My Way or the SegWay?

So, this week while I was in Savannah, I got to cross another item off my bucket list!  I’m hoping the universe isn’t trying to tell me something like you better hurry and do this stuff while you still can…. I’m hoping it just means that by actually putting the stuff I want to do “out there”  it’s getting heard and therefore I can act on it and get it done. 

 I actually don’t even remember how the conversation came up.  I know at breakfast I had mentioned to one of the other couple who were staying at the inn and who are from California that I had recently crossed off my “bucket list”  touring Biltmore Estates in Ashville, NC.  The wife Tracey suggested that now that I have that slot open I should replace it with “touring Hearst Castle”.  I think I was relating this to Allison the Inn manager while we were working on the sales tax report and I mentioned that another of my “bucket list” items was in Savannah (or could me) and one day when I came down I was going to cross off another one.  She asked what it was and I replied “I’ve always wanted to ride a Segway! I always see the cops riding them  in the Atlanta airport and they just look like SO much fun so one time when I’m down here I’m gonna do it because I know they have that Segway rental place right down from J Christophers on Liberty.” 

 She said “Yeah, I’ve seen those. They DO look like a lot of fun. I’m gonna call them.” 

Here’s their link:  http://www.segwayofsavannah.com/ 

 So, she runs off and calls the lady and tells her she has a couple of consierges that want to do the tour so they can be able to tell the guests that come in what it’s like and the lady tells her to come on.  They have a tour starting in like five minutes so we might miss part of the tour but we can catch up with it. 

Allison gets off the phone and says ‘Let’s go!” Then she asks Andrea who works there at the inn if she wants to go so she can tell guests about it and Andrea says “I always make fun of people on those things. I don’t know….”  Allison tells her lets go anyway so I change shoes and we ran over (it’s only about 6 blocks or so from  the Inn) and the tour was just leaving.  We watched out little 5 minute video, signed our releases and Andrea was the first one to hop on!  The Segway lady worked with each of us individually for about 5 minutes each and then took us out back to teach all three of us to “go up hills” and down ramps and stop and cross streets and then she zoomed us up to catch up with the tour.  We caught like the last 30 minutes of the tour and it was absolutely fabulous!  I asked Andrea how she liked it since she had always made fun of people doing it before and she was like “OMG… I want to do it again!  I keep seeing people look at me when I roll by and I just go I know you’re making fun of me but I’m the one having the fun now!”  

Andrea up and running first

 

 Let’s suffice it to say we all three had a BLAST!  And it’s not nearly as hard as I thought it was going to be.  The weirdest part or I guess hardest to get used to is that your feet get TIRED because you’re just standing still. You’re not moving them around and even sitting you’re not used to keeping your feet in one spot and not moving them and even though you are moving (on the Segway) you are keeping your feet stationary.  That part was kind of weird.  If I lived in Savannah, I think I would so sell one of our vehicles and buy one!  I think if we lived in Savannah I’d end up walking most places anyway or riding a moped or something and that is WAY more fun and easier and cheaper in the long run. 

Before my "lesson"

 

 Of course I grilled the lady on all the specifics. She said they cost about $5,800, their tires last about 20,000 and their batteries about 12,000 (or maybe I have that backwards?).  The battery lasts all day no matter how much they use it and they plug them in overnight to recharge the batteries.  She said you  don’t even have to have insurance on them like you do for a car or motorcycle! How cool is THAT?  Only think is they have no trunk or storage space so that would kind of suck as far as carrying anything.  BUT… I’m sure I’d figure something out.  And it’s not like a bike or motorcycle or scooter where when you stop you have to put one foot down to steady it or hold it up.  You can just “hover” in place or kind of rock back and forth without having to get off of it and they are surprisingly easy to maneuver and navigate.  It only takes a space a little wider than it is to do a complete 360 degree turn.  And you don’t have to back up, pull up, back up to turn around.  

Outta my way world! Here I come!!!

 

 Basically you get on one (for lack of a better term, I’d use mount) like a ladder.  Grab the handlebar (don’t pull it toward you or push it) and I found it easier to do with one hand so I wasn’t tempted to push or pull it, step up with one foot and then the other.  To turn right you lean to the right; to turn left, lean left;  to back up, lean back; to go forward lean forward and not too FAR…. Just barely. To turn around either lean (again not way over, it’s more just shifting your weight) to either side and kind of put pressure on the same side of the handlebar.  MUCH easier than riding a bicycle.  It’s not to say you couldn’t wreck one and as clumsy as I am, I am surprised I didn’t!  But we didn’t and we learned a lot of history too while we were on the tour!  Win-win situation and I can’t wait to do it AGAIN!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to My Way or the SegWay?

  1. Jimmy says:

    I have seen those around but have never been on one, it looks like you had a blast 🙂

    Great post with a lot of good info, Thanks Peg

  2. Ron says:

    Yeeeeeeehaw!

    OMG, Peg…that looks like soooooooo much fun! I’ve seen those over at the Art Museum area here in Philly and watched people on them, but never even thought to try it myself. Now, after reading this post and seeing you ladies on them, I’m gonna have to do it!

    Glad to hear they’re not that hard to drive, because it looks like they would be. To balance them.

    Thanks for sharing, my dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ron, as uncoordinated as I am if I can do it….anyone can. It was SO much fun. I went around the rest of the time we were there telling everyone they had to try it. If we lived in Savannah, I think I’d definately invest in one instead of driving a car around.

  3. terrepruitt says:

    Woohooo! One more thing down. I am glad you had a great time. I am so happy you got pictures. You are just jammin’ on your list.

    Let me know when you are in CA to see Hearst Castle. I have been wanting to go. Wouldn’t that be wild? If we met up there? Ha!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I guess that will have to be a future plan. Then you and Linda and I could go, although I’m not sure how far she is from there either. Heck I don’t even know what part of the state it’s in!

  4. Okay, I confess, I always laughed at the people on SegWays too… But your description of it makes it sound so fun that now I’ve got a burning little desire to try one too!
    Sounds like a fabulous day!

  5. Kristie says:

    Hey there! Loved your post.

    I couldn’t tell from your info if you were from Atlanta or not, but if you ever get the itch to ride a Segway again, City Segway Tours of Atlanta has tours daily! We are located right by Centennial Olympic Park and the aquarium.

    🙂

    Kristie

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Kristie! I actually live on the west side of Atlanta but worked in midtown and Buckhead for years so I am very familiar with the area you are talking about. I might have to come and check you out! I absolutely fell in LOVE with it!

  6. Angelia Sims says:

    Weeee! Look at you go! Awesome! That is so cute and what a fun thing to do. Now I want to ride one!

    I told you Hearst castle is amazing. Do put it on your list and add – drive up Hwy 1 to Big Sur and Monterrey Beach too. 🙂

  7. Heather says:

    I have seen them on tv, but never in person. It does look like lots of fun! Glad you got to mark another thing off the list, but like you said “I hope it doesn’t mean anything”.

    To me it means you have an interesting life and manage to get out in the world.

  8. Omigod, I so want to go on one! We have segway tours in Sanibel and one day, I will do it. This totally counts for Spin Cycle! You’re linked!

  9. Patty says:

    How fun! Good for you for trying something you have always wanted to. Sometimes I talk myself out of trying new things. I need to stop that!

  10. Kate says:

    That looks like so much fun!!

Leave a Reply

