Say HUH?

Sometimes you just gotta say WTF??

I was driving to my dentist this afternoon, giving myself JUST enough time to get there on time (as usual).  I got behind a pickup truck pulling a trailer with lawn equipment.  DANG… The speed limit on that road is only like 35 anyway but he’s going all of MAYBE 20.  I’m beginning to think I could park my car and walk faster when  we get to the 4 way stop and he turns left.  Woo Hoo…. I MIGHT make it on time after all! 

Then after my turn to cross the intersection I realize there is another pickup truck in front of me.  So, apparently, the one that turned off to the left was just as annoyed as I was and was going around another way to try to get in front of that truck!  So here I am  c  r  a  w  l  i  n  g at  breakneck speed (NOT) trying to keep myself amused and I notice that this truck has a sign on the back of the trailer.  I, at first thought, am thinking it’s the name of the lawn care business.   Inside the trailer is a sofa and chairs (like dining room chairs) and some kind of case or bureau or chest of drawers, a mattress, bed, etc.  I’m thinking how clever this man is to use his lawn care trailer to move.  Would the IRS allow that as a business deduction?  Hmmmnnn…… I digress….

Then I notice that there is a blue light on the top of the pickup truck?  Why would it have a blue light?  Stupid me, I immediately think to myself “Oh, I guess that’s so if they are parked on the street while they are doing someone’s yard, they can turn on the light and people will notice it?”  I never claimed to be the brightest light in the harbor.

I’m finally close enough to read the sign and it says “CAUTION – INMATE WORK DETAIL”.   OK…. WTF???  This explains the blue light!  But please…. Tell me…. WHY is there furniture on the back of a trailer for prison work detail?  Do they need the sofa and chairs so they can insure that they get frequent rest breaks?   And the mattress/bed in case they get so tired that they decide they can’t work another minute without a nap?  Are they moving (literally) the inmates?  Is someone employed by the county using county government property to move themselves personally? Are they using the trailer to move furniture to the jail or detention center?  I mean, I’ve lived in this county a LONG time and they weren’t anywhere near the jail or even between maybe somewhere they would have bought furniture and the jail. 

And as for the mattress/bed?  That brings up a WHOLE ‘nother set of questions.  I mean, isn’t that what some prostitutes might get arrested for?  Have mattress – will travel!  Yeah, that might get them in some trouble.  At least they wouldn’t have to worry about getting that write-off for the business expense of renting a room.  Hey, they’ve got their own room… right on the back of the truck.  Not much privacy though!  When I finally got to the highway where I could pass them, I saw there were only two people in the truck.  And neither of them looked like an inmate.

This truck was one of those BIG honkin’ double cab trucks.  And it was really nice and new looking.  It was a county truck because it had our county named painted down the side of it.  Maybe it was one of those they confiscated from a drug dealer?  We have lots of those vehicles in county service.  Law enforcement will confiscate the car and then have painted on the side of it “this vehicle was donated to your law enforcement agency by your local drug dealers”.  Seriously, they really do paint that on the confiscated vehicles!  Is that supposed to embarrass them into not dealing drugs because everyone knows the cops now have their car?  Or is it supposed to scare their drug dealer buddies from stopping for fear they will get their car confiscated?   Now I’m wondering if the mattress was a donation from a local friendly prostitute?

Like I said…. Sometimes you just gotta say WTF???

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Say HUH?

  1. terrepruitt says:

    OMG. You are so funny.

    I can totally understand. I wish sometimes I didn’t see some things because sometimes, it just gets me wondering WAY to much.

    You are so funny.

    I would have come home and tried to look up the information. Or taken a picture and tweeted it so people would have told me what was going on!

    • pegbur7 says:

      funny…I actually THOUGHT about taking a picture but I have a new phone that I haven’t quite mastered so I can’t do it as fast as I used to. LOL

      • terrepruitt says:

        (huff) I have an iPhone and it never seems to open the camera fast enough for me anyway.

        Next time you can be ready! LOL!

      • pegbur7 says:

        Mine is Verizon’s “cheaper” answer to the IPhone. It’s a Droid (but not the Motorola one). I had a screen protector put on it and I’ve heard that is part of the problem. It makes the screen less responsive and kind of skews it so it’s maddening. I’m sure I’ll eventualy get used to it! LOL

      • terrepruitt says:

        I only have an iPhone because my hubby had “phone envy”, but actually because of the iPod it has turned out that I need it for my buisness/job.

        That is unfortunate that something to help protect it affects it. I have had a protector on mine pretty much the whole time I’ve had it.

        You will get used to it and then we will have lots of pictures to see on your blog. The hilarity will ensue.

      • pegbur7 says:

        I hope so. Right now I end up taking videos when I try to take pics or I accidently delete them instead of saving them. I will eventually get the hang of it but in the mean time we might miss lots of photo ops!

  2. …or perhaps the mattress was confiscated as well.

    I saw a prison truck recently and was wondering why the inmates did not have any chains on them. Perhaps they were from one of those minimal security prisons.

    Excellent story,

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks. I try to make people laugh and see the humor in everyday life! I just thought that was so funny. I had all these weird thoughts running through my head. Most of which I lost by the time I sat down to write this. maybe I need to start taking a tape recorder with me to tape my thoughts? Like a doctor does his patient notes? LOL My prescriptions for laughter!!!

  3. suzicate says:

    Funny observations…wonder what the real story is…you might have guessed it.

  4. Ron says:

    OMG, I wish you had taken a picture of this, it sounded HYSTERICAL!!!

    ” I mean, isn’t that what some prostitutes might get arrested for? Have mattress – will travel!”

    HAHHAHAHAHAHAAHAHHHA….you KILL me!

    I think you nailed it.

    “Now I’m wondering if the mattress was a donation from a local friendly prostitute?”

    Yup…that’s what I think.

    WTF?????

    HA!

    Wishing you a fabu Friday, my friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think we just need to start a mutual admiration society, huh? Who cares if we are the only two members?? I LOVE your wit and humor! Have a wonderful weekend!

  5. Hadassah says:

    Oh my goodness, what an interesting journey to the dentist. At least you had humor while on your way to the “evil” place.

    Did you make it in time?? LOL!

    • pegbur7 says:

      NO, I was a few minutes late. I called though to tell them I was running late. I LOVE my dentist. A friend recommended him a few years ago and I wish I had found him YEARS ago. And he makes me laugh. He told me yesterday he’s not gonna tell me anymore good stories because I might blog about them. I told him I don’t use names! Tell me the juicy stuff!!!

  6. I think the jailer guy was moving his stuff to his new condo, and brought a prisoner along to help him unload his furniture.

    Or the jailer guy was moving a male prostitute and his stuff to a new condo after they fell in love. (Okay, I do live close to SF so that’s maybe more likely here.)

    Or two guys from the county were using the trailer to move stuff and there were no inmates involved at all.

    Or the two guys were inmates and making a run for it after they knocked off the jailer guy.

    As you say Peg, WTF!

    • pegbur7 says:

      See??? Now you’ve given me even MORE to think about…. I love the maybe it was the jailer and male prostitute… that’s gonna be my story and I’m gonna stick to it!

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Funny. Thank you. You made me laugh. There was a time when everytime I touch my phone I called my husband. I changed it so I wouldn’t, but then it called my friend.

    Well, you do such a great job describing the situation, we can live without the pics.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I am going to have to do a post on my friends adventures of texting people when she first got her IPhone. Hilarious Mis-texting or should I say accidnetal sexting!

  8. terrepruitt says:

    OMG! That sounds hilarious. I don’t text–no need. Can’t wait. I think I will sit on the floor to read that one because I know I will fall off my chair laughing.

  9. unabridgedgirl says:

    Hahah! This was funny AND weird. I would say the same thing!

  10. Woah. That is the start of a GREAT story right there! You’ve gotta write it! 😀

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m constantly remembering things I want to write about when I’m driving down the road and then forget before I get where I can write down the idea! I’m gonna start carrying a recorder!

  11. The perfect distraction on the way to the dentist! (Wow.)

  12. Spot says:

    I’d love to comment, but I’m still wondering what the hell?? I think someone was using county property to move! Shame on them!

    ♥Spot

Leave a Reply

