Come On Over and See Me, Big Boi

Hubby has worked in the hospitality industry since we got married.  He has managed a few different types of restaurants but still at each has managed to meet several celebrities.  The restaurant he works at now is on the south side of Atlanta, not too far from the airport.  

Between this restaurant and the last two chains that he has worked for he has met people like Alex Haley.  Alex Haley came into his restaurant when we lived in New Orleans and hubby said he was a very nice man.   He’s met Jeff Foxworthy several times and he’s had numerous sports figures come into his restaurants to eat (Tim Hudson, Phil Nekro, Jack Kramer).  He’s met Tony Hawke and lots of the Braves and Falcons players. When he used to work in Alabama, his store was just down the road from the Talladega Speedway so he met LOTS of race car drivers.  I know Tyler Perry regularly eats at one of the restaurants he used to be at (and they all rave at what a nice man he is).  Lots of singers (Luther Vandross, The Neville Brothers and Ciara was supposed to have a private party but was a no show).  And for some reason, I guess because of his location, he has also met several rappers (T I, Pretty Boy, Gucci Mane, Ludicris, Andre 3000, Big Boi) especially when they had the HipHop Awards here in Atlanta.  One of the funniest stories, I think, came from one of those encounters. 

He tries to give celebrities that he notices in his restaurant privacy if that is what they want (some of them WANT to be noticed) and tries to keep the general public away from at least until they finish eating so that they can enjoy their meal in relative peace.  The restaurant he is at now is very large. It seats I think close to 500 people and has like 5 separate dining rooms so I guess the fact that you can reserve a private dining room makes it more appealing to some people that they will be left alone and have some privacy to have a meal with family or party with friends. 

Hubby is not always good with names or who “celebrities” are.  He knows his sports figures, but movie stars or people in the music industry he doesn’t always know and sometimes he’ll call me and say “Now who is that guy that sings……?”  And I will need to play twenty questions with him and finally figure out who it is he’s talking about.  This particular time the conversation went something like this (not word for word because I can’t remember but you get the gist). 

Big Boi performing in 2006 in Atlanta, Georgia

 

 Hubby:            Hey, honey. We’re having a private party for some rapper and I can’t remember his name. 

Me:                  Can you be a little more specific? That doesn’t tell me much. 

Hubby:             He sings with another rapper. 

Me:                  Again, that doesn’t tell me much.  Do you know anything they sing? 

Hubby:             Ummmm….. I think they sing something called “Hey you” or “Hey Yall” or something like that. 

Me:                  Oh, that’s Outkast and the name of the song is “Hey Ya”. 

Hubby:             No, I don’t think that’s them.  The other guy that sings with him dresses funny. 

Me:                  That would be Outkast and the other guys name is Andre’ Benjamin

from nwfilmforum.wordpress.com/2008/05/

 

Hubby:             No, I think it’s some kind of number or something. 

Me:                  Yes, that’s Andre’ Benjamin and he also goes by Andre’ 3000.  The name of the “group” is Outkast. 

 

Hubby:             No, I don’t think that’s it.  This guy’s wife I think is doing a reality show.  

Me:                  Yeah, I think that’s them but I don’t know the other guys name.  Sorry, I can’t help you.  That’s the best I can come up with. 

Hubby:             That’s ok. I’ll go ask one of my servers. 

 So, he comes home really late because the private party was there really late and he’s telling me about the party.  He says he REALLY embarrassed himself.  I’m thinking, Oh, Lord…. What DID you do now? 

So he tells me that the guy having the party (NOT Andre’ 3000, Benjamin, whatever) was in the private dining room and when he went in to talk to him he noticed that he had on a HUGE diamond necklace with his name on it so he kept calling him MR. ______ …. (the last name that he thought it was).  He says this rapper keeps calling him over and he keeps going over and saying “Yes, Mr. ______?”  And the guy keeps falling out laughing and slapping his knee or ribbing the guy next to him and hubby for the life of him can’t figure out what is going on because he is trying SO hard to be respectful and call him by his proper name. 

I asked hubby what the name was and he goes “Well, you know how rappers purposely spell things wrong and stuff?”  And I’m like “Yeah?” And he says “Well, I thought his last name was BALL and he was just spelling it odd on purpose so I kept calling him Mr. Ball because it was spelled BOL on his necklace.”  That’s when I remembered who the OTHER guy was…. I was like “Please don’t tell me you were calling Big Boi Mr. Ball all night?” 

Yeah, now we know why he kept calling him over and laughing.  He was getting a BIG kick out of this old fart who couldn’t tell his ass from a hole in the ground…. Or would that be his I from an L? 

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Stupid Stuff We've Done, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Come On Over and See Me, Big Boi

  1. terrepruitt says:

    I can’t keep track of the “celebrities” now-a-days. Especially since you don’t actually have to BE a celebrity to be a “celebrity”, all you have to do is sleep with one or claimed to have slept with one and then you’re a STAR.

    I am amazed that the restaurant seats over 500. I don’t think I have ever been in a restaurant that large.

    I but Mr. Rap Singer will always remember your husband.

  2. dwight says:

    Wow,great blog Peg! I think the hidden purpose of your Blog,is a saving our family history. Between you and your sister,a collection of wonderful moments and photos will always be there for family. I have always taken guests’ privacy as something very special. Having all those private dinningrooms is a plus. There are many times when someone special will be alone in a dinningroom thats seats 100+. I think that a private moment is priceless to these people. My favorite moment is talking to Alex Haley(it was right after “ROOTS” was on TV) he was a very nice man. The funniest was the lady who was the banker’s assistant on “THE BEVERLY HILLBILLIES” and the worst was luther vandross. Yes I did his name right,he was a very small person! Love Dwight

    • pegbur7 says:

      yes, I do like having things the girls can refer to. And if you say someone wasn’t nice then they REALLY weren’t because you are the nicest man I know and you would know. I love you too baby!

  3. suzicate says:

    I’m laughing but I really feel sorry for Dwight…I wouldn’t have known the difference either. I never know who any of the celebrities are…unless I read their name under the pic on the internet…and then like Dwight, I am probably misproouncing it.

  4. Angelia Sims says:

    No way! Hahahaha! Oh, that made me laugh. 🙂
    At least he had a sense of humor. 🙂

  5. Oh, that’s funny! Not to mention how impressed I am with your knowledge of rap…

    • pegbur7 says:

      That’s cuz I’m so gangsta! hahaha NOT!!! Andre’ had actually been in our office where I worked not long before that looking for a space to rent for a business venture and my youngest middle school principal was his principal sohe and I are tight like that! LOL

  6. Alaina says:

    Oh my god, that is hilarious….too funny. At least the guy didn’t get offended 🙂 He probably knew he was trying…ha, too funny…

  7. Ron says:

    Bwhahahahahahahahahaha!

    OMG, Peg…you and Dwight are PRICELESS! I seriously think you two should have your own TV sitcom on HBO! It could be a reality show where the two of you interview various celebrities, with Dwight having to ask you (on camera) WHO the celebrities are before you interview them!

    And I have to chime in with Maureen and say, I am SOOOO impressed with your knowledge of rap.

    You GO, girl!

    FAB post!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! I think. Maybe I should just BE a rapper… I could be Peg Squared only I’d have to come up with some symbol with the 2 above Peg or something cool and gangstary like that. then Dwight could just roll with me. And since he DOESN’T know about rap our “reality” show could be Peg2 (square) AND the Square? That do you think? LOL you always make my day!

  8. Gretchen says:

    I’m incredibly impressed that you know the names of ANY rappers. I couldn’t name one. Not one. Maybe I’ll know something when my kid’s a teenager!

  9. Maybe if Boi had spelled his name properly, there wouldn’t be an issue. I completely understand where your husband is coming from. I’ve met a few celebrities I didn’t know and was less than impressed when I found out who they were. I’m more impressed when people, famous or not, are polite. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Me too. Hubby said he was polite enough although he couldnt’ really say the same about his wife. The restaurant chain he works for is really funny about ANY kind of adverse publicity so they don’t allow like camara crews or anything in any of their restaurants (hubby even had to sign nondisclosure agreements about not using their name in any kind of social media) and the wife was taping her reality TV show and had some kind of party at his restuarant (or was going to… I cant’ remember the details) and pitched a fit because they wouldn’t allow the TV crews in to film. Some people are just strange (and publicity hounds).

  10. NikNik says:

    I had to stop reading your comments because of your tryin to be “fly”. I think you are about as “fly” as I am- which is not at all. Hopefully you dont have any other rap stories… But i still love you!

  11. Jimmy says:

    I too am impressed at your knowledge of people, I would have been in the same shoes as your husband 🙂

  12. Hey, better a Hubby that may not be celebrity aware, than a Hubby who spends all his time name-dropping about the famous people he’s met. Some people do that. It’s annoying. So I like Hubby for not doing that ^_^.

    • pegbur7 says:

      He’s a pretty humble & very remarkable guy. Now had rhey been baseball players it would have been a whole different story and he would not have needed to ask.

  13. Hadassah says:

    You know Peg, I’m sure Big Boi loved the fact that he was “normal” around him which allowed the celeb to have a great time. I know much to your hubby’s expense, but I’m sure this is a memory Big Boi will never forget.

    And how do you know so much about hip hop anyway? LOL!

Leave a Reply

