybody has to have some Jimi! Glad his life is complete…I’ll see if I notice a difference when I see him in a few weeks!

  2. Ron says:

    “Yes, the vinyl albums from yesterday and let’s not forget the 8 track tapes.”

    Yes! Yes! OMG Peg, do you remember how 8 track tapes use to make that “click” sound, everytime they changed songs? And vinyl albums – WOW – I had a TON of those, which I ended up throwing out before I moved back to Philly. I wish I’d have saved them because they’re worth money now!

    I can’t over how organized Hubby is with his CD’s. VERY impressive! So glad he was able to get Jimi Hendrix – and saved several bucks!

    I so enjoy the music of the 70’s and 80’s!

    Have a super Sunday, dear friend!

    Rock on!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, Ron. I remember the clicks! Funny… And we actually listened to several of his MIXED CD’s on the way home from Orlando today! It was enjoyable and he was able to get a couple of Jimi songs in there before we left!

  3. Carol says:

    Maybe you should consider an iPod for him for Christmas. One with tons of memory. Then he can get all his CDs, playlists, all that stuff into iTunes and unto his iPod – takes a lot less space! And no more buying CDs (blank or recorded), just download what he wants. What I like is I can buy individual songs, and if you want the whole album it’s usually cheaper than buying the physical album.

  4. terrepruitt says:

    Whoa! That is a lot of CDs.

    Do you have a jukebox? We have two. We bought them to put our movies in, but we have music in them too. One holds 301, the other bone holds 400. They are cool. You can have a wide selection of music in them. We don’t have nearly as much as your hubby.

  5. Heather says:

    Oh wow! He just took my insanity to a whole new level! I tend to be organized like that, but oh my….LOL!

    Nice move with detouring him into a cheaper price!

    What is he going to do when they figure out how to make cd’s old tec? I can’t get over him selling those albums for 5 bucks. I bet he wishes he hadn’t now.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think #2 was the one who got the maddest. She got a turntable and LOVES vinyl records (albums). She goes to the used bookstore and CD store sometimes just to browse through them. She is kind of my bohemian baby!

Leave a Reply

