Adoption Obsession

Obsessions

 

This week for Mama Kat’s I have chosen prompt #3.) Things you oddly obsessed about as a child. (inspired by Wendy from Like My Baby). 

When I was a child my older brothers and sisters had me absolutely convinced that I was adopted. I’m sure at some point that all kids must go through this same phase but they really had me convinced. 

I remember I was constantly searching for picture proof that I was “one of their own” so to speak. If I had a lick of sense all I’d have to do was look in the mirror. I think we all pretty much look alike. Not like twins but there is no doubt that we are related. But when I was younger I could never find any pictures of me as a baby so I always thought I wasn’t a “natural” child. All I’d have had to do was actually think about it for a while and I would have had my conclusive answer. Why would a young couple who already had 4 children they could barely afford to feed adopt a baby? I know, I never said I was very bright back then. Just one more reason my daddy never called my “sonny (sunny)”… 

I think part of the doubt came from the fact that as I’ve posted before, all my older brothers and sisters were so close both in age and emotionally and me being so much younger already made me feel alienated from them. To me they also acted a lot alike and I found myself questioning some things they did or ways they acted and as they got older it only got worse. What’s funny is that in the last few years I’ve have relished those differences. Many times my husband has asked me “Are you sure you and Suzi are from the same family as the rest of them?” And I have to think back to when I was so afraid that I was from a different family and laugh. 

Here are a couple of pictures when I was younger with my brothers and sisters. Is it not evident that we are related? 

My mom with the first 5. I'm in her lap.

 

1st 5 with Bigdaddy and our parents. My dad is holding me.

 

And here is a picture of my maternal grandmother who I’ve been told I look like: 

My maternal grandmother, Elizabeth Reese Harris

 

And me and some of my family at older ages: 

Our whole family in about 1979

 

My mom. my oldest sister and her son, myself and SuziCate in probably 77, maybe?

 

Me on the left and oldest on the right

 

Me and my mom when I was 15 or 16

 

Me and my dad when I was about 19 (with Smokey)

 

So, I guess I wasted a lot of time obsessing over nothing cause if you really look at the pictues, I think there is NO doubt that we are all related.  Want to see what other people obsessed about? Hop on over to Mama Kat’s and the Writer’s Workshop and find out.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Adoption Obsession

  1. Kate says:

    Great pictures!

  2. Carol says:

    Who ever said that obsessions have to make sense? Love the pictures!

  3. Heather says:

    Kids can be so mean. I used to obsess about being motherless. I wasn’t too smart either! LOL!

  4. Jen says:

    I should say so, you totally came from that bunch. 🙂

  5. Ron says:

    Well….I’m looking at these photographs thinking, ” You all look like carbon copies of one another, there’s no way in hell you could be adopted.”

    Especially the one of you and Grandmother Harris!

    Same with my family. We all look like someone took a cookie cutter and made us!

    FAB photos! I’m loving the ones in the 70’s. I have several of those. Didn’t you love our clothes???

    Have a wonderful day, my friend!

    X

  6. Lindsey says:

    Isn’t it so much fun to look back at old pictures? Great post!

  7. Yup! You come by at honest! No doubt about that! Great photos, Peg.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Linda. I think you can kinda tell we’re related if you look REAL close and stand on one leg, and hold your right hand over you head and cross your eyes…. lol

  8. Jessica says:

    Oh wow – yes, definitely related! Great set of family photos.

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    Awe!! Ya’ll are all so cute. I just love looking at your old pictures. Definitely family!

    Funny, I always WISHED I was adopted and had another family. HA. Than again, I always pined for boarding school in another country too. Heh!

  10. terrepruitt says:

    Oh you are so silly. You know it has nothing to be with being smart or not . . . we are just very insecure and gullible when we are young. You got “got”! Poor thing. At least you can rejoice in who you are now!

  11. Miel Abeille says:

    I used to obsess over the same thing, only I was *hoping* to find out that I was adopted. Fortunately, unfortantely, I’m stuck with the family I was born with.

    Great writinG!

  12. Jimmy says:

    Hey Peg, The pictures are great and as you already know “You come by it honest” you look like the rest of the family.

    Your parents have been married so long that they even look related–I Love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

