Betty – MY material girl

Today my hubby made my week.  He found my most prized material possession that I have been looking for literally for months.  I had given up hope of ever finding it. I thought that it had somehow gotten lost in the shuffle of our last move and somehow gotten thrown out or given away to charity.  I had (I thought) made a thorough search of our house and garage about a month ago when my sister called and asked if I could send her a picture of it.  I looked and looked to no avail.  I thought I searched every nook and cranny and still couldn’t find her.  Today my hubby found her.  I thought he was my hero before.  But now?  She was in a box with some of HIS most prized possessions.  Here she is:

Betty Boop

Is she not the most gorgeous thing you have ever seen?  Of course she probably isn’t to YOU, but to me she is.  She was a wedding gift from my mother and she has more sentimental value to me that anything because I know she had/has more sentimental value to my mom.

Isn’t she lovely?

See my mom’s mother died when she was VERY young.  I want to say she was 3 or younger when her mother died.  This is the one thing that she had that her mother gave to her.  I have 3 sisters and 2 brothers.  The brothers could care less about “some doll” BUT I think all of us girls at one point wanted Betty.  I know when I was a child I absolutely coveted Betty.  I know that coveting is a sin so I guess she is my secret sin.  I had wanted that doll for as long as I could remember.

She’s very bendy…

Whenever my mom would pull her out from her “hiding place” I would always ask to hold her.  When I was really young my mom would never let me hold her because she was afraid I’d break her. I don’t blame her.  I WAS a clumsy child (not too graceful as an adult either).  I would tentatively reach out and touch the edges of her little green dress and run my fingers along the curls of her hair and trace my fingers along her face.  She does have a crack on the back of her head. I don’t know how she got it but I like her flaw. Besides, I’m a little “cracked in the head” too, so it makes me feel her “realness”.  Like me, she’s not perfect, but she is loved. I don’t mean that to sound conceited but I know my family loves me just like I know I love that doll.

Hanging out with Betty

There are only two things I can remember really wanting as a child.  One was an old cedar chest that was in one of the upstairs bedrooms of my grandmother’s house which she promised me but one of my cousins took after she passed away (we won’t talk about that…still a little bitter here about that) and the other was the Betty Boop doll.  But as a teenager and then as a young adult I knew it would never happen.  I have two older sisters so at best I was #3 in line for her so I knew I’d have to wait for a cold day in hell for her to ever be mine.

I cannot tell you how happy I was when my mother gave her to me as a wedding gift. It was the BEST wedding gift or the best gift of any kind that anyone could have given me.  Not just because my mother knew how much it meant to me, but because I also knew how much it meant to my mom and the fact that HER mom gave it to her and for her to part with it while she was still alive and able to enjoy it herself touched me beyond words.  It makes me feel connected to my grandmother that I never had to privilege of knowing and loving so I get to love her by proxy through Betty.  I know that might not make sense to most people, it’s just a doll.  But not to me. To me she is the embodiment of the love from a mother to child.  A mother that the child my mom was never got to know herself.  A love that passes from generation to generation.  I know now that she gave it to me then not just because she knew what it would mean to me but she also knew that if she waited until she passed or left her to me in her will I would NEVER see it because one of my two older sisters would have taken her.

She likes the quilt! 🙂

It wasn’t until today that I actually found out that it was because of my baby sister, SuziCate, that I came to be in possession of Betty Boop when I did.  So THANK YOU SuziCate… You will never know exactly how much that meant to me.  It seems that when she and my mom were discussing what she should give me as a wedding gift Suzi suggested to her that she give me Betty Boop and my mother even brought up the fact that my other sisters would be angry and jealous that I got her instead of them (and they were and made it known) and SuziCate in all of her wisdom and maturity (and I am NOT being facetious) replied to her that both of my sisters had boys but I might have girls and therefore it should be something that should be passed from mother to daughter.  Little did she know that I would go on to have not one, but THREE girls.  I am also the ONLY of the four sisters who had girls.  NOW…. The dilemma will be WHICH of my three girls will get her?  OK girls, if you’re reading this and I know you are…. (hint hint neon sign sledgehammer hit) which of YOU is going to give me a granddaughter to pass it to?  You don’t have to answer just yet… I’ve just found her again and I’m not willing to let her go just yet. 😉

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Betty – MY material girl

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Oh Peg, you are a funny lady. Yes, I will agree with you it IS just a doll. But we attach memories to things. So if this item has a strong memory for you and/or a special meaning, then you have made it MORE than JUST a doll.

    She is very, very sweet. That she means so much is wonderful. That she is a link to your grandmother is precious.

    Now, I would like to ask you a favor . . . please NEVER, NEVER, NEVER, EVER, EVER say or feel that you sound conceited because you KNOW your family loves you. You might say that you are lucky/smart/blessed because you know your family loves you, but “conceited” is NOT the correct word. That you have a family that loves you is AWESOME, that you KNOW they love you because you are smart like that and they let you know is a blessing. That WE all know because we hear about the things they do (your husband finding Betty, your sister advising your mom to give her to you, your mom giving her to you . . . .etc.) is FANTASTIC.

    So funny, you are, conceited, you are not. (Ok, I am done with my finger wagging now. Sorry.)

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thank you Terri for your kind kind words. I know I have self esteem issues. I’m working on them, I promise! Thanks for the admonishment. Graciously accepted and duly noted. 🙂

  2. Gretchen says:

    Oh! I love, love, love her! What a treasure! I can’t imagine how it must have felt to think you had lost her. I have a much beloved doll from my childhood that I simply can’t live without. But I can’t imagine how lovely it must be to have a doll from your MOTHER’S childhood. SO lovely.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, she is quite special to me. She might be worn and cracked like me) but the fact that she was my mom’s and given to her by her mom means more to me than the actual doll.

  3. suzicate says:

    Peggy….no, her mom did not give it to her. She died when Mama was not quite two and a half. The local doctor’s wife gave it to Mama when she was five. It’s the only thing from childhood that Mama had left which is special in itself. So Betty is now about 72 years old – go, Betty. I am so glad Dwight found her! Yay, Dwight!!!!

    • pegbur7 says:

      There you go busting my bubble AGAIN. I was always told it was from her mom and that’s what I will believe until I hear it from her myself so thanks for the correction but no thanks.

  4. suzicate says:

    Ask her…sorry, I’ve heard the story a million times!

  5. Hadassah says:

    Don’t you love when sister’s bust your bubble? LOL!

    I love her. She is perfect in every way. I have a few of those myself from my mother.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yeah, not so much! LOL Now that my perception has been set straight she may not be what I THOUGHT she was my whole life, but she is still important to me. And I choose to believe in my HEART what I always have. It’s MY truth even if it might not be THE truth if that makes sense. That is what I have always based my belief in her on and I shall continue in my heart to not change that.

  6. Lo says:

    Glad your husband found, and whether it was from the Doctor or from her mom, it was meaningful and special to her all the same!

  7. dwight says:

    It made me so happy that Betty’s wayward journey has finally found her coming home. Seeing your tears of joy made me so happy. Your happiness is my happiness. Love dwight

  8. Ron says:

    Oh, Peg…this post brought tears to my eyes.

    Your Betty Boop doll is so BEAUTIFUL!!!!

    “To me she is the embodiment of the love from a mother to child. A mother that the child my mom was never got to know herself.”

    It’s not just the doll, but rather the “connection” the doll gives you to your grandmother. I truly believe that objects hold the essence of the person who it belonged to and can be felt.

    I so totally understand what you mean by this post because I lost my mother at a very young age. After she passed, my father took her diamond wedding ring and made it into a pinky ring for himself. Then, after he died, my step mother passed it on to me.

    The ring was a connection for me, to both my mother and father.

    This post has inspired me to write about something I’ve been wanting to share on my blog, but have forgotten. So thank you for reminding me!

    Beautiful post, dear friend!

    Thank you so much for sharing it.

    Have a great weekend…..X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thank you Ron. I needed your comment SO much right now. I read it through my tears and you touched my heart. I love tht your father had your mother’s diamond made into a ring for himself that he passed to you. That is a truly special gift to have. And now that I know for the first time today that she never actually belonged to my grandmother (it actually broke my heart) but I still will keep that connection in my heart a”as if” she did. It’s not that I’m refusing to accept the truth. I understand it wasn’t hers (now) but the thought that I grew up thinking that it WAS hers and then it actually was my mothers still makes me feel connected to her. I’m sorry for this blubbery response. I’m just a little emotional right now, but, thank you so much for your lovely supportive words.

      Have a great weekend my dear friend.

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    You are very lucky. I didn’t get to help clean out my dads house. The little mini ceramic skunks I played with as a child, they took along with all his books on animals I would look through every weekend visit. I have nothing but memories and those will one day fade. Please hug yourself and treasure your beautiful Betty no matter what.

  10. She is indeed a treasure! I’m so glad you got her! And I’m sure she will find her way to the next perfect place for her! Long live Betty!

  11. Granmo says:

    Have you ever thought that Betty may simply have been hiding from your sister (LOL). But seriously, Betty may have been reminding you of how special people can be when you can no longer reach out and touch them. She’s a gem and I’m happy for you now that she’s back in your life.

  12. Pingback: Flying the Friendly Skies « Square Peg in a Round Hole

  13. Pingback: Our Universal Date « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

