Why Did The Turtle Cross The Road?

Our Middle Daughter, #2, is one of the smartest people I have ever met.  Her Middle School PC (Program Challenge) teacher said she was without a doubt the greatest math mind he had ever met.  He also said that was why some of her teachers did not like her, because she intimidated them.  With that being said, I feel it only fair to share the “other side of the coin”.  Although she is brilliant beyond a doubt, she is one of those highly intellectual people who have NO “common sense”.  She is getting better as she gets older but when she was younger, Bless her little ole’ heart! 

The first time I took her out in our neighborhood to actually drive some, the first car we met, she got really nervous so I told her to just pull to the side of the road and let the car pass by and then she could pull back out.  She actually pulled her car, ALL FOUR WHEELS, onto one of our neighbor’s yards to let the other car pass!  When I questioned this she simply stated “well, you said to pull over!”  Let’s just say that she was a challenge to teach how to drive, but once she “got it”, she did fairly well, but that’s not to say it wasn’t without its mishaps and comic adventures. 

For example, one Saturday night she spent the night over at one of her friend’s houses and the next morning called me to tell me her car “broke down”.  I asked her what was wrong with it and where she was.  She told me she had been able to pull the car onto the shoulder of the road near their old elementary school because is just “quit running”. 

On the way to pick her up I was trying to figure out WHAT could be wrong with the car?  Just as we pulled up to where she was, it dawned on me.  I got out of the car and asked “Do you think your car might be out of gas?”  She kind of grinned and said “Maybe?”  I asked her how you could “maybe” be out of gas and this was the explanation she gave me:

“You see, last night I realized the car was low on gas and the light was on so I stopped at the gas station to get gas.  I pulled up to the pump and got out and then I realized that I didn’t know how to get the gas cap off!  I tried to figure it out but a car pulled up behind me so I got back in my car and left.”

I asked her why she didn’t just ask the person who pulled up behind her if THEY could help her figure out how to get the gas cap off and her reply was “Mom!  I didn’t want to look STUPID!”

OH!  Gotcha!  So, sitting on the side of the road, out of gas, DOESN’T look stupid?  I see!  She then asked me to get her those neon orange post-it notes so she could write “CHECK GAS!” and stick them on her rear-view mirror and on her dashboard so that she would notice them and NOT forget to get gas.  She also suggested it would be helpful to remind her or ask her every few days if she needed gas. Like I said…. Bless her heart!  I guess she has so much intellectual stuff up there that there’s no room left for the stuff us “average intelligence” people think about.

Another time I was with #3 one evening at her cheerleading practice.  #2 calls me on my cell phone and we have the following conversation.

#2:  Where are you?

Me:  I’m with #3 at cheerleading practice, you know that.

#2:  Oh, yeah, right…..

Me:  Where are YOU?

#2:   In my car…… in front of Krystal’s house….sitting in the bushes.

Me:  Excuse me?  Did you say you are IN your car sitting IN the bushes?

#2:  Uh huh….(awkward silence)

Me:  Ummmm….. HOW did you manage to get your car IN the bushes?  I mean, are YOU ok?

#2:  Well, you see….. what happened was….. I was turning the corner from the stop sign and I noticed this turtle in the middle of the road and I was SO worried about the turtle that I was staring at it and not paying attention to where I was going and just ended up in the bushes.

Me:  Well, stay put and I’ll be right there.

I gathered #3 from her practice and we rush over (which happens to be about 4 or 5 houses down the street from our house) and sure enough, there her car is perched ON TOP of the hedges, all four tires.  Now mind you this neighbor was a FANATIC about his hedges.  He was out there EVERY weekend, making sure his hedges WERE PERFECT.  She took out like four of his bushes.  Well, at least he wouldn’t have to worry about THAT anymore…. Definitely NOT perfect!

The neighbor comes home, drives in his driveway staring at his hedge (or the remainder) in disbelief the entire time.  While we were standing there, he gets out of his car and never acknowledges either of us but walks straight in his house and shuts the door.  He did manage a glare as he shut the door.  I make her go over to apologize and offer to pay for the damages to his hedge (which he accepts) but he us definitely NOT a happy camper.

After making her confess to the neighbor we went back outside and I turned to her and asked “Hey, #2, WHERE is that turtle you were so worried about?  She turned about 10 shades of purple before turning and pointing to the side of the road.

I looked and looked again and said: “Hey, it must have crawled off because all I see is a crumpled up McDonald’s  bag! “   She hung her head and reluctantly replied  “Yeah, I thought it was a turtle since they are about the same size and shape.   AHHHH… I SEE says the blind man!

Bless her little heart!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Stories About My Kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Why Did The Turtle Cross The Road?

  1. Alaina says:

    ha, that is too funny…my fiance’ is kind of like that, too…really really book smart, but lacking somewhat in the common sense. But then again, I did the same thing your daughter did when I was learning to drive and thought a leaf on the road was a squirrel and freaked out about hitting it before my driver’s ed instructor pointed out my error 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think it must run in the family. My oldest sister, when she took her test, took off while the instructor had one foot in the car and was leaning down to get in the car. There he went hopping off down the sidewalk! Weird thing was he PASSED her! Maybe that’s why she is such a horrid driver now? Thanks for stopping by!

  2. suzicate says:

    Poor Sabu, she has such a good heart! Great story.

  3. Ron says:

    OMG Peg, this story was hysterical!!!

    “Yeah, I thought it was a turtle since they are about the same size and shape. AHHHH… I SEE says the blind man!”

    HAHAHAHHHAHAHAHA! My father used the same expression. “I SEE says the blind man!”

    I love when you share stories about your girls! They’re not only beautiful, but smart and sooooooo sweet!

    Hope you’re having a swell day, my dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! I know they hate it when I “tell on them” but sometimes it’s just so funny I can’t help it! LOL

      I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!
      {{{{Ron}}}}

  4. Spot says:

    Poor baby. She reminds me of that movie “The Absent Minded Professor”. I’m quite sure that there is too much intellect floating around in there to handle the every day stuff. Think Einstein. Only way prettier.

    ♥Spot

    • pegbur7 says:

      Very true… on all counts. That was why I stuck that in about the average intelligence because that’s what she told us one time… that she considered myself and her dad “of average itelligence”. LOL I told her she had to get it from SOMEWHERE…..
      and yes, she is WAY prettier than Einstein.

  5. Awwww, those stories are just too adorable – but they’re SO typical for a genius like her! I swear, every person I’ve ever met who was super intelligent had some funny quirks about day-to-day logic stuff. Some just have no social skills, but at least #2 doesn’t sound like that was a problem! And hey, at least the car probably didn’t get damaged from the bushes 😉

  6. cheermomdiva says:

    Great Blog 🙂 🙂 Love reading it!!

  7. Jimmy says:

    Sounds so much like our Daughter Peg, I am writing this idea down because I can see a post on her coming if you dont mind Ha Ha

    Gotta love these girls as they do see the world in a different light.

  8. She is hysterical! I love people like that (but you do have to watch them closely!) Alex has his moments as well.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, she is hysterical and hysterically funny! She has the best sense of humor. Quite a gal! 🙂 When she went off to Pittsburgh to go to college we were quite concerned at first about her being that far away from home unsupervised! LOL But, she actually did quite well, all things considered…

Leave a Reply

