Less Words Wednesday

I know I usually do Wordless Wednesday but today I HAD to add some words.  So, this morning hubby is helping this man put storm doors up and they are in the garage with the big (outside) garage door open. He pokes his head in and yells “Hey, honey, your son had a present for you at the back door! I wouldn’t let him bring it in.” 

Thanks Poe....NOT!

I mean I’m not a HUGE snake fan, but, I feel kind of bad for it.  It had to be a bad way to go.  You can see his little head is all squished and there’s some blood (yuck) and Poe had dragged him all over creation. Hard to tell how long it took him to finally croak. 

After I picked him up by his tail and put him back down.

I took his picture for this post and then came back inside.  He was right outside the kitchen door.  A little while later hubby comes back inside and said “Did you know that snake was still alive?”  WTF??? 

How did he get over by the chair?

Then a few minutes later KeeKee goes over first and he strikes at her so I guess he’s NOT dead unless it’s a reflex action… you know, like when you chop a chicken’s head off and it runs around until it’s blood is all gone?  No?  You’ve never chopped a chicken’s head off?  Dang, you’ve missed out.  That’s how we roll up on WM… 

KeeKee checking out Mr. Snake

 Then Poe goes over and checks him out and he strikes at Poe and then FLINGS himself (the snake) backwards against the house.  Really weird. I saw him do it.  If you look closely at the picture, the middle right hand side, that’s Poe deciding if he wants himself another stab at the snake. So Mr. Snake is doing his “I’m a BA little Mofo so you better not be messing with me” even though he’s all of about 10 inches long. 

Poe deciding if he want's to play anymore

 Poe took one more stab at Mr. Snake and Mr. Snake did NOT like it: 

Striking out at Poe

Note that he didn’t get anywhere NEAR Poe but Poe fell out like he’d been shot.  I’m still not sure whether he was playing possum or trying to get the snake to scratch his belly!  

Poe down! 😉

 I went back out a few minutes later and Poe was gone but Mr. Snake was still there.  I went back in the house to do something and came back out and Mr. Snake was gone so I guess he lived another day to tell his tale! 

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wordless Wednesdays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Less Words Wednesday

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Geez. Poe is so pretty. And KeeKee looks pretty too, but here I am only see the top of her. (her?)

    Aren’t you glad it didn’t move while you were holding it? I think if it had you would have been in a simliar pose as Poe in the last shot, yes?

  2. Poor snake… I rather like snakes, if they’re not poisonous.

    I think Poe was lying on his back in the famous “yield” position. Perhaps he was admitting defeat to the snake!

    • pegbur7 says:

      He did escape though and I guess that was the main thing. I think he (Poe) just wanted a belly rub. He’s THAT kind of guy! But he’s also a chicken so maybe it was defeat since it was such a BIG bad snake! LOL

  3. suzicate says:

    Yes, I think Poe was being submissive in that pic…the dog does it all the time. But wow, what a gift. He just loves you guys to want to share his prized possessions with you!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know I’m always finding little gifts, usually chipmunks or moles. This is the first snake they’ve brought to this house. When we lived in VA Cleo one of the cats that passed away brought us a 5 FT snake. I have no clue how she got that thing AND she killed it! That cat would kill anything. I saw her kill a RAT one time (also in VA) that was almost as big as her. It was one of those big river wharf rats. Nasty looking huge thing. yuck….

      Hubby keeps telling them to bring home a cow or a deer or something useful. LOL

  4. Ron says:

    OMG, Peg…this is the second post I’ve read this week about SNAKES! One of my other blogging friends had one come into her house!!

    And yes, her hubby had to CHOP its head off.

    EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!

    Your cats are ADORABLE!

    Loved that last shot of Poe. Don’t ya just love how cats enjoy playing possum? Little “actors” they are!

    MEOW!

    Have a super non-filled snake day, my dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, I’m hoping it’s snake free. And hubby didn’t even tell me WHAT he had brought me, just that it was a gift. He said he came walking up to him with it dangling in his mouth like a little piece of rope! He’s a mess and quite the actor.

  5. I like snakes! We had a marvelous green one in our yard at the last house about 3 feet long. I think he did eat rodents and stuff, but never bothered with me or Alex.

    Your cats are gorgeous!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks from the kitties. I don’t mind snakes they just might make me hurt myself trying to get away from them because I don’t usually want to get close enough to find out if they are poisonous or not. If I KNOW they aren’t poisonous I’m fine with them. Little ones that are poisonous are worse than big ones that are poisonous or so I have heard.

  6. Hadassah says:

    I loved the play-by-play. Go Poe! Aww darn…Poe’s out for the count… MAAAANNNN!

  7. Gretchen says:

    I don’t think of myself as a scaredy cat when it comes to snakes, but these pictures made the hair on neck stand up. Eww. I love that Poe rolled over on his back like he just wanted to be friends.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know. I think he was waiting for a snake belly rub! He’ll rub up against anything if he thinks it will get him some loving! I guess that makes him a kitty HIMBO? LOL

  8. Too funny, I love your cat’s response!

  9. Snakes, ticks, and spiders top my creepy crawly list. Eeek!

    Renae from Launderlife
    Personal blog: http://launderlife.wordpress.com

  10. Jimmy says:

    I too Loved the cats response, don’t really think he was a scaredy cat was probably looking for the belly scratch 🙂

Leave a Reply

