Rapunzel’s Good Ole’ Country Boy

On Friday evening when I was in Virginia I decided to go to Rapunzel’s to check my email and blog, etc. As I was leaving my mom and dad’s a car pulled in and it was two of my dad’s oldest friends. Well, maybe not oldest, but they have known each other a LONG time. I think I have mentioned before how when I was younger and we lived in the trailer that my dad had a couple of friends that would stand outside my window (when they got drunk) and sing to me? Mostly Peggy Sue, but occasionally other songs. Well, these were those two. One of them has been divorced for years and the other one’s wife died of breast cancer about a year or so ago. They actually live in Virginia Beach but have been coming up to the country for years. They bought a piece of land years ago and built a “cabin” on it and have been visiting up there since I was a teenager (we all know that’s a LONG time). Here’s a picture of my dad and his two friends I took as I was leaving. The one on the left, Pat, actually asked me when I got so gray and I told him probably about the same time HE did. LOL But he replied “Yeah, but you’re supposed to just be a kid!” I’ll take that as a compliment, I think! 

My dad (center), with his friends Pat (left) and John (right)

So, I went on up to Rapunzels so I could try to hurry and get out of there before the people started coming in for whatever band they had coming in to play. I know they have live music on Fridays so I wanted to get in and get out. I ordered a coffee and I’m sitting there checking my emails and I notice people coming in and out and setting up for the “band” and what not. I look at the woman and recognize her as someone I went to high school with so I go over and chat with her. She actually grew up right across the road from where we are having my mom and dad’s 60th anniversary party later this month. Turns out she still lives right down the road and she actually married a guy that I graduated with (she graduated the year before me). I recognized her but she didn’t know who I was at first and her husband didn’t at all. I had to tell him. I mean it’s only been about 34 years since I’ve seen him! In all honesty I probably would not have recognized him either if Jackie (his wife) hadn’t told me. 

Turns out that the “band” playing that night was actually their son. A very talented young man by the name of Byron Massie. I actually ended up staying a lot longer than I planned listening to him. And added bonus, his dad, Billy that I graduated with plays dobro for him. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to them. Here is a picture of them onstage even though it didn’t turn out as clearly as I’d have liked. 

Billiy (left) with his son Byron (middle) and Bill Staton (right)

They had his CD Just Yesterday for sale there for 2 for $20 so I bought two and gave one to my parents. His mom, Jackie, told me that he wouldn’t mind if I blogged about him so here’s his shout-out. You can listen to his music on his myspace page at http://www.myspace.co/byronmassie and click the tab under the picture that says playlist. I think he has like 4 songs listed there. Jackie also told me he will be at The Commodore in Nashville in September at a Songwriter’s in the Round they have there. Oh, yeah… he writes his own music, duh. I really like his sound and he kind of transports me back to the country. According to his my space page he actually didn’t start playing guitar or writing songs until college which impresses me even more. 

If you need to know more about him I guess you can either contact him through his myspace page or you can email him at byronmassie14@hotmail.com. Please help this young man out by giving him a listen and maybe even buying his CD. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. 

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Rapunzel’s Good Ole’ Country Boy

  1. Jimmy says:

    Hey Peg,

    Just wanted to pop in and let you know we are still on the road but checking in.

    I love listening to live music like this, you just can’t go wrong sitting back and enjoying this type of talent 🙂

  2. Angelia Sims says:

    How cool is that?!? Right place at the right time.

  3. suzicate says:

    Great pic of Dad and J&P. I told you he was good after I listened to him on the Nelson website. Glad you ended up with an added bonus that night.

    • pegbur7 says:

      It was a triple delight. Got to conncect to the internet, a good cup of joe and got to listen to Byron!

      Hey I didn’t notice until just now that J’s shirt says “Country Boy”. How funny is that?

  4. Alaina says:

    That’s pretty cool! Lots of people you’re running into in one day. Now what kind of place is Rapunzels?

  5. How fun to run into people you know and get to listen to some good music! I love the photo of your Dad and his “drinking buddies”! Hah!

  6. NikNik says:

    Holy Cow J&P look old!!!!

  7. Ron says:

    “actually asked me when I got so gray and I told him probably about the same time HE did.”

    HHAHAHAHAHAHAHA….you GO, girl!

    Funny, because someone in my family asked me the same thing a few years ago while I was attending a funeral. I should have answered him the same way you did!

    Oh, what a fun time this sounded like, Peg! I think it’s so neat how you met up with your high school friend, and at the same time discovered her sons’ band!

    Have a MARVI Monday, my dear friend!

    X

  8. Sometimes, those small word chance encounters end up pretty nicely, huh?

  9. Hadassah says:

    Sometimes it’s nice when things don’t go as planned and the night takes a different direction. I’m glad you had a good time.

Leave a Reply

