Po(e) Hearing

For several years I have had this weird, intermittent medical annoyance.  I don’t know how else to describe it.  The first time I remember it happening was when we lived in Memphis, TN.  The girls were in 2nd and 3rd grade and the youngest was 1 ½ years old.  Hubby was a district manager for a buffet type restaurant and traveled between Memphis, St. Louis and some town in Indiana I can’t remember.  The point is, he wasn’t home a whole lot.  This particular time he was out of town, of course. 

 I remember waking up and knowing I had to get the kids to school.  I get out of bed and literally run into the wall.  I felt like I was drunk.  Really drunk!  But I wasn’t.  I didn’t even drink, at all, at that juncture in our lives.  I remember making my way to the bathroom literally running into the walls at every turn.  It was all I could do to go to the bathroom and back.  I laid back down and closed my eyes.  BAD mistake.  Wave upon wave of nausea overtook me.  I opened my eyes and the room was still spinning and I literally couldn’t focus.  If I could get myself upright it abated a little but not much.  

 I did finally manage to get the girls to school although I don’t know how I did it.  After I got back home I gave #3 some cereal or a poptart or something and lay back down until it was time to go pick them back up.  I really don’t know how I did it that day but I was so sick and dizzy all day (quit laughing… not THAT kind of dizzy) I don’t know how I functioned.  It was horrible.  I remember that if I lay on my side it wasn’t as bad as laying flat on my back and laying on an incline didn’t seem to be as bad.  I made it through the day and when I woke up the next day I seemed to be fine.  

 I have no clue what caused it. I don’t know if it was an inner ear infection, a sinus thing or some kind of weird beginnings of Ménière’s disease thing (it evidently runs in my family) or what.  It has happened several times since then and each time it usually lasts about a day or so.  It usually happens that I wake up with the severe equilibrium problems accompanied by the nausea and a sort of full feeling in my ear and the symptoms seem to lessen throughout the day and are usually gone the next day or two days at the most.  It’s only happened about a half dozen times and it’s practically impossible to drive when it happens and if it happens on a day when I’m supposed to work I usually have to call in sick. 

 Well, as luck would have it I awoke this morning about 5 a.m. because I had to go to the bathroom.  As I sat up I immediately felt that familiar off kilter vertigo.  Hubby was still asleep so I literally stumbled to the bathroom, almost falling at least twice on the way, and back.   Let me tell you trying to lean backward to sit on the toilet was a real treat.  I almost had to call hubby to come help me because I was afraid I was going to fall in the floor. 

My fuzzy alarm

As soon as I lay down on my back and closed my eyes I realized it was a mistake so I rolled over on my side with the side of my head with the full feeling ear pressure (which happened to be the right side and seems to always be the right side) I knew that was also not a good idea.  I rolled over to the left side.  Almost immediately Poe (my alarm clock) crawled up on my right arm, which he usually does but this time made an immediate beeline right to my ear.  He started trying to lick in my ear like it was full of tuna!  It was so weird.  

How Poe likes to lay when I'm typing. He's a mama's boy.

 

 I tried to wake hubby but couldn’t get him awake because by this time Poe was straddling my arm (and I was laying on the other one) and grabbing the top of my ear lobe with his teeth and pulling while he was pressing his paws against my head like he was trying to rip the “offensive” ear off my head!  I mean, we used to have a cat that would sleep on the bed with anyone who was sick like she was protecting them but I have never had a cat try to rip off a body part that they thought was causing harm.  And it wasn’t like I was holding my ear or even moaning or anything.  I had to finally disentangle my arm so I could knock him off the bed.  The way he was licking in my ear it was like he was digging for gold.  Any one have any explanation as to his behavior or what their diagnosis is? 

If Poe does this to the TP imagine what he coud have done to me ear!

 

 I know after I got up I almost fell twice in the shower from the vertigo and my ear felt very “full” so I took a  Q tip (don’t fuss, I know you’re not supposed to do that) and cleaned that ear out as well as I could.  It didn’t “hurt” per se but it did feel strange and now it doesn’t feel as “full” as it did before but it still has a kind of ringing in it and feels more sensitive than the other ear.   And my hearing in that ear might be a little more muffled.   Any suggestions/explanations (other than just “go to the doctor”) would be greatly appreciated.  

 Now, if I can just coerce Poe into deep cleaning my other ear so I’ll have a matching set!  LOL

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Po(e) Hearing

  1. Carol says:

    Ummm, go to the doctor? And cover you head with the blanket so Poe can’t get to your ear. Animal instinct, I think. They have these special intuitions – little parasite detectors in their brains. Poe loves you and wants to take care of you – so that you’ll be able to take care of her.

  2. SuziCate says:

    Ditto Carol. Maybe a drop of Collodial Silver in there…I believe Daddy does that. He and Kay both have that vertigo/ Menieres thingy going on!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know… I so hope that is NOT what is happening. I really don’t like being sick (unlike some people we know) and I just want it to go away. I wonder if I should heat it first?

  3. Ron says:

    Ironic that you mentioned this Peg, because I get this sometimes myself. And it always seems to happen after I’ve been lying in bed and will get up to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. It also sometimes happens in the morning, when I jump up to turn the alarm clock off. However, mine seems to only last a few minutes and then it’s over.

    It never even dawned on my that it could posssibly be something within my ears. I just assumed it was because I jumped up too fast.

    As I was reading how Poe was trying to help you, I couldn’t help but be reminded how cats are natural healers. My one cat would always sit close to me whenever I was sick with a cold or flu, like a little cat doctor – HA!

    Gee, I don’t know what to suggest?! Have you ever tried “ear coning?” It helps to clean out your ears in a natural way.

    Hope you’re enjoying your weekend, my dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I have done ear “candling” if that is what you meant, where they take a cone shaped candle thing and light it and it is supposed to draw the fluid out of your ear? But it’s been years. It’s still acting weird today. Even tried like Suzi said with the CS in the ear and it’s like it’s closed off and swollen so it doesn’t go down there. I guess I’ll have to wait until Tuesday and break down an dog to the doctor! I hate going to the doc. Poe was at it again last night though. Bless his little heart.

  4. Peg, go to the doctor. They have medicine for vertigo. Keep things out of your ears. You may even be making it worse when you stick something in there. Alex has had vertigo and they gave him medicine for it. Don’t ask your bloggy buddies advise, in this case, get an appointment with your medical buddy, you know, your doctor.

  5. Janet says:

    Peg, I HATE IT when that happens! I have also had vertigo, and I understand how sick it makes you feel. You need to verify that vertigo is actually what it it…they have tests for that. I can also tell you that if it is a recurring thing (as it often is), that Costco sells mecclizine over the counter. There is also a nondrowsy formula and I keep that one in my pocketbook at all times now. But don’t self-diagnosis…at least not the first time. (BTW, the doc said mine was caused by a buildup of fluid in my ear.)

  6. Janet says:

    Oh, and one more thing: A physical therapist told me there are some things you can do to help that condition…I just didn’t go back to find out what it was. sigh.

  7. Jenny says:

    GO TO THE DOCTOR!! I too have heard that animals can sense things like that. Better to be safe than sorry. I used to get vertigo about once a year…more annoying than anything!! Maybe it has something to do with the weather changing. Who knows?

  8. Heather says:

    Could be what your family has or you could be prone to inner ear infections. I would say go to the doc when ever you can.

    Sorry but I was convulsing at the thought of a cats rough tongue in my ear!

    A toilet paper kitty! Bad Kitty!

  9. LisaF says:

    Isn’t it amazing how animals can be so in-tune with things like that? Vertigo is nothing to mess with so I’d get to a doctor pronto!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I went and she said she couldn’t find anything wrong with it. Of course she can’t see past the ear drum but she said no swelling, no fluid, no redness. She gave me eardrops and told me to take Mucinex….arrrggghhhhh. Said if it gets worse go see an ENT.

Leave a Reply

