Home Cookin’

Writers's workshop

The prompts for this weeks Writer’s Workshop included describing a home cooked meal that makes you feel warm and fuzzy. I actually have two that I need to pick. One is prepared by my mom and one prepared by my hubby. I’ll start with my mom. 

My sweet Mama

My mom makes the best fried chicken in the world. In the WORLD, I tell you! I don’t know if it’s the frying pan she uses, the technique she uses or just that it’s her. I just know that NO ONE seems to be able to replicate it exactly. Oh, my husband has tried and tried, but, it’s still not quite there. Sorry honey, yours is good, but not like my mama’s (hey… wait…. Isn’t the husband supposed to say that to the wife?). 

She always uses a cast iron skillet so maybe that is part of the “secret”. I’m not sure, we have a cast iron skillet but it’s still not the same. She uses a LOT of oil in the pan and I know she cooks it slowly at first until it’s almost done and then she cranks of the heat to “brown it up”. Maybe it’s a combination of all of that which makes it so good. Pair that fried chicken up with her fresh green beans (cooked with fat back of course takes the best), mashed potatoes and Charlie bread and you have a meal too good for a king. 

If you have never had Charlie Bread, let me tell you…. Yum yum yummy. It’s corn break with real corn in it and sour cream in the mix. Like my hubby says, it will make your tongue slap your brain! I’ve tried and tried to duplicate her Charlie bread but I can’t do that either. I really do try. Again, she usually uses a cast iron skillet and I do that too, but, still no banana. Maybe it’s because I cut down the amount of oil it calls for in my “attempt” to make it healthier? It might be healthier but my mom’s still tastes better. I know when I sit down to that meal it will give me the warm fuzzies. And a bloated belly! 

Having someone cook for HIM for once!

My favorite meal that my hubby prepares is Country Steak, mashed potatoes with gravy, home-made macaroni and cheese, greens and homemade peach cobbler. I always tell people that I married hubby for his mac n cheese and peach cobbler. Sadly, I think he thinks I’m joking! He seriously is a great cook. That’s always my excuse for how I look. It’s always his fault (never mine- that I’m just too lazy to go out and exercise!). 

Now, the country steak is not country FRIED steak.  There is a difference.  It’s baked and has a yummy mushroom gravy.  You don’t even need a knife.  It’s so tender it would just about melt in your mouth.  And his mac n cheese is seriously to die for.  Rich and creamy and full of good sharp cheddar cheese.  And the greens?  I never liked greens until I ate his. In fact, the first time he made them I refused to eat them until he pouted and pouted and then I only took a tiny little bite on the tines of a fork.  I was prepared to gag because that’s what greens always did to me before.  Obviously I had never had HIS greens.  I’ve had other people say the same thing. They never liked greens until they ate his. 

 And as long as we’re talking melting in your mouth, his chocolate cream puffs are nothing to sneeze at either! The first time I came home from work and he had made cream puffs, I asked him what bakery he had bought them from.  When he told me he had made them, I scoffed and said “No, seriously… where did you get them because you can’t MAKE puffs this good AT HOME.”  I seriously did not believe he made them until I SAW him make them the next time.  I do believe my sister did a post once about how my mom got upset with hubby for throwing away what he thought weren’t “perfect” puffs.  She got mad and dug them out (they were in a plastic bag) of the trash and put chocolate pudding in them and ate them anyway.  She said “There ain’t nothing wrong with those things, don’t be wasting food!”  Don’t come between my mama and her cream puffs! 

So there you have my two meals that bring me home, whether it is my childhood home and my mama or my present home, which is wherever my hubby is.  I am so blessed. 

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Home Cookin’

  1. Your Hubby had me at chocolate cream puffs :P.

    Seriously, though, how awesome is it that you have a mom and Hubby who still cook for you? It’s good to be pampered by other people sometimes and meals are good ways to get that fuzzy warm homey comfy feeling, that’s for sure :).

    • pegbur7 says:

      I unfortunately only get my mama’s cooking a few times a year as I live in Georgia and my parents live in Virginia. I DO however savor those moments. And now that there is only going to be hubby and I at home, it’s really hard to cook for just two now! But it is nice to have someone cook for you and my hubby loves nothing better than cooking for someone else and having them enjoy his creations! He did our daughters entire wedding reception AND her wedding cake!

  2. suzicate says:

    Hands down, Mama’s fried chicken is to die for! Do you know that G still requests that when he comes to visit? Or at least he used to! She mixes her Crisco with margarine…don’t know if that’s the key. I tried it but it’s still not as good as hers. I almost had it once but have no idea what I did differently. D look like he’s trying to figure it out in that pic…he’s really thinking. And do you know with all of the talk of his cream puffs, I have never had one?! I was there the day he “messed them up” and went out for new supplies. I left before he made new ones. But yeah, I think they are the two worlds best cooks!

    • pegbur7 says:

      He just told me if we come up in July to see you that he will make you a batch at your house. Deal?

      • suzicate says:

        Deal, and I’m holding him to it!!!! I won’t tell Mama cuz she’ll knock me down and take off with them!

      • pegbur7 says:

        He said he’d go make her some of her own. Although last time I think she ate 4 in one day. He made her about 10 to leave with her to “last her” a while and I think they were gone in two days! LOL Gotta love her! (and the cream puffs)

  3. Hadassah says:

    This sounds delicious Peg. YUM!!! Cast iron skillets remind me of my mamaw. She alwasy used them.

    Creme puffs…don’t get me started! 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Trust me… they are to die for! Once he made a whole batch of the creams puffs and arranged them on a platter in a circle and then filled in the center with chocolate covered strawberries (of course that he made). I wish I had taken a picture of that!

  4. I couldn’t cook without my cast iron skillet. Plus, I can use it as a weapon. (Kidding.) I’m not letting Alex come to your house after all, Peg. He would never leave. If he got to eat what you are talking about, you’d have a new family member (explain that Navajo cousin to your neighbors!) Alex struggles with weight too. And he looks so sad when I tell him NO MORE potatoes, NO MORE rice, NO MAC & CHEESE. NO red meat! Eat this fish and salad and shut up! (Oh Lord! I am such a food Nazi.)

    • pegbur7 says:

      Hey Linda, it wouldn’t be any harder than explaining the Japanese relative! LOL We only have ONE neighbor on our street so I’m not worried. Bring it ON!! We’d love the company, remember, we’re empty nesters now (well… as of Sunday we will be).

  5. KLZ says:

    OMG, I totally want some of both. My sister tried fried chicken one Easter and hers was good with a little paprika to make it “hers” but this…I won’t tell her how good this sounds.

  6. Jimmy says:

    Now Peg you have me starving to death now, it all sounds so good that my tongue is ready to start slapping.

    Some peoples recipes you just can’t match, my Granny was one you couldn’t duplicate and Cindy’s Dad is the same way, Cindy tries to follow his to the letter but his is always better, I like it when they compete because that just makes for a lot of good eats 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      What’s funny is that I’m finding most GREAT cooks TELL you that they have told you everything and yours doesnt’ taste the same and then later you find out one LITTLE thing that they have left out (accidently on purpose? I think not!) that was probably critical! LOL As hubby says… if he tells everybody EVERYTHING there was be no reason for them to come back to him and his wouldn’t be special….hmmmmnnnnnnn

      • Jimmy says:

        There is probably a lot of truth to that Peg, like you said a secret recipe really wont be secret if you give it away.

  7. Teri Smieja says:

    If you were trying to make me hungry, you succeeded! 😉

  8. Angelia Sims says:

    To die for Fried Chicken is my WEAKNESS. My kryptonite!! Whatever you want I’ll do it just ask, my wish is your command. Just give me some of Ma’s fried chicken! LOL.

    Here’s my sign -Will work for food -including cream puffs. I really like to clean. 🙂 (for food anway) I’m a good dishwasher.

    Dang, you are one lucky chick!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, I am. See, you guys will just have to make a trek to GA this summer (remember we only live about 10 or 15 minutes from Six Flags and all those awesome rolelr coasters!) and hubby will have to cook for you! 🙂 Sounds like a plan to me!

  9. Ron says:

    My mouth was literally watering while reading this post, Peg!

    And I loved this….”it will make your tongue slap your brain!” HAHAHAHAHAHA….that’s hysterical!

    I agree, there is something about the way certain people cook/bake things that extraordinary. It’s like they’ve got a “special touch.” My fathers meat balls were that way. He also fried them in a cast iron sillet before placing them in the spaghetti sauce. They were crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. When you bit into them, they crunched. They were Bellissima!

    And listen, the next time your hubby makes those chocolate cream puffs, could you please mail me a few? They sound incredible. I’ll even pay for shipping….HA!

    Hope you had a great day!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Why don’t you just ship yourself down to Atlanta? Then you can get them while they are fresh! You know you’d always be welcome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

