The Murse

Yesterday I had to brag on hubby so today I have to tell on him. Hubby is forever teasing my about my purses. He says that I can stuff more junk inside one purse than any person he’s ever seen. He SWEARS that my purses start out as change purses but by the time I’m done with them they are the size of suitcases because I’ve stretched them out so much. 

It’s not MY fault that I have to carry so much junk around. When the kids were little I had to always carry their stuff so that I didn’t have to carry their diaper bag AND my purse everywhere I went. At any given time when they were little you could go through my purse and find diapers, wipes, pacifiers, toys, creams, lotions, bibs, and a change of clothes. 

As they got older, they items morphed, even though it was still pretty much all about them. There would be kid’s books, kids toys, brushes, ribbons, hair bows, kids Tylenol, snacks (always cheerios), pens, pencils, crayons and gum. 

As they got to be teens, and they gravitated towards sports, there’d be Tylenol, Advil, Pamprin, Aspercream, Biofreeze, gum, money for snacks, snacks, tampons, pads, ace bandages, pompoms, you name it and you could probably find it in my bag. Once (when the kids were still toddlers) my hubby told me I could never have an affair and when I asked him why he’d say that he looked at me like I was a total idiot and with a completely straight face said “Because they’d know you’re a mom because you have diapers and kids stuff in your purse!” AFTER I quit laughing I said ‘Honey, if I was going to have an affair, do you REALLY think they would CARE if I had kids?” Yeah, I thought it was a weird reason too. 

Then I also ended up with stuff for HIM too. And I’d have a book for me and my glasses and my sunglasses, check book, calendar (how else am I supposed to keep up with 3 kids and 2 adults schedules?) wallet, gum and snacks and usually bills that need to be paid, things that need to be dropped off, magazines or pamphlets for various kid’s fundraisers…. I’m sure you get the picture. 

This is a picture of the change purse/make-up bag that my husband says my purse usually starts out at: 

makeup bag

This is the actual purse I’m carrying right now: 

MY PURSE

Here is a side by side for comparison: 

make-up case vs. purse

 Several years ago, hubby starting carrying a briefcase back and forth to work. This is NOT one of those hard sided box like briefcases. It’s soft sided leather and is more of a computer bag than anything. Here is a picture of his “briefcase”. 

the murse

I started teasing him because I told him it looked like a purse. He carries his glasses, his pens, his paperwork (just like I carry in my purse) so then I told him it’s just a man’s version of a purse or for lack of a better word, I call it his “murse”. He gets mad at me every time I call it that, but, it’s a perfect description. It’s a Man pURSE so it is a murse. He swears it’s nothing like a purse but we BOTH know it is. He usually has it in the van wherever we go. 

Yesterday we had to go to Home Depot to pick up some storm doors that we had ordered for the house. To make more room for the storm doors, hubby took out both of the back seats in the van so it’s just the two “captain’s chairs” and then the BIG open space in the back. The ONLY thing back there yesterday morning when we went to get the doors was his murse. 

We went in to let them know we were there to pick up the doors and the customer service cashier told us to go pull the van under the awning and that we could just wait for whoever to bring the doors out to us. We sat there until we saw the guy come out with the dolly with the doors on it. Hubby got out of the van and opened it cargo door so they could like the doors in and the young employee that was helping load them in turns to me and says “Ma’am, would you mind moving your purse so that I can slide the doors in?” It didn’t dawn on me at first what he said and I asked him to repeat what he said and he said “Ma’am, can you move your purse?” and pointed to hubby’s MURSE. I about fell out of the van but before I could compose myself hubby pipes up (all indignant) and says “THAT is NOT a purse… it’s my BRIEFcase”. I laughed and said “No, it’s his MURSE.” Then the guys stumbles all over himself back tracking trying to cover over what he said and making it worse said “I’m sorry, I thought it was your wife’s pocketbook. Look’s like a pocketbook to me!” 

Now, I don’t care WHO you are, THAT is funny stuff!!!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Murse

  1. Hadassah says:

    Victory my dear! It’s been officially declared a murse!!

  2. suzicate says:

    HAHAHAHA…I can’t tell the boys, they will be so disappointed that Uncle carries a murse…they will tell him to stuff his stuff in a backback or a duffle bag…on ocaasion they use their computer bags, but they look like computer bags/briefcases. But that’s ok, we love him even if he carries a purse, I mean murse, no I mean briefcase (that is what HE calls it, right?).

  3. Ron says:

    ““Ma’am, would you mind moving your purse so that I can slide the doors in?””

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA….OMG, how FUNNY!!!!!

    And I absolutely LOVE your name for hubby’s briefcase…MURSE! To me, it actually looks like a diaper bag! Please don’t tell him I said that though – HA!

    I too carry a murse. You have to, when you live in a city. I have two. One, that’s a leather backpack. And one, that actually looks like a purse (a Europen-looking man bag). And like you, I have it STUFFED with so much stuff! I find that the smaller the bag, the less crap I’m prone to stuff in it.

    Hey, I love your purse. Gucci?

    Great post, Peg!

    Hope you’re enjoying a great Saturday!
    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s actually Guess. I got it for a great price at Marshalls! I love to bargain shop.

      And yes, if I had a smaller bag I’d carry less stuff but what if I NEED something that I can’t stuff in a little bag? Maybe THAT’S why my back hurts so much! LOL

  4. NikNik says:

    I guess I get it honestly. Hubs and the guys at work are always astounded because whatever they ask for- I’ve got it (lotion, sanitizer, gum, change for video games, chapstick, asprin, etc). They make fun of me for it but guess who they always come running to when they are in need?

  5. terrepruitt says:

    My husband has a murse–actually it is a camera bag. But he stopped using it so much because people are so judgmental. It totally makes sense to me—espeically now-a-days with all the gadgets we have—that a man needs something to carry his stuff in. I would rather walk around with my husband and his “murse” than ME having to carry all his stuff in my purse.

    We should start reminding people that men of wealth did carry purses because that is where they kept all their gold, right?

  6. Angelia Sims says:

    HA HA HA HA!

    That is too funny. Where is his guy card?!? j/k!

    I wish Jason carried a murse. I always have to carry his needles and glucose monitor and pen. Not to mention his glucose tablets. Gee!
    I just upgraded to a giant purse for more stowage. It’s awesome! (except for the shoulder pain)

    🙂

  7. I love man-purses – Murses! I never even thought of calling them that XD. But that’s a great name. The thing is, even though I laugh at the men who have murses, I do completely understand where they’re coming from… Once you start carrying all your stuff around, you get addicted to it – you never ever want to not have a book, a pack of kleenex, advil, sunglasses, a magazine, the calendar, your cellphone etc. etc. etc. accessible to you.

  8. A lot of Alex’s colleagues carry “Man Purses”. Alex just uses cargo pants stuffed full in all pockets. I think I prefer the Murse look to the lumpy panted look!

  9. Jimmy says:

    OK Peg,

    I’m with you on this one, it doesn’t look like a briefcase to me but what do I know huh Ha Ha

    Murse would be a good name and if it works for him thats OK, I don’t see myself with a man purse but you know what happens when you say the N word—-I always get shown different when I say Never.

  10. Counter Culture Clown says:

    Mr. Greg Behrendt says it all: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=31F352-bF2A

  11. Teri Smieja says:

    That is funny. There was Seinfeld episode about this very thing – they called it a man bag. 😉

    • pegbur7 says:

      I like murse better and now everytime my hubby does something I’ll say “I feel a blog coming on!” or he’ll look at me and say “You’re not gonna blog about this are you?” DUH! 🙂

      • terrepruitt says:

        My husband loosk at me and says, “You are NOT going to blog about this.” or “I better not read about this on your blog.” He wasn’t happy I posted our “sheet schedule”. Silly Man!

      • pegbur7 says:

        I told mine, if you do something that I think is funny or stupid and then you’re stupid enough to TELL me about it… darn right I’m blogging. I tell him EVERYTHING he does is potential blog fodder.

  12. This is an awesome post. Thanks to the lovely Terre Pruitt for directing me here. HA. Does he have a Manzire as well as the Murse?

    Beautiful….the best part was someone else pointing out that, yes, that is a purse. A manly one, of course, but it’s a purse.

    When will men understand that it’s ok? Women have been doing man’s work for years, so it’s ok for them to long to be us in some fashion.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks for stopping by. I hope you’ll check out some of my other past posts. No, no Manzire but maybe I know some guys who need one! Not hubby though. He’s fine just the way he is. And I did love that the Home Depot guy pointed it out. It was PRICELESS….

  13. LisaF says:

    This made me laugh! How true. It reminded me of Army Wife’s “diaper bag,” which is really a large purse she retitled because she wanted to be a “hip, young mamma.” It boggled the mind how much she could get in there. We dubbed it the Mary Poppins Diaper Bag. You can see everything she got in it under one of my 5 Good Things post, http://peripheralperceptions.wordpress.com/2009/12/06/five-good-things-5/

Leave a Reply

