Dinner at Vito’s

While I was home last week (Virginia) I did get to have dinner one night with some of my friends from high school.  My friends, Margie and T came, as well as Jane and SW who was also my Junior Prom date in high school.  Another friend, Dee, whom I’ve written about before was supposed to come with his wife but they couldn’t make it, so SW was a little upset at first that he was the only guy there but we told him he should relax and be happy to be in sole man in the company of 4 such wonderful women.  

Of course our egos were quickly deflated when Jane got there.  There are two restaurants by the same name in the county, the one we were dining at in Lovingston and one in a little town about 15 miles away.  Jane, wasn’t sure which location we were meeting at, so she called before she left her house and asked the little waitress (all of maybe 18 years old – at the oldest) who answered the phone if there were some people there having like a “mini-reunion” to which she asked “Is it a bunch of old women?”  WTH?  OK… I guess I AM old, I just don’t think of myself that way.  When Jane was relating the story to us, Margie pipes up “Ok, which of these skinny little bitches said that?  I am gonna kick her ass!”  Of course she was joking (I think – LOL). 

It was a nice dinner with good friends but it quickly came to an end and they all had to get up to go to work the next day and as the restaurant was kind of centrally located in the county, it wasn’t close for any of us.  We did leave with plans to try to do a “ladies weekend” in maybe Charlotte since it’s about halfway between them and Atlanta.  Sorry, SW… you can’t go to that.  Ladies only.  I did take a picture of everyone but for some reason they didn’t all come out so here is another one that Margie took of me (she is so good) and others I took even though they didn’t all come out very well. 

Another pic Margie took of me

 

My friend T even though my picture turned out blurry

 

My friend Jane (I don't know why this one wasn't blurry)

 

As they were leaving I mentioned to Margie that I was already having withdrawals from the internet so we decided to go down to a local coffeeshop and see if they were still open and see if they had WiFi.  Seriously, there is NO WHERE else in the entire area that I knew of that has WiFi.  I even asked at the restaurant and if anyone would know about getting a WiFi  connection it would have been “one of those skinny little bitches” as Margie so succinctly put it! 

So, Margie and I drove the 3 or 4 miles over to Rapunzel’s to check out the WiFi service.  Found out they were open until 11 and they had live entertainment.  The signs were kind of confusing because one said they were open every day and M-S they were open until 11 pm but then another sign said something about M,W,F so I’m not sure if the M,W,F sign meant those were the days they had entertainment or what. 

Stage at Rapunzel's

 

We got our little pot of tea and found a table up in a little alcove kind of overlooking the stage and tried to keep our talking down to a loud whisper so as not to interrupt the musicians.  From what we could ascertain, on Wednesdays they have what I would consider a kind of “open mike” night.  They had like 8 or 10 chairs kind of in a circle.  Some on the stage and some on the floor and it seemed that the musicians kind of flowed in and out and some would participate in some songs and some not. It was like they had their own little symbiotic relationship.  A kind of ebb and flow going, where several people would be playing and then the next song someone else would join in and another would sit it out and some would leave and others would come and take their place.  It was a little strange not being a part of it and not knowing exactly what was going on but they all seemed to understand what was happening and it was entertaining.  They played several different types of songs country, country rock, but seemed mostly bluegrass.  

The other thing was that all the clientele as well as the musicians participating were from all age groups.  There were some really young people (like teenagers) who were working there and who were obvious regulars and there were middle aged and there were even some older, obvious senior citizens, who were both sitting and enjoying the music and some participating in creating the music.  I think there was even some “making it up as we go along” happening.  They seemed to at times not even be playing the same song but they all were having a good time and I was having a good time listening.  I even recorded a couple of the songs and if I knew how to transfer it from my phone I would put it on it, but I can’t even hardly figure out how to play it, much less transfer it! 

And on the way home there was an almost full moon with clouds around it that looked so pretty. The picture didn’t come out perfectly but I think you get the gist. 

Almost full moon

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Dinner at Vito’s

  1. How fun a night! Always a blast to see old friends!

  2. suzicate says:

    I can so see Margie saying that and rising up to look for that waitress. Tee still looks beautiful even if your pic is blurry. And sweet Jane! An the lovely Peg! Sounds like a great time!

  3. Alaina says:

    Always good to catch up with old friends!

  4. Ron says:

    “she asked “Is it a bunch of old women?” WTH? OK… I guess I AM old, I just don’t think of myself that way.”

    OMG, I remember the very first time someone refered to me as “the older guy.” No wait, let me be more specific, “the older guy with gray hair.”

    I thought to myself, “Well…I guess I’m finally in THAT category now…OLDER.”

    HA!

    But, honest? I LOVE being older.

    Sounds like you ladies had such a great time catching up!

    Love the shot of the almost full moon!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend! Hope you’re having a great day!

    X

  5. Carol says:

    It’s so nice to be able to get together with old friends. Sometimes girls’ time is a treasure – we all need a break sometimes.

    Sometimes I forget to turn the flash on my camera on in low light – or sometimes I just don’t view it as “low” light – then I get fuzzy. I keep trying for shots of the moon, but neither my camera nor I are sophisticated enough I guess. Your picture came out better than mine do. And the pic of you? Lovely, happy! What more could one wnat?

  6. Jenny says:

    Speaking of old friends, I found an old college room-mate on fb that I haven’t seen in 30 years. I found out she lived 20 minutes from my brother in Simpsonville so I went to see her this past week-end and it was great!! Speaking of old…Madisyn and I were shopping at Myrtle Beach at an outlet store…the clerk told the older lady in front of me that it was 55 and older Wednesday…I said, oh good I get another 15% off. Well, Madi calls me mama and the clerk looked at me then Madi like I was not being honest…so I quickly said that she was my granddaughter and that I had turned 55 this year, had the liscense to prove it, and that I deserve every discount coming to me!! Anyway, glad you had fun and a safe trip.

    • pegbur7 says:

      That’s funny. You know now for AARP discounts you only have to be 50 and Hubby was PO’d when I got an AARP card when he turned 50 because he said it made him feel old, I told him the exact same thing you said. If it gets me discounts heck yeah I’m gonna take it!

  7. terrepruitt says:

    I love being able to visit with friends.

    I also love being able to see you. That is a great picture. Very pretty!

    Have you been to Rapunzel’s before? That picture looks familiar.

  8. Jenny says:

    The way I look at it is…WE EARNED THEM!! Tell Dwight to MAN UP!!lol

Leave a Reply

