My (American) Idol(s)

So, Hubby and I are big dorks.  Yesterday we had tickets for the Idol concert.  Yes, that’s American Idol.  We have been watching the show for years and always say we are going to go to the concert. The last three years something has come up.  Two years ago, of course, was our oldest daughter’s wedding which of course was WAY more important.  I can’t remember what happened last year but it didn’t work out so this year we were determined we were going to go. SO, the morning the tickets went on sale hubby told me to go online and buy tickets because every year they have sold out.  Sadly, we could have waited and saved some money because this year they did NOT sell out.  In fact, as we were walking across the parking lot going into the concert some guys tried to sell us 8th row seats for $50 apiece. Front row seats he was selling for $70 which was what we paid, except we also paid all the other “fees” that go along with buying through Ticketmaster so it cost us about $80 a piece for lower level but not floor seats.  But our luck, if we had waited, they would have sold out. 

The concert was at the Gwinnett Arena which is about an hour’s drive from our house.  The concert started at 7:30 so we left our house around 4:30.  We figured we drive up early and get a great parking place near the edge of the parking lot and not get stuck in the long lines exiting the parking lot after the concert. As it turned out, since we were some of the first ones in, they made us park in the parking deck which was closest to the arena but farthest from the exits to the parking lot. Hubby did go back before we went in and turned it around so that it was backed in and we could just pull out.  

Restaurant we ate at before the concert

 

We went to Frontera to eat before the concert.  It’s a Mexican restaurant and it was really good.  So was the margarita I had.  We ate and by the time we finished it was about 6:45 which put us there about perfect time.  

Hubby walking into the restaurant

 

We sat next to a really nice couple from Roswell (GA not New Mexico) who told us they also went last year and really enjoyed it.  While we were waiting for the concert to start, Hubby said he was going to get a soda and me a bottled water but came back with a t-shirt for me.  I thought that was really sweet.  This is the front of the shirt he bought. 

Front of the T-shirt hubby bought me

 

The ones who came in 7 through 10 all sang 2 songs each. Then the two (Siobhan Magnus and Aaron Kelly) who came in 5th and 6th sang 3 songs each. Then after they all sang their songs they did a song with all of them together.  They had a intermission I think between the group song and Michael.  Then Michael Lynche (who came in 4th) sang 4 songs and so did Casey James who came in 3rd and then Michael and Casey sane the duet they sang on the show (When You Love A Woman) and did a great job. 

Then Crystal Bowersox came on.  She was Hubby’s favorite and he was mesmerized.  She sang a Melissa Etheridge (Come To My Window) and she did one where she played the harmonica AND guitar and sang all at the same time. I can’t even do ONE of those things by themselves.  VERY impressive.  And she got her teeth fixed so she looked really good and she said she “missed the poo” out of her little boy. I thought that was the cutest thing.  Then my boy Lee DeWyze came out and he was fabulous.  He has grown so much as an artist since the show.  During the show I thought he always looked kind of shy and uncomfortable and last night he actually looked like a seasoned performer.  And he sang one of my favorite songs of all time.  Here is my favorite rendition of my favorite song. 

Lee did a good job but he still doesn’t do it as well as Jeff Buckley.  Sorry Lee, you got a few more years to practice.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My (American) Idol(s)

  1. Still sounds like you had a great time at the show!

  2. suzicate says:

    So glad you guys had an awesome time!!!!!

  3. suzicate says:

    I am not familiar with Jeff Buckley, but I watched the video, and I like Lee better. I got chills when he sang it. The song is one of my faves, too!

    • pegbur7 says:

      If he had sang it like he did on the show I would have been much happier but they sped it up some so it wasn’t quite as moving. I do confess I teared up a bit still, but, the Jeff Buckley one makes me cry.

  4. Ron says:

    OMG Peg…can you believe I have NEVER seen one single episode of American Idol? I know, I should be excommunicated as an American! Everyone who watches though, says it’s the best!

    Sound like you guys had an awesome time.

    I too am not familiar with Jeff Buckley, but thoroughly enjoyed the video. Great voice, great song!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend!

    Have a great day!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think it’t the emotion on his face that gets me more than anything. I just love it. Next season you shall have to watch so you can be in the loop! LOL

  5. What a fun thing to do! I’ve never watched AI (fear of addiction), but I’m sure I would have like this show!

  6. Teri Smieja says:

    How fun that you got to go! I’m glad you had such a great time. Seeing AI live is on my mental list of things to do at some point. 🙂

  7. Sounds like fun 😀 I’m glad you finally got to go, Peg!

  8. I’m a huge American Idol fan. I just felt that with Simon leaving, the show continued to fall flat. I love Crystal and Lee and think they are very talented. Now the big shake up with Ellen leaving, Cara not having her contract renewed, etc…I wonder if it’s time to stop beating a dead horse or resuscitate. Hmmmm…That’s cool you got to see it live.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Poor Randy will have to be in the dawg house all by himself! Can you have a dogpound with only one dawg? LOL

      It was great. I think it’s a great vehicle for a lot of talented singers so I hope they get some good replacements… like Harry Connick, Jr.? That would float my boat!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Heather says:

    How neat! I watched most of this last season, but hubby doesn’t like it and has control over the remote, so it was hard to get to watch it. Crystal was my favorite from the beginning.

    Love the t-shirt!

Leave a Reply

