Always and Forever

  

Wedding Song

 

Always and Forever. That’s how everyone goes into marriage I think. Well, I LIKE to think everyone goes into marriage thinking that. It would be a sad state of affairs for someone to go into marriage thinking “Ok, I can’t wait to get this done so I can go get it annulled!” although I am sure there are a few that do. But for those who get married for all the right reasons, I would think that would be how they would think about it. That was what we chose for our wedding song. Of course it was a very popular song back in the day which is when Hubby and I got married. The name of the group was Heatwave. 

Here are the words: 

Always and forever each moment with you 

Is just like a dream to me that somehow came true 

And I know tomorrow will still be the same 

‘Cause we’ve got a life of love that won’t ever change and 

(Chorus) 

Everyday love me your own special way 

Melt all my heart away with a smile 

Take time to tell me you really care 

And we’ll share tomorrow together 

I’ll always love you Forever, forever 

There’ll always be sunshine when I look at you 

Something I can’t explain just the things that you do 

And if you get lonely phone me and take 

A second to give to me that magic you make and 

Chorus 

Forever, Forever 

Loving you is the thing that I plan 

For a very long time 

Me and you, you and me, we as one 

Here’s the link to it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qiI42aZ5F40 

 

Now, is that not THE perfect wedding song? Now our wedding may not have been fancy and perfect and our marriage has not ALWAYS been perfect but we’re still going strong after almost 29 years. I don’t know if the wedding song had anything to do with it but I’m sure it didn’t hurt and sometimes when things haven’t always gone so well, I will stop and think about those lyrics and what they meant to me then and what they should always mean to me and to anyone taking that plunge. Oh, and for your viewing amusement, here are a couple of pictures of us dancing to that song at our wedding. 

Dancing to Always and Forever

 

First dance as husband and wife

 

Did you know that song was like 6 mintues LONG?

 

6 minutes is a L O N G time when everyone is watching you!

 

 DANG…. That WAS a long time ago… 

This is for your amusment - my brother cut Hubby's head off in almost every picture!

 

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat and her Writer’s Workshop and prompt #1.) Write about your wedding song. What was it and why did you choose it? The reason we chose it was because it was exactly how we felt at the time and it conveys those feelings exactly and it still makes me cry when I hear it. 

If you’d like to play along with Mama Kat’s weekly writer’s workshop, click here to find out how.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Always and Forever

  1. Heather says:

    Great song, beautiful song! Yeah, six minutes of eyes watching would have creeped me out!
    I would hate to see what you would consider fancy! I mean you had the white dress, he had the tux, plus you danced! All elements together plus big love, I’m sure will keep your marriage Always and Forever!!

    Great post!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Heather. I meant we didn’t have it catered or have it at a Big fancy place, it was just outside by the lake where we lived. We didn’t have a lot of guests, no formal invitations. It was just kind of simple and intimate.

  2. dwight says:

    Every time I here this song,I think of you. You are the best wife ANY man could ask for. You were so beautiful on that day and you are still the most beautiful woman of my life. You could have a better husband,but I couldn’t have a better wife! Love Dwight
    P.S. please call Douglasville Repair, I got alot of dust in my eyes today!!

  3. Alaina says:

    Aw, beautiful pictures! And you’re right…6 minutes is a really long song for people to be watching you. Ours is about 3 1/2 minutes, which is just long enough for me 🙂

    I love hearing about people who are successful in keeping their marriage going strong…it gives me hope as I’m about to enter my own!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Just go into it with the belief that divorce is NOT an option and that any problems you have you WILL talk about and work out. You both really have to give more than you take and be willing to put the other person first. It’s a full time job but one worth keeping! Not always easy but always fulfilling.

      I am so happy for you.

  4. Pamela says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.
    “Always and Forever” … that song is the best! Even though that wasn’t our wedding song, it’s really the song I will always think of as “our song”. Not sure why we didn’t pick it back then, but it’s the ringtone on my cell phone when my husbands calls now!

  5. Pamela says:

    Oops — I mean “husband” as in singular … yikes!

  6. How sweet! I like that song too, but will now always think of you when I hear it! (I listen to the soft hits a lot during the day. Good for stress!)

  7. KLZ says:

    An excellent choice of song to reflect on when things are getting tough…or when they’re going great. Nice choice!

  8. Spot says:

    The post was beautiful, the pictures are great, and the sentiment amazing. But Dwight’s response made me cry. So wonderful to have such a great example of two people who’ve not only made marriage work but are still so in love. I hope your girls understand what a gift it is to have such a shining example of a good relationship! You guys rock!

    ♥Spot

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Stacey. I hope they do too. When #3 would say “yuck” if we kissed or hugged in front of her I told her she should be happy she had two parents who still loved each other!

  9. Ron says:

    Oh, you ROCK, Peg!

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this song! And it was so great hearing it again. It brought back so many wonderful memories for me!

    Great photos too. You and Dwight makes the BESTEST couple ever!

    29 years! Brava to you both!

    Always and forever….

    X

  10. Lindsay says:

    Nice to “meet” you and thank for stopping by to read my post! This is such a sweet song and I love how you reflect on it when things get tough to keep it in perspective 🙂

    If you’re still in Savannah, have some shrimp and grits for me, please! I heart Savannah and can’t wait to go back!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Nice to “meet” you too. Savannah is actually one of my favorite cities. I had “gouda grits” Monday morning for breakfast but had to come home Tuesday nihgt. I did have shrimp Tuesday night though so does that count? My hubby makes the best shrimp and grits EVER. 🙂

  11. What extraordinary and beautiful photos! And I’ve always loved that song.

  12. Angelia Sims says:

    Great song and you two look so beautiful and happy. Just like you do now! 🙂

  13. Katie says:

    Love your post – the pictures were so fun to look at! Thanks for sharing.

  14. terrepruitt says:

    Oh, Peg, that is just so special.

    I love it.

    I love the pictures. I bet your brother feels bad about chopping hubby’s head off. I bet he just wasn’t used to his tallness.

    Congrats for the 29 years. No easy feat!!!

    My hubby and I aren’t even at half that!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It really was funny because of course back then there was no digital so we didn’t even realize it until we got the pics back and almost everyone my brother took cut the top of hubby’s head off. Of course Hubby thought my brother didn’t like him and was doing it on purpose but my brother said exactly what you did. He just wasn’t used to someone that tall and my brother said he was concentrating on ME since I was the bride and his sister and just wasn’t paying attention. I guess that’s sweet? LOL

  15. Pingback: I Did, I Do, and I Will « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

