Hide in Plain Sight

This post is brought to you by way of Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop and prompt 3.) Whom did you hide from?  Write about a hiding place you haven’t used for a while.
(inspired by writersfix.com) 

Writers's workshop

 

When I graduated from high school I ended up moving to North Carolina to live with my older sister.  She is seven years older than me and at the time she was separated from her husband. To say that we liked to go out and have a good time was probably putting it a little mildly.  Even though she had a 7 year old son, we weren’t really into the being around kids thing…at least I wasn’t anyway.  We had moved into a duplex and in the duplex next door a young single mother with two young daughters moved in.  The daughters were probably 4 and 6 or maybe 6 and 8. 

These little girls LOVED to come over and visit us and they NEVER knew when to leave.  And when they WERE there they talked incessantly.  They did NOT know how to shut their little mouths.  I don’t think they ever even took time to breathe.  They went on and on with their nonstop nonsensical chatter.  You know how Seinfeld was “the show about nothing”?  Well, if there were reality shows back then, they would have been the reality show about nothing because that is what their chatter seemed like.  You know those Charlie Brown cartoons when the teacher would be talking and it would just sound like “wah wah wah wah wah”?  That’s what I heard most of the time when they talked.  I think you get the picture. 

Now we TRIED not to be mean or rude to these little girls because they just wanted someone to pay attention to them because their mom was usually either too tired from having worked all day, or too busy with her “boyfriend of the month” club.  I’m sure she loved her little girls but she was all too happy to have them come over to our duplex and bother us so that they would be out of her hair.  And I really did TRY to show an interest in them but I was only a teenager myself and I was too busy having my own fun.  I’m not gonna lie to you.  I TRIED to hide from them whenever I could.  Usually we just wouldn’t answer the door and eventually they would get tired of knocking and calling our names and they would go back home and we would come out of hiding. 

If we didn’t have the front door closed, we always kept the screen door locked so they would stand outside the door with their little faces pressed up against the screen like little puppy dogs and call our names in their little sing song voices over and over and over.   Yeah, I know it was mean of us.  Quit judging, you know you’d have done it too!  Well, maybe not, but, I was a young dumb kid myself.  

Of course we wouldn’t be sitting right there in the living room and ignore them. We weren’t THAT cruel!  But if we were in the other room or happened to see them before they got to the door and saw US we would high tail it to the kitchen or one of our bedrooms.  If we were right there in the living room we would open the door and welcome them in and suffer through the jibber jabber assault with dignity and finesse.  Well, maybe not, but we sat there and pasted a sweet smile on our faces and pretended to be interested so as not to hurt their delicate little feelings. 

A few times we even ducked down behind our sofa and would stay there, crouched on our hands and knees until we heard them pitter patter back down the steps.  One day we were in the living room when we saw them running across the driveway and we had already pawned off my nephew (my sister, not me… he wasn’t MINE- again, don’t judge…) on one of his friends since we were getting ready to go out dancing.  We didn’t have time to run and we definitely didn’t have time to sit there for hours listening to the sweet little ramblings from the sweet little bitties from next door.  We were trapped!!! Or WERE we?  WE both dove over the back of the sofa, giggling like little girls ourselves because we were SO smart to think of that in such a hurry. 

There we were crouched down behind the sofa, on our hands and knees, trying not to snicker loud enough for them to hear us because then they’d NEVER go away.  We are so enthralled with our own brilliance that we didn’t even notice…… until…… 

“Whatcha doing back here….on the floor?” 

What the HECK?  Neither of us even thought about the fact that my nephew had run out to go to his friend’s house and neither of us had relocked the screen door and when they apparently heard us snickering at our now NOT so brilliance they just let themselves in!  BUSTED!!! 

We quickly stammered out that we were playing a game, lest they go back and report to mommy that we were hiding from them behind our sofa!  So, not only did we hide from them, but we LIED about it when we got busted for it!  Needless to say I didn’t try to hide behind the sofa from them anymore.  It was a good hiding spot for a while and we had a good little run but we had to stop running and face the music.  That sweet music that can only be made by a child who has your undivided attention!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Hide in Plain Sight

  1. suzicate says:

    Doesn’t God have a sense of humor? Then he blessed you with three nonstop nonsensical chattering little girls! Different when you’re older and they’re yours! Funny story! Surprised the sister didn’t break something when she dove over since she can usually break a bone just standing still!

    • pegbur7 says:

      She wanted to go out dancing! Can’t dance with broken stuff! Wait… if you can’t walk in spike heels and a cane or walker I guess she COULD have danced with broken bones! You know she does what she wants! LOL

  2. Aw. Sounds like they made life a little more interesting.

    Stopping by from Mama Kat’s.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks for stopping by and yes they did. As my sister replied (see SuziCate’s coment), God DOES have a sense of humor. I tried NOT to let my girls do things like that when they were little!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Oh, but payback is… well, not nice. LOL But I don’t blame you. I don’t want to entertain other people’s children and I’m a grown up.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Hadassah says:

    How funny!! Busted for sure!!!

  5. Miss. Candy says:

    There are some days I wish I could hide from my own kids…oh wait, I do…it is called a bubble bath!! lol!

    • pegbur7 says:

      That never worked in my house. I never met a lock my girls couldn’t get through. Or they’d just sit outside the bathroom door wiggling their llittle fingers under it or constantly knocking until I let them in. Truth be known, I think I was more afraid of what they’d tear up while I took the few minutes to relax! NOW I can enjoy my bubble baths if I so choose and miss them knocking on the door! GO FIGURE! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Ron says:

    OMG, Peg…what a hysterical story!!

    “You know those Charlie Brown cartoons when the teacher would be talking and it would just sound like “wah wah wah wah wah”?

    HAAHAHAHAHHAHAAHAHA….that is so funny because I know exactly what you mean! That was my favorite part of the Charlie Brown cartoons.

    Hey listen, I would have done the same thing as you. And KNOW I would have been BUSTED. But oh….how much fun!

    “wah wah wah wah wah”

    Have a faaabulous Thursday, dear friend!

    X

  7. KLZ says:

    I have sympathy for both you and those girls. I’ve been in the position with a child you don’t want the responsibility for caring for….but whose feelings you don’t want to hurt. Sucks. Sucks. Sucks.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks for stopping by, and yes, it sucks. I know the mom was just overwhelmed and welcomed the break but give ME a break. I didn’t have kids and it wasn’t MY responsibility!

  8. Lo says:

    That’s cute!

  9. I tried to hide from my own, Peg, so you aren’t that bad. Never worked, but I did try!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m sure I probably did too, more than once. I remember telling #1 once that I was going to run away and change my name. She asked me what I was going to change it to and I told her if I told her she could find me so I wasn’t going to tell her! Poor child. I think she thought I was really going to do it!

  10. That’s hilarious XD. I remember those girls from my childhood… The ones that spoke nonstop. I hated them, too… I’m sure that when I get jabbering girls or boys of my own one day, I won’t feel like that!

    Great to hear about your wild younger days, Peg 🙂 I loved it.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Oh, yes… I had some wild times, but not too bad. Can’t tell ALL my secrets! LOL And yes, God has a sense of humor since I had THREE jibber jabbers of my own!

  11. angie says:

    Well…………you shouldn’t have had to hide in the first place. Those little girls shouldn’t have been able to wander that way……..:)

Leave a Reply

