Oh, Woe Is Me (Dentally)

So. I am sitting here in my living room Wednesday evening, blogging as usual, when I notice that my gum molar area on the right bottom side of my mouth feels a little “weird”.  I don’t even know how to describe it other than just weird.  Didn’t really hurt or anything just felt weird.  So I get up and go to the bathroom and realize that the crown is loose!  DAMMIT JIM! Another loose crown.  That makes what?  THREE this year?  I knew I was in for probably some extensive dental work later in life but dang…. Already? At this rate I’ll be toothless by 55.

I immediately called the dentist and made an appointment for yesterday afternoon at 3.  They said they would work me in.  I babied the area all Wednesday evening and yesterday morning/afternoon.  I finally get in to see him and he’s like, yeah, it’s REAL loose. He said he wanted xrays.  It was funny because his “regular assistant” was not the one who came in at first to take the xrays and stuff and when the regular came in she laughed and said when the other girl came back where they were and asked if he just wanted to take a normal xray because she thought it was going to be a simple re-cement of a loose crown, the “regular” one said she laughed out loud and said “You did say this was Peg, right? And since when is anything EVER normal with her?”  Truer words were never spoken. 

I asked him if he considered me a “difficult” patient of just a “challenging” patient. I guess that was kind of a loaded question but hey, I’m menopausal… sue me.  He said he definitely would NOT consider me a “difficult” patient but certainly “challenging” but not in a bad way.  SMART man!  He knows how to talk his way around a hormonal woman with a loaded question!

So he comes back in to pull the crown off and now it doesn’t want to come off.  Of course.  He’s pulling and pulling and finally it comes off…. With almost the entire tooth inside it!  Double Dammit Jim!  Didn’t leave him a WHOLE lot to work with and since that is like the 10th or 12th crown in my feeble little head and  NO teeth from that point back on that side of the bottom of my mouth there is absolutely NO stability left there.  I am assuming that is probably why it broke underneath and was loose to begin with since there is nothing to stabilize it on the other side.  I know it has been feeling “off” for a few days but it just starting feeling really weird.

He asked if I had heard a big crack or pop and I honestly don’t remember hearing/feeling anything like that but who knows.  I just know my options at this point are not exactly what I was hoping for.  Looks like my options are to either try to clean up what’s left of the tooth as best he can and TRY to attach a new crown to the tune of about $1,400 or implant, to the tune of probably 3 times that, or pull the tooth and get a partial which will take care of all the teeth I happen to be missing on the bottom for about $1,400 or $1,500.  I already have had a root canal on that tooth in the past and I really can’t see putting that much money into saving what little is left of that tooth since it’s so unstable and he can’t guarantee it will hold.  For now I had him just re-cement THAT crown back on what was left of the tooth.

I’m thinking my best option at this point, even though I know it’s always best to save any tooth that you can, is to wait until late December or January and pull the tooth and get the partial.  I’m just hoping I can make this “fix” of re-cementing the original crown temporarily will hold until then.  I have already almost exhausted my dental insurance for the year since this is the THIRD crown to be fixed/replaced this year and it starts over in January I can probably have insurance pay most of the partial if I can wait until then to have the broken tooth pulled. He told me that the insurance will most likely not cover it unless I have the tooth pulled at the time we do the partial.

So any ideas or opinions out there that my astute bloggy friends want to share that might be an option I didn’t think of? I don’t think I’m gonna be winning the lottery this weekend so unfortunately money IS a large factor.  You know I appreciate all your input.  I shall gingerly await your comments full of profound wisdom because I sure need it right now. I go back in two weeks… IF this fix lasts that long.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Just Stupid Stuff We've Done, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Oh, Woe Is Me (Dentally)

  1. Ron says:

    Oy vey, Peg…if anyone knows how you feel right now it’s me! Even though my recent tooth incident has healed, I will now have to go back to the dentist so he can figure out what to do with the crown. I’m so hoping he can save it.

    I’m like you, I have several old crowns that over the past years have been needing attention.

    The only profound wisdom I can give you is….don’t eat any twizzlers right now, they’re not the safest thing for old crowns – HA!

    Have a great weekend, my dear friend!

    X

    Hope

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks. Funny thing is we WERE eating twizzlers the day before and that is probably what did me in! LOL but they are so GOOD. Yeah, he specifically said NOT to eat anything sticky or chewy and that pretty much describes twizzlers, huh?

      Hope you’re having a great weekend.

  2. suzicate says:

    Try to hold onto it as long as you can. When I worked for Dr. D, that was the hardest thing ever for people to get used to having a partial in thier mouths. I am so sorry you have another tooth problem.

  3. If there’s anything out there that scares me more than a trip to the dentist, I don’t know what it is. Fortunately, I force myself to go and therefore have been able to keep my teeth (except the wisdom). That said, crowns, root canals, etc., are so horribly expensive that can make you cry. Still, I get them and somehow manage to pay for them. Keeping teeth is the best answer, Peg, but what ever you end up doing, it’ll be okay.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Linda. It’s just that it’s broken off almost to the gum so it almost seems pointless especially if he says it’s so unstable already.

  4. Angelia Sims says:

    Luckily my dentist works right by Oakcliff a very poor part of town and is very cheap! I got a crown for $300.00.
    My mom had all false teeth by age 39. My dad had all his teeth pulled at age 13. That’s right 13.
    I am very afraid of the dentist. Next month I am 39, so at least I am making it longer than mom.

    Definitely do a liquid diet and don’t grind your teeth at night. 🙂

    They don’t need much tooth to get a crown on. I’d say try that. See if he will do a 1/2 porcelain 1/2 something else. Those are cheaper.

    Heck, you might even wait out the recemented one and see how long you get on it.

    • pegbur7 says:

      There is no tooth behind that one so ne really doesn’t think it will hold long. There was already a root canal and a post in it so I am gonna ride this recemented one as long as I can. I am hoping it will last at least until January. Hopefully I won’t have to make a decision until then.

      13 years old??? DANG. I guess I should feel better.

  5. Keely says:

    Oh, man. That sucks. I have crappy teeth too, plus I’m a ‘clencher’ (as opposed to a grinder) so fixes don’t last long. I’ve only got two crowns though, knock on wood.

    And to answer your question on my blog (because you don’t have email enabled and I couldn’t find an addy here), I read that drug companies do market and have branded bio-identicals. So they’re out there and FDA approved. The problem comes when a doc needs to mix & match and ‘customize’, that’s when the FDA gets all uptight about them. I say ask your doc!

  6. Heather says:

    I got partials about ten years ago and with what little teeth I had left, I ended up having to have a crown on one of them. My bottom partial has never fit since then. Plus..my upper partial has damaged the teeth they hold on to. From what I can tell your teeth may be just as bad as mine, just be careful with the idea of partials. Extra plus..I never did learn to eat with my partials.

    On another note..I woke up friday morning with my last tooth on the upper left side just sitting on my tongue, not in its designated area for sure!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Poor baby! You do sound like we have similar teeth woes. I’m really battling with this partial thing. I can’t afford implants to replace the missing teeth.

Leave a Reply

