Camping Queen

Camping

 

This week’s Writer’s Workshop is to describe a memorable camping trip.  Other than camping out with about 2000 other women last October at the North Atlanta Apparel Mart during the Susan G. Komen 3 Day walk, I only remember two other camping trips my whole life.  Not that the 3 day walk and camping in those pink two man tents wasn’t memorable, it was.  It really wasn’t roughing it though. We had hot showers and someone else to cook our meals for us so it was rather easy.  Here is a picture of the inside of the mart with all our hundreds of hot pink tents: 

Pink tents - Susan G Komen 3 day walk Atlanta

 

Since both of my other trips were pretty memorable (the only ones I remember) I will touch on them both.  The first one was when I was probably only 4 or 5 years old.  If memory serves me, our whole family when camping out in the woods.  We didn’t pitch tents or anything and I don’t remember if we had actual sleeping bags (I really doubt our parents would have gone to the trouble of buying those for us unless it was absolutely necessary so I am pretty sure we probably just had quilts folded up on the ground.  What I do remember is that sometime shortly after “lights out” a snake crawled across my legs and I hightailed it to the car as quickly as I could.  I do remember that I locked the door so “the snakes” couldn’t get me not thinking about anyone else wanting to get in .  That was my one and onely “camping” trip as a child.  

When I was about 19 or 20, one of my best friends in North Carolina was a teacher and she was dating a guy who lived on Ocracoke Island.  Turned out he was a drag queen, but, that’s a WHOLE nother story.  One weekend she, my roommate and I decided it would be a great idea to go camping at Ocracoke. What WERE we thinking?  One of them borrowed a tent from one of their friends and somehow we scrounged up three sleeping bags and the necessary camping gear and we headed off to Ocracoke Island which was a few hours drive from where we lived.  

I’m not sure what Ocracoke is like now since I have never returned since our not so successful camping sojourn.  At that time  (and I am sure this part is still true, LOL) Ocracoke was an island that was about 7 miles long and 3 miles wide at the widest point.  I remember that the end with the “camp ground” was also the end where the wild ponies ran.  There was a little two lane road that ran the length of the island and there was a ferry on each end.  The end where the campground was on, you could literally see from one side to the other.  There was a small camp ground and the beach, next to the highway that led from the ferry and directly across the highway was the beach area where all the wild ponies kind of “lived”.  I remember the whole island only had a couple of restaurants, the camp grounds, one or two “gift shops” and maybe a small library and that was about it other than the residences.  The locals still spoke Elizabethan English.  I loved the quaintness of the island. 

We got to the island fairly late and it was already getting dark.  We struggled mightily but FINALLY between the three of us, none of whom were “campers”, we were able to erect the tent, albeit, it might have looked more like a “lean to” than a tent but it served the purpose of being shelter (for a little while).  As luck would have it, shortly after we settled down for the night, the rains began.  It rained and rained and the wind blew something fierce.  I think everything in that tent (including us) got drenched but we were not about to give up and admit we couldn’t do it. 

The next morning as we were struggling to light a fire so we could fix coffee, the guys in the tent next to us came over.  One of them said “Thank God you’re ok.  We were so worried about you guys making it through the night without that tent falling in on you.  Would you do us a favor and allow us to re-pitch your tent?”  I don’t think there were ever 3 more grateful girls alive than we were at that moment.  We made it through the weekend and even met some cute guys but after that, camping was not something that I ever cared if I EVER got to do again.  E.V.E.R……. 

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat and prompt 3.) Describe a memorable camping trip.  If you’d like to join in the fun, please go to Mama’s Losin’ It and check out all the other bloggers.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Stupid Stuff We've Done, Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Camping Queen

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    I think we shall re-name you – Queen of the hotel rooms! 😀

    Both stories were hilarious! I can’t believe you locked yourself in the car. And hey, the other camp story could inspire new dating pick-up tips. 🙂

  2. These are all the reasons my Hubs can’t convince me to go camping. The snake across the legs–that would have scarred me for life.

    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s.

  3. Alaina says:

    Personally, camping isn’t my cup of tea….my parents made us do it all the time when we were kids, and we’d go all over the place in our pop-up camper. It was alright, but I prefer hotel rooms, too. My idea of roughing it staying at a Holiday Innn 🙂

  4. Holly says:

    I love the pink tents!!!

  5. Ron says:

    “The locals still spoke Elizabethan English. I loved the quaintness of the island.”

    Yes, I would have loved that too!

    “Turned out he was a drag queen….”

    Oh, DO tell! HA!

    Hope you’re having a great time on your trip!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      ‘Oh Ron. It was hilarious! She kept saying he’s NOT gay. He just likes to dress in women’s clothes! It was too funny. Needless to say they are no longer together.

  6. I’ve only been camping once and it was enough to say “NEVER AGAIN!”.

  7. Never again, Peg. Words I live by! Why anyone does that I don’t know.

  8. Mama Kat says:

    Yeah I can think of a number of better ways to meet cute guys…let’s not try that again.

    And the pink tent fiasco looks like so much fun!!

  9. Jimmy says:

    I always loved camping myself but Cindy likes roughing it at a good quality hotel.

    I can just imagine the poorly pitched tent in the rain and I bet the appreciation of a good cup of coffee the next morning and the help of good people getting things set up properly made the next night a whole lot better.

  10. Heather says:

    Wow that island sounds like something I would like to see, I was seeing it in my mind and it looked wild and untamed. Especially with three girls that were roughing it! Thankgoodness there was some cute guys to give a helping hand.

  11. terrepruitt says:

    I used to love camping. When I was young my family used to go camping. It was AWESOME. I guess my mom made it look easy because I did it when I got older, then one day it dawned on me—its a lot of work. After working all week, I didn’t wanna deal with all that when I went on a “vacation”.

    I’m surprised y’all pictched tents in a building.

    • pegbur7 says:

      They pitched the tents for privacy. And for the cause. Since there was only one other person in your tent it was the most privacy you had. Men and Women were all sleeping in that big room. No way I was gonna change in the stinky portable toilet and the lines for the showers were really long to just change and the changing area there was communal too. So then was only privacy there was!

Leave a Reply

