From Nashville to Nickajac

Yesterday we ate breakfast at Noshville. Yea, I know we just ate lunch there Thursday but after hubby saw that they had a Southern Living article declaring them the “best breakfast in Nashville” he decided we HAD to eat breakfast there. He had read that they had the best omelette. Then we wait about 30 minutes for him to get a BLT. LOL Oh, well, it made him happy. And the rest of the breakfast was great and it had great coffee. 

Bo, SIL, #1 & Tinky

SIL had to go to work so the rest of us went to one of my FAVORITE places in the world. McKay’s Used Book Store. I don’t know if any of you guys have ever heard of it or been to it, but, it’s really unlike any “used” book store I have ever been to. It has books, CD’s, audio books, Movies, TV shows. It’s HUGE…. And the books are in good shape not nasty, smelly like most used book stores I’ve been in. I actually spent a lot more yesterday than normal, like $75 but I got two HUGE bags full of books and DVD’s and CD’s. Now I’ve just got to find time to actually READ them! 

Between Nashville and Nickajac

Then we headed toward Georgia and the sky kept looking like it was gonna fall out any second but the weather held off. We stopped at Lake Nickajac at the floating cabins. Here are some of the pics. 

Lake Nickajac from I 26

Lake Nickajac

They are pretty cool. It’s sort of like being on a docked boat but like a hotel room/suite. The one bedrooms aren’t very big but they are big enough. They have the bedroom which is barely big enough for the bed, a tiny kitchenette, then a little living room/dining room area that reminds me of an RV set up and it has a little patio on both the front and rear so you can sit and watch the sunrise or sunset or whatever. We got there and they checked us into our cabin…. #13… LOL 

Dreaded cabin #13

Hubby is EXTREMELY superstitious. He looked at me and his eyes got REALLY big. I asked him if he wanted me to ask them for another one but he said no, he’d be ok, he “guessed”. I told the girl at the desk that he was VERY superstitious and she said “Well, I GUESS I could put you in another cabin if you REALLY want me to.” But she didn’t really ACT like she wanted to change it so we took the key and went on over to cabin # 13. 

bedroom

living room

I’ve never seen hubby be so HAPPY to see a room be dirty when we checked it out! The dirty linens were still in the bathroom and there was trash in the kitchen and dirty dishes in the sink so we went back to the floating office and then they gave us #7. 

Lucky #7

living room

Much better. The walkway out to the cabins almost felt like a swinging bridge since it was floating also. The more boats that were moving the rockier the walk was. There was also a HUGE building that used to be the “power plant” for the TVA that they now use for dry dock. 

TVA building they u se as dry dock now

The floating "Galley" restaurant

They also have a floating restaurant where we ate dinner last night. It wasn’t the best or fanciest place in the world but hubby said he thought the hamburger he got was hand pattied there and was great and that is all that counts. We did get a big kick out of the fact that they touted themselves on their literature as the “finest” resort on Lake Nickajac. I think they are the ONLY resort there. FUNNY!!! 

Beginning of a beautiful sunset

more sunset

 I was impressed that the place had cable or satellite service AND it did have Wifi! But it was SO slow that it was driving me crazy. I think it had something to do with being in the mountains. 

 The biggest DOWN side was the bathroom. It was more like the bathroom on a bus except with a shower. And every time you flushed the toilet it STANK to high heaven. I’m not just saying it smelled bad… it GAGGED me. Seriously. 

It was like a cross between the worst sewer smell you’ve smelled and fish. Seriously… it stank THAT bad. I dreaded every time I had to go to the bathroom because I didn’t want to flush. I know, TMI, BUT, it was some serious STANK smell. This morning both hubby and I brushed our teeth in the kitchen because we couldn’t stand the smell in the bathroom and we closed the bathroom door all night so it wouldn’t seep into the bedroom or living room. 

And the shower was TINY. It was like trying to fit two pounds of sausage in a one pound casing. It was little, which made me slightly claustrophobic and the water only had two temperatures. You could have a cold shower or a FREEZING shower. Seriously. I mean, the knob would only go up and down to turn the water off and on, and you couldn’t turn it right or left to turn it hot or cold. And the sink had hot water so I don’t understand why the shower didn’t. I mean, you could seriously only turn the shower faucet a millimeter, no probably only a micrometer (if there is such a thing) and it literally only went colder when you did that. It was so cold I was seriously considering asking hubby to come in and pour my boiling coffee over the shower curtain and onto my body because I was so cold. 

our floating walkway

Last night after dinner we went riding around “the town”. It was funny because we had asked the lady at the restaurant where the nearest grocery store was so that we could buy coffee and snacks or a Starbucks… Her response (after she asked the gentleman behind the bar and laughed about me asking if there as a Starbucks) was “I reckon you can buy whatever you need at the Shoppette”. But, it was EXTREMELY over priced. A TINY jar of INSTANT coffee was like $4. After we made our purchases at the “convenience” store we drove around the town and decided they had a 3 to 1 ratio of bars to churches. And the bigger number was bars…. NOT churches. I wish I had gotten a picture but I was driving, but, their local “sports/biker” bar was literally a double wide trailer! How could that even be SAFE? Seriously… a double wide trailer and it had a couple dozen Harleys parked out front with their neon beer signs in the windows. It was hilarious. 

boat docks

The second largest industry seemed to be fireworks stores. Hubby and I were making up conversations that we would imagine these people would have. Like “Hey Bubba, whatchu wanna do when you git off work tonight?” “I dunno… why don’t we go to the biker bar and then shoot off some fireworks?” They seriously had more bars than restaurants! And after we had driven about ten miles we finally saw one actual grocery store. That was it. They did have a couple of banks and pharmacies and the busiest place we saw (besides the biker bar) was the sonic drive in! 

from our front patio/pier

After settling in for the night, the biggest thing to get used to was when the cabin would float into the dock and bump really hard. If you weren’t thinking about it you really would have to think about what the heck just happened! And a few times, I don’t know if it was because hubby has kind of a sinus infection going on or if it was just the rocking and rolling of the cabin, but he was stumbling around like he was drunk! Around midnight it started to rain and I loved the way it sounded hitting the lake and the roof, but, it did make the cabin a little more ‘pitchy”. And as long as it was dark and I couldn’t see what was going on I was fine, but, this morning, after I was getting ready and I had the blinds open and could see from the cabin next to us just how much we were moving, then I got a little woozy feeling. 

All in all it was a great experience. You can rent the one bedroom for as low as $75 a night which is cheaper than a hotel room and the sofa in the living room pulls out so it can sleep 4! Their 3 bedroom has two baths and two pull out sofas in the living room and rents for $1000 for a whole week, which is really cheap considering it comfortably sleeps 10. That’s $100 a person for a whole week! Hubby said he didn’t know if he could take it for a whole week though. But you can fish off your pier or your living room and I think they rented boats and jet skis and they had miniature golf! What’s NOT to love about that?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to From Nashville to Nickajac

  1. Those cabins sound so incredible! Yes, a little uncomfortable, but it sounds like such a romantic getaway, hanging on the lake… Plus, now your hubby knows he’d never want to live on a house boat :P.

  2. suzicate says:

    Sounds like a cool place…a lot like being on a houseboat. Very pretty, also.

  3. Wow Peggy, this sounds so cool. I’ve always wanted to stay on a houseboat; this sounds like the next best thing. I love your description of the town.
    Enjoy!

  4. Spot says:

    The cabins look awesome! Who wouldn’t want to fish off their own front porch?! And I think the rocking would be lovely. I’m pretty sure I’d be feeding hubby motion sickness pills though. Lol.

    Glad you had a good time! That’s the important thing. =]

    ♥Spot

  5. Peggy, I’m not going there. It sounds scary to me. I know there are really pretty views and all, but I worry about snakes coming in off the water, and serial killer bikers rampaging thru the town, and how in the hell do I get through a day without Starbucks! LOL!

    In Paris, the first hotel we stayed in was so tiny only one of us could go up on the elevator at a time. The bathroom was closet sized (small closet) and you could not turn around in the shower. You also had to climb across the bed to get to the other side of the room. Yeah, it’s like that! Still, it was an adventure, as your weekend was! Some good, some bad but all pages in the memory book. Great photos’ and post!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Linda. Yeahm, you have to watch out for the killer bikers & snakes though! LOL

      At least there wad just enough room at the bottom of the bed to walk around it instead of climbing over the bed!

  6. Jane says:

    What an adventure! And your husband’s superstitions/response to Cabin #13 made me snort my tea!

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Wow! What GREAT pictures. I love them. Thank you so much for sharing.

    What a beautiful country we live in. I forget sometimes because I live in a California city and we don’t have trees like you guys have.

    I think it is great that you guys had a little adventure. Fun.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • pegbur7 says:

      It was an adventure. Impromptu and fun! We drive through there all the time going to my daughter’s house in Nashville & hubby decided to just stop somewhere so I googled it and that’s what I came up with!

  8. Ron says:

    Ok, first of all I have to tell you that these photos are FAAAAABULOUS, Peg!!!

    I loved the sunset one because I’m such a sunset person!!!

    I know I would have LOVED this place because of the surroundings. I really like being near the water. The place is GORGEOUS and the little cabins are so damn cute. Your description of the bathroom sounded like the size of mine in my studio apartment. It’s soooo tiny!

    Oh, I wish I could have been there with you guys. I could just see us sitting on the deck, sipping some red wine and laughing!

    Thanks for sharing, dear lady!

    Enjoyed!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, I love sunsets too. I love sunrises but I’m too lazy to get up early enough to enjoy them though.

      And I love being around the water. Maybe because I’m a Pisces. Are you a water sign too?

      And I could SO see us sitting out there on the deck with a nice glass of vino! Some day we’re going to have to get to Philly or you’re gonna have to come to Atlanta so we can meet “for reals”… LOL

  9. Hadassah says:

    I meant to comment on this earlier.

    Very very pretty. Can I be transported there immediately?

Leave a Reply

