Flying Low

It’s been a little over a week since my trip up to Virginia.  When Hubby and I drive up together we usually leave early in the morning but this time I didn’t leave until a little before noon.  It turns out that it was pretty much the perfect time to leave.  I somehow skipped the morning rush hour traffic getting out of Atlanta and missed the rush hour traffic of Greenville/Spartanburg, Charlotte and Greensboro.  I’m not sure how in the heck I managed that but I’m glad it worked out. 

I also usually rent a car because if Hubby is with me, my car is really too small for him to be comfortable in (I have a ten year old VW Jetta and Hubby is almost 6’8”… not a good combination).  My car is also a manual transmission and Hubby does not “do” manual transmissions.  I tried to teach him once but a wife teaching her husband to drive a manual transmission is not a good idea.  Trust me on that one.   His vehicle has about  200,000 miles and we really don’t like taking a chance driving that many miles with the possibility of breaking down somewhere halfway (or even all way) between Atlanta, Georgia and Nelson County, Virginia.  I mention this because of all the times I/we have rented a car to take up there, this time I decide to drive my car and what happens?  As I’m driving under an overpass right outside of Charlotte, NC  (Belmont maybe?) on the way up there something fell off the overpass (I am assuming it fell and wasn’t thrown) and hit my windshield causing two separate starburst “cracks” in my windshield.  They are about an inch apart and right about forehead level so I’m hoping someone wasn’t intentionally trying to cause me harm.  If they were, ha, ha… you missed!  Guess I need to get to a glass repair shop.  Doesn’t it look lovely? 

Isnt it lovely?

 

Those spots are NOT part of the cloud

 

Shortly after that I noticed some pretty menacing looking clouds overhead and glanced down and saw I probably could go about another hundred miles before I needed gas but not knowing how long the storm would last I decided to go ahead and pull off for gas.  Thank goodness for my country upbringing and being able to somewhat read the clouds like that because literally, I had not even gotten back on the interstate when it started to rain.  It rained really, really hard for about 30 minutes or so (just enough to last through Charlotte of course) and stopped as quickly as it started. The rest of the trip looked like it might rain at any minute but it didn’t.  That was good though because it kept down the heat and glare.  

I think it's gonna rain!

 

more menacing clouds

 

HEY! Where'd everybody go? Rain starts and everyone disappears.

 

I stopped in the little town of Amherst because I had decided I would get my mom and dad some peach milkshakes and fried chicken for dinner at Hardee’s.  My mom loves their peach milkshakes.  As usual I was a day late and a dollar short because, of course, they no longer serve the peach milkshakes.  So I told the girl a the counter I’d take a chocolate one and a vanilla one.  My mom loves anything chocolate and I figured my dad would drink the vanilla one.  Then I ordered a “bucket” of fried chicken only to find out they also no longer do fried chicken so I had to get them chicken tenders instead.  Of course they were as slow as the seven year itch and then the girl sets the milkshakes down on the counter and I walk over and notice that one is vanilla and one is strawberry.  Hmmmnnnn, not quite what I ordered but then I remembered my dad does love strawberry so I just asked her to add some chocolate sauce to the vanilla one (as long as it was chocolate I knew my mom would drink it!) and I’d be good to go.  

So, after a “quick stop” of 30 minutes for fast food I was on my way.  In spite of that little “fiasco” I think I still made it pretty much in record time for me.  I walked in my parent’s house before 8 pm so it took me almost exactly 8 hours.  Not bad considering I’d stopped 3 times and once for 30 minutes.  My mom said they hadn’t expected me until at least 9 pm.  My dad asked how I got there so fast and I just grinned and said “I was flying low dad, just flying low!” 

Now if I could just say the same thing about my return trip home, but, that will be a post for another day.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Flying Low

  1. terrepruitt says:

    There was a time when I would be ok driving for that long, but at some point, I stopped being able to tolerate being in a car that long. WOW! Eight hours. It is GREAT that you stopped. It is better for you.

    I am sorry about your windshield. That is just the pits. It is so weird how stuff like that happens, huh? I just don’t get it. So that is when I have to believe there IS a reason even though I have NO IDEA what it could be, because that is just a huge bummer.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Terre. Yeeah, it sucks big time. Still haven’t taken it yet but my dad told me now there’s stuff they can put in there so you don’t even see it and it stops it from cracking! woo hoo!

  2. suzicate says:

    I know your driving (foot to the floor!) and you took pictures while driving? You scare me! I can not multitask like that! You really did make it in record time. Sorry about your windsield.

  3. Ron says:

    I’m looking at the photos of the sky and remembering what it was like to drive in Florida during the summer months, because that’s exactly how menacing they looked. And when it rains, it feels like the end of the world is coming. But the strange part is that as fast as it came, that’s how fast it ended. Suddenly the sun comes back out, and it’s over. But brother…is it scary driving through.

    “So, after a “quick stop” of 30 minutes for fast food I was on my way.”

    HAHAHAHAHAHHAAHA….ain’t that the truth!! I think it would be faster to sit down and have a 9-course meal!

    Hope you’re having a great Saturday, my friend!

    X

  4. NikNik says:

    “Flying Low?” Is that a nice way of saying you were driving like a bat outta hell? And I agree with Aunt Suzie- taking pictures while driving is a BIG no-no!!!! When I see someone texting while driving I honk my horn to get their attention and then shake my fist at them! Also, shop around for the windshield- there are guys that will come out to the house and replace it for pretty cheap!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I don’t text and drive. Snapping the picture was pretty easy and takes no attention. Just lift and click. Still paying attention to the road., mom…. LOL

  5. Sounds like a fun drive! I hope no rain leaked through those wicked cracks…

    And also… were you taking those pictures as you were driving on the freeway?! Naughty naughty :P.

    • pegbur7 says:

      My phone is very easy to just raise and set on the steeting wheel so it’s not like I’m distracting like I would be with texting. I don’t do that.

  6. eri says:

    Ahahahahaha nikki sounds like she YOUR mom! And she thinks shes not bossy….

Leave a Reply

