No Time For Goodbye

Writers's workshop

He was the man of her dreams. 

She knew they would never part. 

And their feelings would never change. 

She loved him with all of her heart. 

Their courtship was lovely 

He treated her like a queen. 

There was nothing he wouldn’t do for her. 

She knew he would never be mean. 

Their wedding was perfect 

The honeymoon sublime 

Things would never go wrong for them 

That would defy reason or rhyme. 

But, first came job hassles, 

Then moving, school and kids. 

This hectic pace of their lives 

Was spinning their heads. 

She was wrapped up in housework, 

Cooking,and kids – no time to shirk. 

Juggling the responsibilities of home, 

And then, those at work. 

He had his own pressures 

 He felt no one understood 

How hard it was to be that man 

That his father said he never could 

He took no time to consider 

Never stopped to reflect 

There are worse things than being “mean” 

Like the simple act of neglect. 

The years flew by 

and things got no simpler 

Kids grew up and moved away 

The house was  now silent, not even a whimper. 

Career path still called 

And years kept slipping by 

He never noticed until she was gone. 

He never got to say “good bye”. 

This post was brought ot you by Mama Kat’s Writer’s workshop.  I chose prompt 5.) What’s so good about it?  Write an interesting poem or piece of writing where the last two words of the writing are ‘good-bye’.  (inspired by writingfix.com)

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to No Time For Goodbye

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    Wow, that was really good. I felt the years speed by and the emptiness he was left with. Nice work with the prompt. 🙂

  2. terrepruitt says:

    I am comfortable with poems that tell a clear story. This I enjoyed. I don’t always feel “qualified” to comment on your other poems. 🙂

    It is amazing that you can create such a beautiful poem based on a prompt! Wow!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Terre. I don’t think I’m capable of vcreating anything over anyone’s head! LOL I’m not that much of an “out there” thinker. Just a simple woman telling a simple story. I guess I’m more of a story teller than a poet. I really don’t feel “qualified” to write poetry. I always feel like such a phony when I do!

  3. Jenners says:

    Visiting from Mama Kats…

    Well, you took that prompt and ran with it. So melancholy though but in the best of ways. May we all remember to look at and love our spouses! Well done!

  4. Kristy says:

    This was really touching. I like when I read a piece that moves me. So raw and real. Thank you for sharing!

  5. Ron says:

    AMAZING piece, Peg!

    Somehow (in your wonderful talent) you’ve managed to tell a complete story with this poem.

    Very touching!

    You GO, girl!

    Hope you’re having a faaaaaabulous day, dear friend.

    X

  6. Spot says:

    Thanks for the poetic reminder to appreciate each other befoe it’s too late. Beautiful.

    ♥Spot

  7. LisaF says:

    Not qualified to write poetry? Are you kidding? Beautifully written and emotionally compelling.

  8. This was so beautiful, but so sad too… I really got a feeling of this couple and the passage of time for them.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Aww, thanks so much Em! I try to put people in the emotion. Sometimes it works and sometimes, not so much! 🙂 I guess this time it worked?

  9. Jennifer says:

    Good job. I love it. Even though it is really sad.

  10. Very lovely, and very sad. I guess it rings too true for so many. Love it.

  11. KLZ says:

    Over from Mama Kat’s. Must leave the computer to go hug my husband now.

  12. Shell says:

    Wow, very powerful…and sad, too. You drew me in.

  13. Mama Kat says:

    I liked this one! How easy it is to overlook the people who are quietly waiting for us to remember to stop and love them. Great poem!

Leave a Reply

