Why DO I expose myself?

 Ok guys!  Get your mind out of the gutter… it’s NOT what you’re thinking.  Not expose myself  like a flasher or some pedophile.  Not the kind of stuff you can get arrested for!  I don’t know… can you get arrested for blogging?  But, I digress. Today’s assignment for this week of Back To Blogging over at SITS is: As your last assignment to jump start your return to blogging, write about what blogging means to you. Why do you blog? What purpose does it serve you and how have you benefited from sharing a piece of yourself online this way?  

I have written twice about blogging.  The first time was shortly after I started blogging and it was one of my Spin cycle assignments about the birth of my blog.  Here it is:  

I don’t know nothing ‘bout birthing no babies! No, wait… that was Mammy in Gone With the Wind.  I’m supposed to be blogging about the birth of my blogging! Say that 3 times real fast!  My blog was birthed because my fabulous sister SuziCate seemed to think that I had something to say that people would be interested in.  I had been talking to her about my adventures (or rather MISadventures) with my doctor’s appointments and the weird things that seem to happen to me and she asked me if I would write a guest blog for her on the subject.  I did. This is the result!  There was such a positive response to this post and so many people were saying I should start a blog of my own (ok… well, more than 2) that I figured why the heck not?  I’ll give it a whirl and see how it goes.  

Me (on the right) and my beautiful and fabulous sister SuziCate. Picture was taken by my incredibly gifted friend Margie Hatcher.

 

Well, I started blogging and now I can’t stop!  HELP!!! I think I need blogoholics anonymous!  Is there a cure or will I always be an addict?  Do I WANT a cure?  Doctor, doctor, give me the news… I got a bad case… of loving you!  And by you, I mean YOU, all my cyber bloggy friends in this blogosphere family and my blog. Yes, I admit it. I am in love with my blog. I can’t get enough of reading other people’s blogs and of other people reading and commenting on mine.  

I feel like I have a voice and I get to vent and to tell you funny stories about me and my crazy family and now my kids are gathering evidence for when they have me locked up! I mean stories to pass on to their children.  

 I feel like I can tell you anything!  It gives me a certain amount of artistic freedom.  I feel like other people actually HEAR me and care! It has been such a joy getting to know you guys and getting to actually meet someone from my bloggy family in PERSON was just an added bonus and I felt I had known her for YEARS.  Angelia… you ROCK!  

Me and Angelia from Living Loving Laughing

 

As for the name…..  Square Peg in a Round Hole.  Well, that’s just ME… you can read more about it on my “about me” page.  That’s just how I have always felt.  Like I never quite fit.  Not a bad thing.  It just is what it is!  

Me with my parents and all my brothers and sisters (Again taken by my wonderful friend Margie Hatcher)

 

Since this post I had a few bumps in the road and a couple of times even thought about quitting blogging.  But then I decided that quitting would only reinforce to the people who doubted me that I WASN’T  “worthy” of blogging.  You can read my rant on the second time here.  I won’t bore you with it right now.  

Me, Hubby and the girls at #1's wedding rehearsal dinner (2 years ago)

 

Truth is, the reasons for my blogging have changed somewhat since I started.  Yes, I do like the attention and I do like people reading what I write and I LOVE when people comment.  Most of all I think I like making people laugh.  I think I must have been a jester or comedienne in a past life!  Granted I’m not always funny.  And not everything that happens to our family is interesting but let’s face it… I do tend to attract “the crazies”.   I don’t know whether that means I’m crazy or just a little more tolerant of those that others find intolerable but either way?  I’m fine with it.   

I have benefitted SO much by blogging.  I have met so many wonderful friends (even if they are “online”) that I feel like I know them intimately.  I love being able to share in their lives and have them be a part of ours.  I love my life, I love my friends, and I love my family (real life and bloggy).  I plan to continue to document our life as long as it’s conducive to our life.  My kids will thank me for it later… after they get over me telling these stories about them.  And when they get older, they have something they can look back on and reminisce.  That is why I blog.  

I can’t close without thanking SITS and our wonderful sponsors for this week, our friends at Standards of Excellence, Westar Kitchen and Bath, and Florida Builder Appliances, are enabling us to make our Back to Blogging event even better.  Two lucky bloggers will win a new washer and dryer ***waving hands wildly while jumping up and down*** PICK ME, PICK ME, PICK ME!!!   My washer was bought when my oldest was a baby and she is almost 27 (she reminded me she still has almost a week left of being 26) now so I think it’s time.  And now that I don’t have a job it would really be nice for someone ELSE to fork out the money (since I have none).  And it sure would be nice to have a crack at and actually WINNING Thelma and Louise.  After all teal IS my favorite color! 

Thanks to our sponsors!

Why I blog

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, SITS, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Why DO I expose myself?

  1. Spot says:

    I was one of those ones who said you should start your own blog and I’m so glad that you did! Through it I feel I’ve gotten to know one of the most caring women I’ve ever met (or sortof met). I enjoy all of your blogs, funny and not.

    ♥Spot

  2. I’m so glad you did start a blog Peg. And I feel like you are such a talented, interesting and wonderful gal. I just wish you were my neighbor!

  3. Heather says:

    I was also one of those cheering you on and so glad you caved to the pressure.

    Meeting new people and being heard is the best part of all of this. I am still soo jealous that you got to meet Angelia. (j/k)

    I sure do hope you win that washer! I had hubby’s grandmothers washer for 12 years and I swear that thing was from the 70’s! I finally was forced to upgrade. lol!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Heather. I appreciate the encouragement. I think we bought out washer/dryer in 1983! It’s been a great one but I can tell it’s just a matter of time!

      Meeting Angelia was awesome. We had a great time!

  4. Liza says:

    We DO have a lot of the same reasons! Isn’t blogging so much fun?! I like the easy flow style of your writing!

  5. Karen says:

    I think, for most good bloggers, our reasons for starting a blog are one thing and our reasons for continuing will change over time. Here’s to more growth and connections!

  6. Angelia Sims says:

    Ah, my lovely! I, too, was one of your blog starting cheerleaders. Meeting you, my friend, was AWESOME. Being part of your big singing debut, even more so. My gosh, I had JUST gotten my camera. 😀

    I just adore you and your stories, and especially your precious family. Those are great pictures your friend did.

    I really, really hope you win. I quit the contest because….I really don’t NEED the washer and dryer and if I did win I was giving them to you! It was the waving hands thing….gets me every time. Good luck and thanks for the linky love.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Dang girl. You should have stayed in the contest. Then I’d have TWO chances and two chances are better than one! LOL

      I so adored meeting you and I appreciate the cheerleading and am so sorry you had to be subjected to my singing debut! YOU ROCK!

  7. Paul Hamner says:

    Dear Peggy You are a kind and wonderful woman. Thank you for using those words about my mom Doris Hamner. She inspired me also and I miss her terribly. I wish you and your family the best always and I will never forget your sweet words about “Mama” Regards Paul Hamner, Toms River NJ

    • pegbur7 says:

      Paul, I am HONORED that you read my blog! I don’t know if you even really know who I am. We lived a few doors down from your mom and dad when I was little. Your mom taught me to knit and I spent many hours at your mom’s kitchen table waiting for your dad to get home from work, eating her homemade biscuits and jam. I just wished I’d been old enough for her to teach me to make those.

      You have no idea how honored I am that I was able to know and spend time with your mom. I meant to put a picute on here I took with her when my oldest was a baby. I will email you a copy of it. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  8. Jenny says:

    I had no idea what blogging was until I read yours..(I’m still new at this stuff) but I think you do a wonderful job!! I love reading your stories and glad that I know you in person. I really think you should start writing books…maybe romance novels.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I wish I still had the imagination for that Jenny. I think I’m too old to imagine that now! LOL I do appreciate the encouragement though and I am glad you are my sister in law (or I consider you as that anyway!).

      • Jenny says:

        I’m right there with you Peg. but you do seem to have a very good memory…just work from that.lol I’m glad you consider me family…back at ya!

  9. Ron says:

    Oh Peg…you’ve no idea how happy I am that you started blogging.

    You’re a GEM!

    And even though we’ve never met in person, I feel as if I’ve known you forever. That’s the wonderful thing about blogging – we end up meeting people who we may not have had the chance to meet otherwise.

    One of these day I have a feeling we will meet. And when we do, I know it will feel like old friends!

    Love the photos. Especially the one of you and Suzi!

    Thanks for being here, dear friend. And I look forward to many more years blogging with ya!

    ((( Peg )))

    Have a wonderful weekend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Oh my dear friend. We WILL meet one day if I have to WALK to Philly! And I can’t wait for that day.

      Thanks so much for all the encouraging words. You are always a bright spot in my day!

  10. Carol says:

    I think many of us share the same reasons for blogging. The outlet,having a place for our voices to be heard, and wow! If someone actually reads them and likes them and comments!

    And reading the blogs – somehow you start to feel you know these people,that they are your friends. I find myself saying quite often now, “this gal in a blog I read said. . . .” Just tooo much fun.

  11. I hope you get the prize, Peg! I, for one, am extremely glad that you blog. I love reading about you and your family and all the crazy things that seem to happen to you. You have a way of making everything sound amusing and entertaining, even stuff that was a pain in the butt for you at first!

    Here’s to many more years of blogging and fun! *Raises glass*

  12. terrepruitt says:

    I still marvel at your first post. always makes me laugh thinking about it. I came to the blog after that but I was able to read it.

    I love the pictures! Especially the one and your sister! That is a beautiful picture!

    Thanks for bogging. You are helping me live longer (laughing is good for you)!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

