Free To Be

 

  

Freedom

 

Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves.
Abraham Lincoln  

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary define’s Freedom as:1 the quality or state of being free: as a : the absence of necessity, coercion, or constraint in choice or action b : liberation from slavery or restraint or from the power of another : independence c : the quality or state of being exempt or released usually from something onerous <freedom from care> d : ease, facility <spoke the language with freedom> e : the quality of being frank, open, or outspoken <answered with freedom> f : improper familiarity g : boldness of conception or execution h : unrestricted use <gave him the freedom of their home

2 a : a political right b : franchise, privilege 

According to Merriam-Webster I enjoy freedom to a certain extent.  Even though as Americans we consider ourselves “Free” we are also still under the power of our government so even though we are liberated from slavery we are still under the power of our government.  So, we have a relative freedom. 

We have a freedom of speech until someone gets a bug up their a$$ and decides that your right to say what you want has violated their right to have others know what they want you to know.  In that sense we have become enslaved to people’s greed and have become a “sue” nation.  No, not a Sioux Nation, a “sue” nation in the fact that every time you turn around someone is filing a ridiculous lawsuit against someone else or a corporation, wasting the time, money and energy of the legal system.  And unfortunately, those people are the ones who are usually winning their frivolous and ridiculous lawsuits while others who have legitimate reasons to file a suit win nothing. 

Like the woman who ordered coffee from McDonalds drive through several years ago and then sued McDonalds because it was hot and she spilled it and burned herself. Hello???  Was she not the one that burned herself?  She was awarded 2.7 million dollars!  And they have had several sue since then for the same thing.  And these are probably the same people who would pitch a fit if it wasn’t hot.  Yes, she may have been burned and suffered from the burn but it was HOT COFFEE…. Was that NOT what she ordered? 

A woman in Texas sued a furniture store after she broke her ankle because she tripped over a toddler running around the store.  She won the suit.  The toddler was her child.  Excuse me??? You are going to sue a company for making an unsafe environment when YOUR child is the one making it unsafe?  Are YOU not the one who is supposed to be watching your own kid when you are out in public? Heaven forbid it had been someone else’s child.  You would probably have called child services on them for neglect for not watching their child, but, you sue someone else because you were not watching your own.  Yes, this is why I say we are a sue nation.  People will sue over the stupidest things and get awarded money for it, but, it is their freedom to do that. See…. We are FREE that way

Freedom is not worth having if it does not connote freedom to err.
Mohandas Gandhi  

Let’s change the subject a little because I just get too upset thinking about those examples of freedom where there should be some restraint.  I personally feel that I have a tremendous amount of freedom and I thank the men and women who are responsible for keeping this country safe for the rest of us to enjoy that freedom. 

Freedom means you are unobstructed in living your life as you choose. Anything less is a form of slavery.
Wayne Dyer  

Now that all of our kids are grown I have even more freedom than I had before.  If I wake up in the morning and decide I want to go somewhere or do something then I am relatively free to do it.  Providing I have the funds available to handle it.   I have more freedom at this point in my life than I ever have at any other point in my life.  

Sure, I still try to help out the kids with things if they need it but I don’t HAVE to.  At the moment, I have no employer that I am beholden to that I have to show up at a workplace 5 days a week and answer to.  I am pretty much free to do whatever my heart desires as long as I don’t harm anyone else or break any laws in the process.  I only have to answer to myself and my hubby somewhat.  I saw somewhat half jokingly because he has been married to me long enough and knows me well enough to know that if you tell me I CAN’T do something then I’m gonna be hell bent to do JUST THAT.  I think some people might call that stubborn.  But I am free to be stubborn as I want to be. 

I am not hidden by veils or gowns.  I am not forbidden to go to school or learn because I am a woman.  I am not persecuted because of my religion or lack of it.  I am not bound by shackles or chains, I am free to be…. Me. 

Now for listening and viewing pleasure a couple of videos about freedom. 

First we have Freedom by George Michael:  

And now Freedom by Akon: 

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop and prompt # 5.) Define “freedom”. (inspired by NaBloPoMo)

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Free To Be

  1. Ron says:

    I agree Peg…we have a relative freedom.

    We will always be enslaved in someway.

    Yup, we live in a sue nation. Most of the time, those who SHOULD win, don’t. And those who shouldn’t, do. Which brings us to another topic…justice.

    I too feel that I have a tremendous amount of freedom. Much more than in some places on this planet.

    LOVE the two videos you shared with us here. OMG, it’s been ages since I’ve seen the George Michael Freedom video. What a great song! Enjoyed seeing Naomi Campbell. What a beauty!

    FAB post, dear friend!

  2. Fred Miller says:

    I like what “America the Beautiful” says. “Confirm thy soul in self-control, thy liberty in law.”

    In short, freedom is the freedom to do as you ought.

  3. Jenny says:

    WELL PUT PEG!! I am also grateful to all of those serving in the armed forces especially the ones that gave their lives for our freedom. It’s almost like we (Americans) are trying to self-destruct….God has been good to us and it’s time to take a stand for what’s right. Congratulations on being “FREE” you earned it and you deserve it. I used to dream of those days…guess I’ll have to way another 14 years until we get Madi raised but she’s worth every minute of it.

  4. Tanya says:

    Nice post. I guess I have always believed that freedom is a state-of-mind. I am always appreciative of where we live and never take it for granted. But on a more serious note, I LOVE the George Michael song! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Sorry. Every time I read about the woman who sued over tripping over her own child, I have to laugh. I would have loved to be sitting in the juror box for that one.

  6. Now…what store in Texas was that? Me and my two year old might have to go pick out a new dining hutch this afternoon. Where did I leave my stilettos………..LOL

    Really, it made me angry too!
    Great post!

  7. suzicate says:

    Love this post, excellent piece on freedom. The coffee and tripping over the kid thing and the likes of those make my blood boil! Those are the people (and their attorneys) that have no scruples.

  8. K Odell says:

    this is perfect timing- you talk about the sue nation (lol: funny pun)- last night on the news most of LA was practically rioting because a guy with a knife who was trying to kill a woman and a cop was shot by said cops. WTH? we are all crazy.

  9. Amazing post, Peg! Very intelligent. I agree, the US has become a “sue” nation, and it’s gone a bit too far in some cases. I think that sometimes the fact is that lawyers are having too much fun trying to win pointless cases so they actually manage to…

    Anyway, I have to agree, it feels amazing to acknowledge our freedom as women and as people.

  10. LisaF says:

    I shake my head in disbelief at some of the lame-brained decisions our courts make. It seems like personal responsibility is a thing of the past. Why be responsible when I may be able to make money by being an idiot?

  11. Carol says:

    I grow so angry when people file such stupid lawsuits and win. Wait! What happened about personal responsibility? But I cannot complain that we have the freedom to do so, only that we haven’t the self-respect and respect for our fellow man to not do so. We have the freedom to take the easy out, to put the blame for our errors on others. Maybe that’s a freedom that should be reviewed?

  12. Paula Kiger says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts on freedom, Peg. I read a neat meditation by Michael Singer earlier in the week, and for a moment thought “maybe I should switch to the freedom prompt!”. Here it is: At any moment you can feel frustration, anger, fear, jealousy, insecurity or embarrassment. If you watch you will see the heart is trying to push it all away. If you want to be free you have to learn to stop fighting all these human feelings.

    I really appreciate you stopping by my blog as well!

  13. Heather says:

    Sometimes I forget that we are a free nation instead of a nation enslaved to money. The more and more we learn of other countries, the more we learn to appriciate what freedoms we do have.

    It is sad that there are people who don’t have enough respect for others or themselves to take responibility for their own actions. All for a quick buck, that is what that’s about.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know and those kinds of people drive me crazy. And because of them, judges and such have become so jaded that people who really have legitimate causes never get what they really need.

  14. ElizOF says:

    Hi there,
    Stopped by from MamaKat’s Workshop. I enjoyed writing about Freedom too as there are many perspectives on the topic.Give the anniversary of 9/11, I focused on how much we need to be vigilant about the relative freedoms we do have… total freedom is an illusion.
    Best,
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

