You Can Quote Me On That

quotes

In my head I have a random conversation going something like this:

“Go ahead. Make my day!”

“Whachu talkin’ bout, Willis?”

“I’m saying you need to ask yourself…Are you feeling lucky today?”

“Tomorrow, after all is another day!”

“Are you talkin’ to ME?”

 “Say hello to my little friend!”

 “But, I don’t know nuthin’ ‘ bout birthin’ no babies, Miz Scarlett!”

“Well, maybe it’s a brain tumor!”

“It’s NOT a TOOOMA!”

Yeah, tell me the truth!

“The truth?  You can’t HANDLE the truth!”

“But I see dead people.”

“Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!”

“Then beam me up Scotty!”

“Good night, John Boy!”

So, yes, I guess I do use movie  or tv or other quotes.  Sometimes when I don’t even think about it, they will randomly pop into my head and out of my mouth, uncensored and unfiltered.  It’s like a geyser!  They just spew forth with no rhyme or reason.  It’s not like I could stop them even if I tried.   I don’t even know I am going to say them sometimes.  It’s like those little SBD farts…. Oops… there it goes again…Sorry!  But they just kind of seep out and attack your senses when you least expect it.  Sometimes not so bad but other times they send you reeling!

I think of myself as a fairly witty person. Of course my ex-sister in law used to. when I would say “I’m so witty!”, would counter with “Yes, but that’s only HALF true!” It took me years to figure out she was insulting me by calling me a half wit!  I never claimed to be the brightest light in the harbor now did I?  See?  There I go again… Maybe that’s why she is an EX sister in law? Hmmmnnnn

I randomly find myself saying things in situations that have NOTHING at all to do with the movie they are from… like when I /we can’t solve a problem that’s being worked on I might pop up with “I think we’re gonna need a bigger boat!”  Hmmmnnnn…. Are we going fishing here?  Are we near water at ALL?  No, but, it seems appropriate and more importantly FUNNY at the time!   And you know me… I’m all about making someone laugh.  It’s like a drug to me.

Or when I’m trying to get my point across and failing miserably at it I will sometimes say “Let me ‘splain” As in “Lucy, you got some ‘splainin’ to do!” (I used to love I Love Lucy).  Am I Latino, or married to one? Or a fiery red head?  Or is my name Lucy?  Nope, but it just pops in the head so I HAVE to say it.

So, as a forewarning, lots of times, I write just like I talk.  So, it makes sense in my HEAD when I’m writing it down and when I read it, but since YOU don’t know what the heck I’m thinking it may make absolutely NO sense to you whatsoever. 

That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!  And you can quote me on that!  🙂   Have a nice day ’cause otherwise, you know… shit happens….

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to You Can Quote Me On That

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Yup. Makes perfect sense to me. My hubby and I do that all the time. But if I was in the least bit witty I would be commenting using a line. But they don’t come to me when I am trying to think of one they just pop into my head at other times. Yes?

    • pegbur7 says:

      Are you a half-wit too? LOL I’m suer you’re a whole wit! 🙂 I hate it when something witty comes to mind AFTER the conversation is over and I can’t use it…sometimes it just pops out anyway and then it REALLY doesn’t make sense. Like I said. NO FILTER>>>

      • terrepruitt says:

        I just can’t think of them on demand. They do seem to flow better in a situation. My Hubby is sooooooo king of quotes because he can remember entire scripts from movies so he can just pop a line out at anytime. Most of the time he has to explain it to me though (because I don’t remember movie lines) and so it loses something.

  2. suzicate says:

    You’re always so quick…I can’t remember any quotes. Are you sure my kids don’t belong to you? Great spin!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Kinda sorta? I mean they ARE related and your eldest and my middle look m ore like brother and sister than I think all of us do! Know what I mean?

  3. I worked on JAWS from 1995-1997 at Universal Orlando, “We’re going to need a bigger boat” was tattooed across my thoughts for two whole years. I can smile about it. Now. 🙂
    You’re linked!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks! That comes to mind a LOT… I used to date a guy whose parents owned a movie theater about the time that movie came out and I spent a LOT of time there since he worked the projector sometimes… I must have seen that movie at least 2 dozen times! 🙂

  4. Ron says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHA!

    OMG, I LOVED this post, Peg!!!!!

    No, I would say your are extrememly witty. And you write how you talk, that’s the way it should be.

    You and I are SOOOOOOO similar in SOOOOO many ways. I too use lines from movies. They just pop out of my mouth.

    “Lucy, you got some ‘splainin’ to do!”

    Brava….and I LOOOOOOVE Lucy!!!

    Happy Friday, dear friend!
    X

  5. I’m sorry but that witty being only half true is the funniest thing I’ve heard in a long time! Love the quotes and happy trails to you! Oh damn it Peg, now you’ve got me doing it! Of all the gin joints in the world, never mind! Have a grand weekend!

  6. Jimmy says:

    “I write just like I talk. So, it makes sense in my HEAD when I’m writing it down and when I read it, but since YOU don’t know what the heck I’m thinking it may make absolutely NO sense to you whatsoever.”

    It’s OK Peg not everyone needs to understand completely for it to be a good post because as you know “Life is like a box of chocolates” and “You never know what you are gonna get” and what we got this time sure was good.

  7. Hadassah says:

    I quoted a lot in Pretty Woman…

    “The bad stuff is easier to believe.”
    “OMG, the pressure of a name..Cinderf@ckingrella.”

  8. OMG do I understand this. I just gave up my regular ol’ cell phone…you know the kind where you make phone calls and that’s it? Anyway I now have a flip (?) phone where I now have access to a key board. This has saved me a ton of time from hunting and pecking keys. But let me tell you it still takes me two minutes to type one sentence. The hell with it I’ll just call instead. Thanks for your post…Funny!!

Leave a Reply

