I Thee (RE)Wed

I Thee Re-Wed

Look at this picture and tell me what you see?
What does it make you feel? Who do you really see?

Wedding Cake Hubby made for Mom & Dad's 50th anniversary

Do you see the woman who is standing there?
The one who is older with the gray in her hair?
Or do you see the girl that she used to be?
When she was 15 and fancy free?
Not a care in the world, no bills, no kid,
No husband to look after to do his bid.
The wedding was hurried, there were plans to make
Who thought it important to plan for a cake?
What I see is a woman looking back on her life
And those fifty years as a mother and wife.
Not with regret or with any bad feeling,
But an emotion filled heart that sends her head reeling.
The meals she’d prepared, the mouths she had fed
The thoughts of raising all six of her kids
The boo boos she’d kissed, the broken hearts mended
The dishes she’d washed and the gardens she’d tended
The number of times she’d had to say no
The way she had felt as she watched them each go
Feeling pride and sorrow, diametric anomalies
As each one left to raise their own families
We thought and thought about what to gift her.
A book, a plaque, or was there something better?
I had told hubby the story of her cake,
Or lack thereof with many plans to make.
Then we hit upon the idea that fit perfectly
Her wedding cake for her anniversary
So 50 years later who would have thought,
The tears of joy such a simple act brought?
So that is what you really see
That 15 year old girl she used to be
Gazing upon the cake of her dreams
And thinking back on that day or so it seems.
The cake her son in law made with such care
Because of his love and honor to share
This special day that not many get
But this isn’t their last, by far, not yet.
Life doesn’t always happen like you plan
But you run the race the best you can
You do what you can with the hand that you’re given
Hope for the best and just keep on living.
So if we’re lucky enough to make it to fifty
I hope our kids think of a gift just as nifty!

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop and prompt #2.) Write a poem about a picture. Thanks Kat!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to I Thee (RE)Wed

  1. suzicate says:

    Peggy, that is a lovely poem. So fitting for the picture as well. Bless D’s heart, that cake really touched her

  2. What a wonderful gift! That wedding cake is something else! You and your husband are darlings! What a life your Mom has had! I love the poem. A truly marvelous occasion!

  3. Erin says:

    That is amazing! What a wonderful poem.
    Made me tear up thinking how good things come to those who wait, even if the wait is 50 years!

  4. Jen C. says:

    That is one incredible cake your husband made for your mom! Wow! And that poem….it’s so sweet and written with so much love for your mom. It made me tear up too. Wow….you and your husband are just…wow.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Jen. My husband is very talented. He made oour daughter’s wedding cake too! Thanks for stopping by.
      You live in Tokyo? My mother in law lived ther for years. I think she lives in Nagasaki now though.

  5. That’s a really sweet gift. It must have really made your mum’s day seeing the wedding cake.

  6. Tiffany says:

    That was a wonderful poem.

  7. LisaF says:

    Peg, what a lovely poem to commemorate this occasion. It really captures the essence of fifty years of marriage and the journey of one girl to woman.

  8. Ron says:

    Oh, Peg….this poem got me all teary-eyed!

    Especially this part…

    “That 15 year old girl she used to be
    Gazing upon the cake of her dreams.”

    I could actually SEE that on her face as you said it!

    This photo speaks a thousand words.

    And you said it so beautifully!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend!

    X

  9. Wow, just wow! I loved the poem! Perfect beat too. It goes so well with the picture.

  10. Angelia Sims says:

    You are so talented! Perfect poem for this photograph. 🙂 Incredibly sweet in all ways.

  11. Jimmy says:

    What a wonderful poem and what a beautiful cake for such a glorious occasion, I am impressed by the both of you for causing and capturing the moment shown in her face.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Jimmy! Can’t wait for August and the 60th anniversary party! They aren’t renewing the vows this time but I know hubby has some great grub plans up his sleeve!

  12. Heather says:

    Ahh, so it is a family of poets! This poem was so sweet and told a fabulous story. I really loved it! Your hubby is a gifted man, mine can barely make a sandwich!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Heather but my so called poetry can’t hold a candle to SuziCate. I make do in a pinch and that’s it.

      My hubby is a wonderful cook and I don’t think there is anything he can’t make (unfortunately for my waist line).

  13. What an absolutely beautiful poem, and a beautiful tribute! You made my eyes tear up… I’m so glad you posted this.

  14. terrepruitt says:

    Oh. That poem had me crying and laughing at the same time. Very cute!

  15. Teri Smieja says:

    WOW! What a wonderful poem! I absolutely loved, LOVED it!! I had no idea you were a poet too! I’d love to see what else you come up with. Just wonderful.

Leave a Reply

