Comcastic!

Another rant!

So I am sure some of you remember my little situation with the family film guy that has been going on for a while now. Well, today I got a phone call that I think tops even that.  First off remember that I lost my voice about a week ago and I still don’t have it back yet so it’s kind of hard to communicate by phone but I figure if it’s sales call I can get them off the phone quickly because THEY will be frustrated by their lack of communication skills at the moment.  Plus we are on that National Do No Call Registry so we are not supposed to get sales calls so I always try to catch them and remind them NOT to call me back and bother me.

So I’m sitting minding my own business and my phone rings.  The lady on the other end informs me she is calling on behalf of Comcast Cable and since we just switched to Direct TV from DISH I figure “big brother” already knows that and is trying to get in on the action.  Trying to save her breath, my voice and my ears I quickly cut her off at the pass and tell her I appreciate her call but that we ARE on the “Do Not Call” registry to which she replies “Well, that doesn’t apply here since this is a collection call.”

EXCUSE ME?? WTH did you just say? Collection call?? We have not had Comcast Cable since several years BEFORE we moved out of our old house and into this one.  We have had TWO, not one but TWO companies for television service in the interim.  What the heck was she talking about?  So, as politely as I could, I asked her to please back up and explain what the heck she was talking about.

She proceeds to tell me she’s “not sure” what the balance was for but she was showing a “past due” balance of $106 for unreturned equipment and if we don’t pay it they are going to charge our “account” up to $558 for the equipment.  Id’ like to know what account they are going to charge since I haven’t had one with them for YEARS.  When I ask for a specific name for said equipment she tells me she isn’t Comcast she is just calling “on their behalf” and if I have questions I need to take it up with Comcast. 

Ok, now…. Let me get this straight.  YOU don’t work for Comcast and you have NO IDEA what they say I owe $106 for, much less the $558 you say they are going to charge my non-existent account, BUT, you expect me to whip out my credit card and just give you $106 just because you say so?  Ummm, my mama didn’t raise no fool!  At least not me anyway.  She was able to give me an account number and a phone number to call Comcast directly which I did.  The lady, Ms. Williams, that I spoke with was very nice but not much more helpful.  She gave me the same information and when I asked her when these charges were stemming from she at first said “Oh, I show 1993”.  To which I replied “And you’re just getting around to calling me about this?”  I don’t even have any furniture I owned back in 1993 so how am I supposed to have a “piece of equipment” that she has now told me is a converter box and having moved across town over a DOZEN years AFTER this?  Then she says “Oh, I’m sorry…. It wasn’t 1993, that was when you STARTED service with us. You cancelled your service in April of 2002.” 

Oh, that makes it so much easier.  I explained to her that I do remember taking all the remotes and converter boxes and cables and everything else that anything to do with Comcast and taking it by their OLD office that they haven’t been at for like 5 or 6 years at least and speaking with the lady at the front desk and leaving the grocery bag with the equipment on the counter.  She assured me she would make note on my account and research the matter.  First, I don’t HAVE an account there anymore.  Second, how are you gonna “research” when you aren’t even in the same building anymore and I don’t lived in the same house? 

Are companies so hard up for money now that they have to go back through their archives to contrive stories to extort money from former customers?  I’m sorry, I just don’t get it.

I was asked during the phone call if I’d like to participate in a survey for customer service to which I replied no.  Ten minutes later my phone rings and it’s an automated prompt telling me they are giving me another chance to participate in the survey.  So I hang up on it.  Ten minutes later they call me back AGAIN to participate in the survey.  Does anyone out there know how to convey to an automated service to EFF off?

And while we’re on the automated service subject…. I ordered something over the phone the other day from any automated service.  I had NEVER ordered anything from this company before in my life.  I did NOT give them ANY information yet they were able to spit my address out to me and ask me if this was the correct address to ship my product to.  This was an AUTOMATED service.  I never spoke to a person or had input any information at that point. Now I don’t know about you , but to me?  THAT is scary!!!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Comcastic!

  1. Janet says:

    Thise kinds of calls are so frustrating. I am also on the national DNC Registry, but still get a few calls. I have started LOUDLY demanding to know why they are calling me. When they don’t answer, I get louder and demand to know the answer again…then they hang up on me! Imagine that! (I figure if they can be rude enough to call me at home and interrupt my family time, I can be rude in return.) Like you, I think they are on fishing expeditions….trying to hook a fool.

    Peggy, why don’t you see if you can get a newspaper column???

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m flattered that you think I could do that but I don’t think anyone wants to pay me to write for them! I wish I could! That would be a dream job for me!

      I have a friend that when people call them like that they tell them they are eating dinner and if they’d kindly give them their name and home number and what time they eat dinner they would gladly call them back. I thought that was hilarious.

  2. Ron says:

    Do you know what I think?

    I think ALL these companies sell their customer information to other companies – that’s how they get our information.

    And please, let’s not even talk about the automated voice service that is virtually used by every company. I mean, is possible to talk to a human being anymore? And if it is, why does it take so long to get them on the phone? And HOW do you get them on the phone?

    You’re right, Peg…it’s SCARY.

    Hope you’re enjoying a FABU Saturday!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Sorry for the tardy reply. I’ve been out of town and just got back and I had an ABSOLUTELY fabu weekend! Got to see two very dear friends that I’ve known about 25 and 30 years respectively and don’t see often enough and I FINALLY got to go see Biltmore! Yippee!!!

  3. LOL! Peg, that’s one of those “you can’t get there from here” conversations. But I bet they will follow up the phone call with a written request for the $106. Damn!

  4. suzicate says:

    Absolutely crazy. I think ron is right, they probably sell the info to other companies.

  5. terrepruitt says:

    Remember the list doesn’t keep companies that you have a relationship with from calling you. And now-a-days so many companies have affiliates and are connected that it could be we don’t even realize we have a “relationship” with one company because we are actually working with an entirely different company that is a “relative” of them. That could also possibly explain how a company you never ordered from had your information because they could be connected to a company you DO do business with. With computers now-a-days anything and everything can be connected.

    Regarding Comcast: I would think that any type of equipment that was from eight years ago wouldn’t be worth anything. It also seems like they are spending more than $106 trying to get their $106. I think that people are just bored, so companies try to find stuff for them to do.

    I rarely even answer my home phone. We don’t have caller ID and if it is someone that really wants to talk to ME they can leave a message and I will call them back or they can call my cell. Otherwise it is political garbage and automated messages. Its my phone I can answer if I want to.

    Happy Fourth of July to you and your fabulous family!!!!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Terre! It WAS fantastic! We were in Wilmington at a friends how and they did a fabulous party and fireworks. He’s supposed to send me a link to the fireworks and if I can get it to work I’m gonna post it.

  6. It’s Big Brother – he’s watching, all the time. Okay, no, seriously, I’m not trying to freak you out, but in this day and age it’s so easy [not for me or you maybe, but for companies and people with the know-how] to figure out SO MUCH about us from the information we have online and on our cellphones.

    But, yeah, about companies and this whole a-million-years-later “dept” collection? I think that’s just sort of a must for any company. No company is complete without the little ferrets that find this stuff in their backlogs…

    • pegbur7 says:

      Finding stuff is fine, so why can’t they (their little ferret) find the stuff I actually left with them (the equipment) instead of a bill I don’t owe? LOL

  7. Jimmy says:

    That is scary Peg, I too think the companies sell our information amongst themselves and most are scrambling to get funds anywhere they can 😦 too bad they can’t be stopped from pestering us.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Drives me crazy, Jimmy! Or should I say “er”? Thought about you over the weekend as we were in Moore and driving through Easley to Wilmington. Hubby wanted to know if you went to Byrnes High or played sports in that area?

  8. Hadassah says:

    Hi Peg! Big Brother’s reach keeps getting longer and longer… YIKES!!

    Pestering… I love that word, Jimmy!!

  9. Jason says:

    Grrrrr! This kind of stuff is so maddening!

  10. Heather says:

    I had that same problem with the phone company awhile back and the collection agency was very unhelpful.
    I sure hope it’s not that the company is hurting for money, or we all better watch out for any little tiny thing. I’m like you..I don’t even have hardly anything from way back then.

Leave a Reply

