Ode to Suki

Suki

 

My wandering feline 

Has finally come home 

I be really interested 

To find out where she roams 

She doesn’t look sickly 

Or too terribly thin 

But she only stays a day or two 

And then she’s gone again 

She does appear hungry 

And she will eat a lot 

But I worry where she’s been 

Since the weather has been so hot 

This time she’s been gone 

A little bit longer 

And each time she goes 

My fear gets stronger 

Where does she go 

Where does she stay 

Does she have another family 

When she goes away 

Does she have a tom cat 

That won’t let her come home 

Or is she out with her “girls” 

When her eye starts to roam 

I guess I should be happy 

That she still loves our family 

Cause she could just stay gone 

And leave us sad and lonely 

So for now I must be happy 

With the time that she gives 

And the happiness she brings 

To our family’s lives 

This post was inspired by one of Mama Kat’s prompts last week to write a poem about a furry family member.  This was for our Suki.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ode to Suki

  1. Mary Vareli says:

    how sweet and well written … you LOVE this cat.. (I love mine too)

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks and thank you for stopping by. Yes, I do love this kitty and all the other 5! But she is the only one that disappears for weeks at a time. This time she was gone almost a month.

  2. terrepruitt says:

    This is such a sweet ode. She is beautiful. You could buy her a camera?

    http://tinyurl.com/2apherb

    I cannot imagine not knowing where she has been for a month. Wow!

    • pegbur7 says:

      She has just started doing this the last few months. I mean, she’d leave and be gone like a few days and come home but never more than a week or two at the most. Then after #3 moved out she left and didn’t come home for like 3 weeks and stayed for a couple days and left again for like a month and she stayed a few days and left again and she’s been doing that ever since the beginning of May. It’s just SO WEIRD. She acts hungry but she’s not skinny and like starving. I might have to check out that camera thingy. Hubby thinks she’s searching for #3’s boyfriend because she thinks he belongs to her.

      • terrepruitt says:

        I think she might be looking too. She could be go further and further everytime.

        I know that pets have travelled to find their owners. And travelled back “home” when families have moved. So maybe she IS looking for him.

        I LOVE the camera-on-a-pet idea. How funny is that. I bet it would be surprising all that they do!

      • pegbur7 says:

        I actually did look at that but I think it said you could set it like every hour was the farthest apart you could set it and she’s usually gone about a month and I know the battery would be dead by then. I fear she’d lose it or it would make it hard for her to hunt she’s on her own for so long.

      • terrepruitt says:

        We need to find a different type of kitty cam for your little Suki!

      • pegbur7 says:

        Special kitty, special camera collar! lol

  3. Our cat Smokey is now 15. He’s been an inside kitty for the last 5 years and it’s sad that he can’t do all the things he used to, but I’d rather keep him in and keep him around longer. I love the ode to your fur baby. It really captures the essence “cat”, Peg. And she is a beauty!

    • pegbur7 says:

      We found her in the sewer drain at the end of the street abour 4 years ago when she was still a baby and I can’t keep her inside. I try but by about the third day she’s scratching the doors down to get out and when someone finally opens a door she darts out so quick it’s like she’s been shot out of a cannon!

  4. Ron says:

    Oh, Peg…she’s ADORABLE!

    LOVE that face!

    ((( Suki )))

    FAB poem (ode)….

    “Does she have a tom cat

    That won’t let her come home

    Or is she out with her “girls”

    HA! Love that!

    Hope you’re having a great Sunday, dear friend!

    X

  5. Kate says:

    Wonderful cat. I think mine would like her. They could be kitty friends!

  6. Angelia Sims says:

    Sweet Suki Sue!!

    Love her ode…and hope she comes home for good!!

Leave a Reply

