It’s All Relative

my parents when they were dating

 

Don’t I look like my daddy?

I have always thought that I looked like my dad.  All the time when I was younger, I would go with my dad to this country store in our home town and the owner would say “Here come Pete and Re-Pete” (My dad’s nickname is Pete in case you didn’t get that.)  And as far back as I can remember, no matter where I went in our little county I was going to run into someone who would say “Are you Pete’s daughter?” And when I’d ask how they knew they would remark something like “You look just like him” or “All I had to do was look at you”.  

My maternal grandparents

 

Then over the last 15 or 20 years more and more people are telling me that I look like my mom or HER mom.  

My maternal grandmother

 

 So it makes me wonder…. Which IS it?  I’ve also been told that I look like this sister or this brother and I think some of  us look a lot alike but some of us don’t. My dad has hazel eyes and my mom has blue eyes.  Both of my brothers have blue eyes like my mom, and all of us girls have some shade of hazel eyes like my dad (except one sister who has brown eyes like my grandfather did).  I mean, I think you can tell we are all related…. But not sure how much we all look alike.  Here are pictures of all of us… You tell me? 

siblings and parents circa 1979

 

me, parents and siblings

 

Heredity fascinates me.  I have several friends who have biracial marriages and therefore biracial children.  Several have black/white biracial kids and some of the kids look like they have no black in them at all and some look like they have no white in them at all but most are a good blend.  I personally think that most biracial children are gorgeous, taking the best of both races, whatever they may be and making their own blend.  

Hubby w/ his mom and brother

 

Hubby;s Dad

 

We have friends who have a Black/Mexican biracial marriage and they have three of the most gorgeous children you’d ever want to see.  Their son modeled some.  I used to tease him and my youngest saying they were going to get married and have the most gorgeous babies EVER.  I mean think about it.  The product would be part black, part white, part Mexican and part Asian.  What a combo!  Their son asked me “Well, I’ve always considered myself a Blackican.  If #3 and I had children, what would they be?”  I thought about it a minute and said “Whack Japicans? Or maybe just WHACK?”  He thought that was hilarious.  He is a picture of the two of them together when they were younger: 

#3 and Nique

 

Am I right or am I right?  Yes? 

Which brings me to my children.  My husband’s mother is Japanese.  His father… well… was adopted so we really don’t know other than Caucasian.  I think I have a melting pot of an ethnic background and I’m not sure WHAT I am so I just consider myself a Heinz 57 or a mutt.  I have at different times heard Irish, Spanish, Native American, maybe French, or German? I really am not sure.  I just know that I think my kids are beautiful and they have just enough of a blend of our ethnicities to make them sort of mysterious.  

#1 as a Sr

 

me as Sr.

 

#2 as a Sr.

 

#3 as Sr.

 

When my oldest was a baby, I had gone home to Virginia for a week to visit without hubby and one of my mom’s friends from her work came by to see #1.  I guess she didn’t realize that hubby was ½ Japanese because looking at #1 she quipped “Ya know, if I didn’t know better I’d swear this baby was part Oriental!”  I said, “That’s because she is!”  My mom’s friend was like “Oh, I’m so sorry!”  I’m not sure WHAT she was sorry about, or if she thought she had insulted me, but I like the fact that they are part Asian and have always tried to instill in them a pride of their Asian heritage.  My oldest will occasionally get complete strangers ask her “what she is”.  The younger two don’t get it quite as much.  

It’s funny the things (physical characteristics) they have “picked up” from each of us.  My husband is very tall (I know this sounds stereotypical but too bad), especially for someone of Asian descent. He is almost 6’8” tall and  has always been on the slender side.  I am the shortest in my family.  On a good day I say I’m 5’5”. I have NEVER been what you call on the slender side.  I’d love to be taller and thinner,  but, oh, well… My #1 looks (in her facial features) more like her dad but has more MY height and unfortunately for her, maybe more my body build.  My #2 daughter looks just like I did, facially (in high school, I think) but with her dad’s height (she’s right at 6 ft) and body build.  Our #3 daughter is probably a good blend of all of it. She is more blend between both their heights and body builds and facial features. She looks more Caucasian with a twist you can’t quite put your finger on unless you KNOW she’s part Asian.   

And when they were born they all looked very much alike and #1 and #2 were virtually the same size when they were born.  The same doctor delivered them both and he and the pediatrician were talking about it saying how it looked like I had delivered identical twins a year and a half apart!  They were both 7 pounds, 13 ounces and 21 inches long with 14 in heads. The only difference was one’s abdomen was ½ bigger than the other.  And number 3 weighed the most, was the shortest and ended up as a teenager much tinier than either of the other two were.  Now as adults #1 and #3 are more on an even keel.  Number 2 still has several inches in height on both of them.   Here’s pictures of all three of them around the same age.  Can you tell which is which?  Take a stab at it and let’s see who get’s it right! 

Can you tell which one this is? #1, #2 or #3?

 

#1, #2 or #3? hmmnnn

 

  

and which one is this one?

 

all three

 

This post is brought to you via Living Out Loud. 

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Living Out Loud, Stories About My Kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to It’s All Relative

  1. terrepruitt says:

    #1, #3, and #2. I know I got at least one correct . . . ‘cuz you posted that picture before.

    (How I remembered that and I can’t remember where I put my phone just 10 minutes ago, is beyond me.)

    • pegbur7 says:

      1 out of 3 ain’t bad…. but I can’t tell you yet which one you got right cause then everyone else would know…. LOL….I’ll tell tomorrow! (I don’t think it’s the one you THINK it is…)

      • terrepruitt says:

        Ha! Really? Well, I remembered the picture. Are you going to put the answers in your next post? Or do we come back here to check?

      • pegbur7 says:

        I will probably put it at the end of tomorrow’s post….

        And if you’re thinking of the one I’m thinking of… it was the same outfit, different child…. 🙂 I’m tricky like that! LOL

      • terrepruitt says:

        Ha. Can’t wait. But tomorrow is Saturday so I might have to wait until company is gone. Or just excuse myself and say, “I have to read a blog.” 🙂

      • pegbur7 says:

        LOL… I under stand. Hubby works weekends so all my days kind of blend together. Sometimes I forget if it’s the weekend or during the week. Pitiful existence isn’t it? 🙂

  2. I loved this post, Peg. Your daughters are all gorgeous, and I love the fact that both you and your hubby come from such mixed, somewhat-unknown backgrounds. I’m sure so many people are weird about it [because lots of people are weird about race and origins, even in this modern, educated day and age] which must be too bad [especially being asked “WHAT are you?” which is a kind of strange question] but I hope that people aren’t obnoxious too often and from the way you describe it, you’re all completely comfortable with your melting pot of a family, which is great since you’re right – the mix of all sorts of ethnicities came out beautiful in those girls of yours ^_^.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks! Although I must confess that the first time hubby and I went out I asked him pretty much the same question. oops. And when he responded that he was half Japanese My brilliant stupid reponse was “No, you’re not! What are you REALLY?” Like he didn’t know his own ethnicity. In my defense, his hieght threw me off! AND I’m pretty sure we were probably drinking. LOL

  3. Gorgeous girls, Peg! Simply breathtaking. Now we have a very mixed bag in our family too. My daughter is married to an Iranian, my sister’s kids are 1/2 Filipino, I’m married to a Navajo. My 1/2 Filipino niece is married to a black man, my son is married to an Irish girl. I’m half Mexican. And my dogs are both half Pit Bull!

    • pegbur7 says:

      And I bet everyone is gorgeous just like YOU! See, aren’t we mixed up lot the best??

      My brother’s wife is Guatemalan and her first husband was Puerta Rican so my brother calls her daughters (in jest) Poor Tamales (Puerta Malas). They think it’s hysterical!

  4. Alaina says:

    I get the same thing with looking like my mother…I get called “Little Peggy” all the time because we look so similar. It’s funny how certain traits are passed on like that. By the way, you have beautiful girls! You can see similarities in all of them…definitely can tell they are sisters!

  5. Ron says:

    Oh, Peg…what a beautiful post!

    You and I are so much a like, it’s funny! I too get told that I sometimes look exactly like my father and then other times like my mother. I honestly think I look exactly like both of them. I think you too look like both your parents.

    OMG…the photos of your girls are gorgeous. To me, #2 looks exactly like you and #3 looks exactly like your hubby.

    My favorite looks are those people who come from mixed marriages. We here in Philly have a lot of black/white mixtures and it’s simply stunning. Florida it was more Latin/American blend, and that too is stunning.

    Both you and your hubby are so attractive, so it’s no wonder your children are too!

    Thanks for sharing this post, my dear friend!

    So enjoyed it!

    Happy weekend to you and the gang!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! I always thought #1 looked more like my hubby. And funny, the other day #3 said to me “I never noticed til the other day how much MY graduation pics look like YOUR graduation pics.”

      As for the parents… I think that old saying is kind of true… the longer two people live together the more they start looking alike so since my mom and dad have been together 60 years and hubby and I have been togethe almost 29…. there you have it!

      Have a wonderful weekend my sweet friend!

  6. I also find hereditary fascinating – and I love those old time photos!

    p.s.~ I do live in Virginia, it must be a groundhog rich commonwealth!

  7. I love this! Your daughters are absolutely beautiful (and yes, I can see you in them) and I love how you weaved the ties between your grandmother, mom, husband, and yourself. Awesome! Sprite has been called Asian herself and my mother-in-law’s nickname for her is Mi Chinita. I keep saying I’ll write about it and I will. Some day. 🙂
    I have to say this is perfect for the Spin Cycle. If you want to link up, let me know!

    • pegbur7 says:

      For this one or the next one? Either way, link me up baby! 🙂 I can see where Sprite would get that. It’s in the eyes. She is a gorgeous child. Thanks for the compliments on the post. Have you done Living Out Loud? You should try that one. It’s once a month and this months is due Sunday. You email her the link.

  8. NikNik says:

    Its pretty bad that I cant even pick myself outta those baby pics…

  9. suzicate says:

    You know that Heinz 57 makes the best and mutts are the best looking! Obviously the mix was perfect to create such pretty girls. I know the answers…shall I post or keep my mouth shut?!

  10. Keely says:

    6’8″ is tall for ANY ethnicity!

    And I have no idea of the answers but your daughters are absolutely beautiful 🙂

  11. Your daughters are so gorgeous! Genes are very cool. When I was in HS I worked in a nursing home. The grown kids would come in to see their parents. I noticed then that the kids would often look like both of their parents, yet the parents looked nothing like each other. Very cool.

  12. Hadassah says:

    I love how you “live life out loud!”. I’m not going to discuss genes..mine are fubared! LOL!

  13. Angelia Sims says:

    #2, #3,and #1, maybe? I love their cute little pics. They are gorgeous girls. You have a beautiful family. Hereditary traits always interested me too. Syd looked like me at birth and now more like her dad. Strange.:-)

  14. Kyooty says:

    Your Daughters are beautiful! I do hope they don’t mind all these pictures, hehe 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thank you and thank you for stopping by. I guess I really should ask them if they mind about the pics, but, oh well….. funny thing is at first #3 told me absolutely NOT to write about her because it would be SO embarassing. Now she always says “why do you write more about #1 and #2 than me?” Guess you can never make them happy, huh? 🙂

  15. Heather says:

    Well my guess is #2, #1 and #3.
    I have always considered myself an Hienz 57 too! I’m caucasian, but every version of caucasian!

  16. Pingback: … in a Bottle » Blog Archive » Recap of Living Out Loud volume 17: All in the family

  17. Megan says:

    Looking at all your pictures was a lot of fun. I spend a lot of time gazing at my kids and marveling at how traits of mine and my husband’s have mixed together – or often how traits of our parents have shown up in our kids.

  18. Teri Smieja says:

    I don’t know about all the rest, but I do know that you have some gorgeous daughters! Just beautiful.

  19. Candice says:

    Awesome post. I, too, think genetics is fascinating. We spend so much time in my family talking about who kids look like. I have a newborn and people are constantly speculating what bits of him look like me or my husband. People say he looks mostly like my husband, but I don’t see it much. Meanwhile, I don’t think I look anything like my sister, but people say we look a lot alike.

    I totally could not tell the baby pictures apart! And I love the photos of your parents and grandparents. Beautiful!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks for stopping by! And don’t feel badly about not telling the pics apart. Even my girls (and the pics were of them) had a tough time telling them apart! LOL

  20. Patty says:

    Wow, your daughters are absolutely gorgeous. Stunning!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks! I think so too. But I am a little biased. And they all seem to have pretty good heads on their shoulders. I have been very blessed.

  21. I know that I have different traits from both of my parents (which goes to show that I didn’t have the milkman as a dad).

    Thanks for sharing,

  22. Your daughters are absolutely gorgeous! And I love that comparison shot of your senior picture – there are definite resemblances to you, like they got the perfect mix from both you and your hubby. 🙂 Princess Nagger looked more like her Dada when she was a baby – but now she looks more like me…but I always say she has the perfect mix of the two of us. I think it’s the long blonde hair that prompts the ‘mini me’ referral – especially since her personality trait is just like her Dada! 😉

    • pegbur7 says:

      I love genetics. Absolutely fascinates me. Thanks for the compliments on my babies (yes, I realize they aren’t babies anymore, but they’ll always be my babies) and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

