Where’s #2?

So, tonight, #2 and #3 came over to eat dinner.  If #1 didn’t live so far away we could have had a complete family dinner, but it was fun and great food nonetheless.  True to form for our family we were talking about different happenings and somehow the subject came around to me and my forgetfulness.  I believe I just went over this the other day on my post on stress and how I sometimes forget things (mild understatement) when I’m stressed.  I know I related the instance of how I had forgotten about her being honored at the Board of Education when she reminded me of the time I forgot HER.  Yes, HER.  I guess I had just sort of blocked that out of my mind (or maybe I just forgot?).

I believe #2 was either a junior or senior in high school, which means #1 was either a senior in high school or a freshman in college.  None of us seem to be too keen on the details of WHEN it occurred just that it DID.  I’m thinking it was probably #2 was a junior and #1 was a senior because of the time line.  #1 was working at a particular restaurant that she only worked for a short while and I believe it was when she was a senior.

I do remember that we all went to a movie (except #3, I think she was at a friends) and for some reason #1 was with us and #2 had #1’s car.  We met at the movies and after the movie was over #1 had to go to work.  I remember that #2 left the movie theater with #1.   Now apparently we (hubby and I) thought that #2 was riding with #1 to the restaurant where #1 was working so that we could meet them there.  She says she told us she was going to show #1 where her car was parked and then coming back in to meet us and ride with us.  For some reason, either she had left her purse in #1’s car or given it to me.  I can’t remember which,  just that she did NOT have her purse with her.

Hubby and I waited a few minutes and she didn’t come back in so we assumed she was meeting us at the restaurant with her sister.  We left and drove to the restaurant and waited to be seated.  When #1 came to the table to take our order, she asked where #2 was. We told her we thought she was with HER.  About that time my cell phone rang. It was #2 wanting to know if we were mad at her?  Why had we left her at the mall by herself.  Since she didn’t have her purse with her she didn’t even have a quarter to call us from the pay phone. She had to stop some random person and BORROW a quarter to call us.  Needless to say, it did not take me long to make the trek BACK to the mall to retrieve my kid.

Told you I was forgetful.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Stories About My Kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Where’s #2?

  1. suzicate says:

    Poor Sabu! I’m sure she was calm and collected, just shaking her head about her crazy folks.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yeah, she was saying last night, “It’s not like I was a LITTLE kid and could go find mall security or something, I was like almost 18 and I felt like such a dork …yeah, my parents forgot me, just waiting for them to come pick me up.” She could drive… she just didn’t have a car, or her purse or any money or anything with her. In fact, i think I probably didn’t answer the phone when she called because I didn’t recognize her number and she had to leave a voice mail. Such a bad mommy moment! I think we had both blocked that out for a reason! LOL

  2. That’s terrible, Peg. Hysterical, but terrible! LOL!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know. I had forgotten (or tried to) until she reminded me last night. At least I guess I didn’t scar her too terribly bad that she can laugh about it now!

  3. Ron says:

    Oh, Peg….you have no idea how much I can relate to this post!

    For the past 5 years, I’ve been getting SO forgetful. I write everything down on little pieces of paper to help me not to forget, and then I end up missplacing the damn papers, so I end up FORGETTING.

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    I think I should try tying strings around my fingers.

    Oh, but wait….I can’t remember where I put the spool of string.

    HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA!

    Great post!

    Hope you’re having a memorable day!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I do the same thing! I write myself notes and lose the notes! Or put somewhere for “safe-keeping” but the safest part is I can’t remember where I thought was safe. Maybe I should have tied the string around #2?

      And to have a memorable day, I’d have to have memory…. right? LOL

  4. Hadassah says:

    That’s great Peg. I’m still laughing…oops!!!

    I love how she said, “Are you guys mad at me?” Poor girl.

  5. terrepruitt says:

    I don’t know, I think this is more of a “miscommunication” than a “forgetfulness” thing. But whatever y’all call it, it is funny. So nice to have stories like this to laugh about.

    Poor “Say: Boo”. 😉

  6. Angelia Sims says:

    Hey!
    That’s a lot to keep track of! My mom had four kids and left me at a grocery store so I can relate to #2! LOL.

    What a cute story and I’m glad it turned out ok. Where was the purse?

    I really can’t remember anything anymore. I think time goes by faster as I’m older because I’m always looking for something – and never find it! HA.

  7. This. Is. Priceless.
    LMAO, thanks.

  8. Pingback: The (Crayon) Writing is on the Wall « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

