Family Feature Films – Revisited

So remember the rant I had about the Family Films Guy?  Well… they are at it AGAIN! I had asked them the last time they called not to call my house anymore. AS you know we’ve been out of town and Tuesday the phone rang and I noticed it said FFFilms so I ignored it because I was trying to get laundry caught up etc. but it definitely miffed me. Wednesday afternoon again, the phone rang and I saw it was them again! I picked the phone up on the 3rd ring and as soon as I answered they hung up. Now I was even more pissed. Thursday afternoon they call again!

 I answered the phone and the man immediately starts out with “I realize you asked us not tu’o call anymore but I’m a supervisor with Feature Family Films and wanted to discuss the “problems” you’ve been having with us”.

My first thought was “Well, that really nice that they would call to try to make this right!”

WRONG! As soon as I started unloading on this guy but he keeps talking. He’s totally overtalking me. He’s saying “Now I know you said you weren’t interested in buying more films but while I have you on the phone let me tell you about some new films we have coming out.”

 I said “Are you serious? I tell you NOT to call me and you call me on the pretense of wanting to help and all you really want to do is sell me something else? I am NOT interested in buying anything else from you! EVER!”

Then he goes “Well, I know you don’t want me to call you again so if you’d like, just give me your email address and we can contact you from time to time to apprise you of any specials we have going on. Please spell out your email address slowly so that I can make sure I have it correctly.”

WTH??? ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME? What I wanted to say was: Yeah, my email is B-I-T-E-M-Y-A-S-S@T-H-E-L-E-F-T-C-H-E-E-K-D-O-T-C-O-M. But I’m much too nice for that so I really did say “Are you kidding me? If I don’t want you to call me ever again why on earth would I give you my email address so that you’d have another way to annoy me?”

Suddenly there was a dial tone on the other end. HE hung up on me! I suppose he did me a favor because I could feel my pulse and blood pressure rising and I most likely would have stayed on the phone arguing with him because I’m much too nice to hang up on them. I have also since found out that they are affiliated with the Latter Day Saints and I don’t need them getting mad and sending their bicycle troops to show up in my driveway everyday!

After he hung up on me I googled the company and found out that they apparently do this to a lot of people and that the state of Missouri actually sued them for violating the no call laws. And now they apparently stalking people in the U.K. too! Maybe I should get in on the action and threaten to sue them when they call back again because I’m pretty sure they will!

I also found this out: In 2009, Verizon Wireless filed suit against Feature Films for Families after the company allegedly placed nearly 500,000 illegal automated telemarketing calls in ten days to the mobile phones on Verizon’s network. The calls were recorded advertisements for the FFFF film “The Velveteen Rabbit”.

Here’s what some of the other people have said in their complaints:

‘I’ve nicely asked “Jess, from Family Feature Films” to stop calling and waking me up for months, but he doesn’t stop. My wife made the mistake of purchasing videos from them over 15 years ago. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THEM! Does anyone know their web address or phone number so I can start harassing THEM? I’m tired of being civil. Any ideas as to which goverment channel I can utilize? What else can we do to hurt them where it hurts the worst, in their pocketbook? Join me! I’m going on the offensive!’

‘Persistent in follow up calls after repeatedly requesting no additional contact as a work at home employee I cannot keep these interruptions – They refuse to comply.’

‘After asking repeatedly to please not call, I have finally started to file complaints. They call every week at 8:00 in the morning and start their sales pitch by saying, “I know you asked not to call but could you give me just 2 minutes of your time?” UNBELIEVABLE’

‘Had two of these calls now. A cold call asking to speak to ‘the lady of the house’ and a learnt script, playing on the fact that parents might be concerned about too many films being unsuitable for children but then trying to sell two films. When I tried to respond the woman making the call rudely talked over me without listening to anything I had to say even though I wasn’t trying to be rude – only to say that I didn’t want to buy the films but agreed that I was concerned about my children watching unsuitable things. She spoke over me several times rigidly sticking to her script and I ended up with the impression that the cause was just a front for selling films and it wasn’t a genuine campaign to protect children from unsuitable content, just a marketing gimmick.’

‘I agree, they are relentless. I have bought plenty of movies from them. My kids have just grown up and I don’t want any more.’

‘I totally agree. These are some of the rudest people I have ever dealt with on the phone. I suggest that everyone that has had a problem with this company go to their website and write a complaint!’

‘OMGosh- Yes, yes – I think that people are not ready for the intelligence this call brings! My husband is a software engineer and even I had to tell him, “Your talking to a freaking computer!” Simply hanging up does not work. However, I did try asking them to hold on a second and then putting the phone down for a few minutes (I heard somewhere that companies don’t appreciate the charges that rack up) In any case, eventually you will hear a live person say “hello?” Maybe that’s the time to cancel and not waste your time talking with a computer… Seems to have worked for me…’

‘I totally agree. These are some of the rudest people I have ever dealt with on the phone. I suggest that everyone that has had a problem with this company go to their website and write a complaint!’

‘I’m having the same problem with this company and can’t find a way to make them stop. I’ve tried to *69 thier number but when I try to call back I’m told the call cannot be completed. If anyone has thier website so I can start posting complaints or address please let me know what it is’

‘I had the same problem and stopped buying but now my grandchildren are enjoying a new movie and asking for more they have seen advertised.I hope not to have to deal with this again but the movies are very good.’

 ‘Hi Let me know how it works out on calling them. Here’s the information. I wouldn’t say that the are rude but rather insistant and persistant! Our Customer Service We continually look for better ways to serve you. If you have any suggestions or questions, please e-mail custserv@familytv.com or call 1-800-FAMILY-TV (1-800-326-4598) or 1-800-347-2833, Mon–Fri 6 a.m. – 9:30 p.m. • Sat 7 a.m. – noon MST.’

‘Common folks…get a grip. You are talking to a computer. There is no Jess or Jason…you are talking to an AI computer. (Artificial Intelligence) The computer is not programmed to accept requests to cease. They just go to the next solution to close the sale. Simply HANG UP THE PHONE. That’s what I did and the calls now only come once or twice a year. You aren’t going to hurt the computer’s feelings…I promise. Personally, I think the system is genius and effective.’

‘It was not a computer I was talking to, it was a real, determined, pushy salesperson, doing their job but not hearing when I said no no no thank-you, even went as far as to put another person, real person on the line too.’

So, in my research I found out the apparent reason that they kept overtalking me was it is a freaking computer generated voice response. It’s not even a real person that’s annoying the heck out of me. My husband got a big kick out of that. He’s like “now I know you like to argue but that takes the cake…now you’re arguing with a computer!” I guess it’s better than arguing with a stop sign? I have also been accused of being capable of that!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Family Feature Films – Revisited

  1. This is disgusting! I hate when people do this! What a jerky outfit this is.

  2. I cannot believe this. Seriously, they sound like such SCAMMERS! How could this company be legitimate? How haven’t they gone bankrupt yet? I mean, seriously, this kind of company would scare the S out of me!

    Totally get in on the action against them, I say. Seriously, they deserve to be sued out of the planet.

    • pegbur7 says:

      They are extremely persistent. They told me the first time I owed them money but couldn’t tell me what for or how much but they would “make it go away” IF I’d buy another film from them! Are they crazy? If I legitimately owe them money what idiot would want to send me something else and forgive the first debt? SCAMMERS…

  3. Ron says:

    B-I-T-E-M-Y-A-S-S@T-H-E-L-E-F-T-C-H-E-E-K-D-O-T-C-O-M.

    Bwhahahahaahhhaahahahah!

    Peg, that was HYSTERICAL!!!

    Well, you have much more patience than I do. I would have continually hung up on this guy the second I heard his voice.

    Hope you’re having a wonderful Sunday!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Hubby and I are having a wonderfully lazy Sunday until he has to go to work in a few hours.

      It was either going to be that email address or 1-800-bite-me for them to call back. LOL

      It DID put you in spam… I wonder why?

  4. Ron says:

    Hi again Peg!

    I just left you a comment, but it disappeared when I hit submit. Just check to see if Akismet placed me in spam.

    X

  5. suzicate says:

    Talk about annoying!

  6. Jimmy says:

    By all means open a can on em Peg, just make sure it’s the person in charge rather than a computer generated butt you are kicking 🙂

    I seriously hate companies like this but obviously the only reason they are still in business is due to new customers rather than repeat–this too will end.

  7. Carol says:

    I had a similar situation with a company from whom I’d bought septic system “food” when we first moved here. When I opted not to buy more they got very persistent and rude. One day they called and my husband answered – he is much better at being hostile than I am. What finally stopped their calls? We dumped the land line and went with cell phones only. Aargh! The “No Call” thing does not apply to people with whom you do or have done business or any of their affiliates. Pretty cripples the system, I’d say.

Leave a Reply

