Tagged Again!

Atlanta 3 Day Walk for the Cure

Ok, I got tagged again. This time by Linda over at The Good, The Bad, The Worse.  I’m supposed to upen up my Photo Bucket and pick the 10th picture. As I responded last time, I couldn’t do that so this time I went to the NEXT folder and picked out the 10th pic.  This was it. 

Last year, as many of you know, I participated (read walked my ass off!) in the Komen 3day Breast Cancer Walk.  This was one of the hardest but also one of the most rewarding things I have ever done.  I believe this was either the beginning of Day 2 or Day 3 and by this time I was thoroughly exhausted so I’m sorry it’s a little blurry.  

I think last year there were walks in 17 cities across the country and I think the one in Atlanta was one of the last few.  The guy on the right hand side of the picture carrying the flag told us he had walked that year in every previous city.  I don’t remember who he was walking for, maybe his mother. But he was there. 

I remember by Day 3 there was a lot of buzzing and controversy surrounding this guy.  You see, in order to “participate” in the walk you had to raise $2,300 in donations, PER CITY, that you walked in.  I only walked in the Atlanta walk and felt very fortunate to be able to raise my $2,500 that I raised.  In this day, age and economy I felt VERY lucky to be able to come up with that much in donations, because, if you DON’T raise the money by the day of the walk, you have to agree to come up with the money YOURSELF by mid November if you haven’t gotten the donations.  

I may not personally agree with that, but every one is entitled to their opinions. They stress that it costs money to put on the walk, etc. which I am sure it does, but I think they should let you WALK no matter how much you raise.  Maybe not receive the shirt, or stay in the camp, whatever, but that’s just me.  I’m sure they have reasons for doing that. Maybe in the past they tried that way and people didn’t take it seriously?  Maybe people work harder toward making the goal if they know they are held personally responsible?  I know I couldn’t have afforded to come up with anymore than we already had. Plus you spend all that time training, and the shoes, and preparation, and gear, and all that stuff.  PLEASE don’t think I am complaining.  I think it is AMAZING what they do.  I’m just saying I think some people should have given this poor guy some slack. 

The buzz was that he hadn’t “paid” to participate in every city and wasn’t really supposed to be there.  I really don’t care whether he paid one red cent. Fact of the matter is that he kept a lot of us pumped up and really gave us incentive and when you are that dog tired it is nice to have someone (anyone) smiling at you and encouraging you to keep going.  60 miles is a LONG damn way to walk in 3 days!!! 

I was truly exhausted, spent, sore to the point I didn’t feel I could take another step every night. I admire those men and women who could get out there on the dance floor at camp at the end of the night and DANCE…. I could barely friggin CRAWL.  And the soreness???  Ay yi yi….. and on top of that… take a 50+ year old body and lay on a sleeping bag on a concrete floor for 8 hours and tell me how YOU feel?  

But I’d STILL do it all again… in fact, I AM going to do it all again.  This year, the third weekend in October, I plan to walk the Atlanta 3 day walk again.  I had actually had aspirations of crewing one walk and then walking the Atlanta one but I really don’t know if I am THAT ambitious.  I just need to get off my big fat rear and get training again and get fund raising again so that I can raise my $2,300 again and participate. 

If you would LIKE to donate, and support me,  you most certainly CAN… the website where you can donate is:  http://www.the3day.org/site/TR/2010/AtlantaEvent2010?px=3006914&pg=personal&fr_id=1461 

Any help would be greatly appreciated!  So, this is my 10th pic in that folder. Aren’t you sorry you asked? 

Oh, I walk for my aunts that have breast cancer, my niece (my brother’s stepdaughter) who was diagnosed when she was 5 months pregnant (around 25 years old at the time) and has now had it spread to her lymph nodes, her lungs, and her brain, my cousine who tested positive and opted to have the mastectomy, for Trisha (Hadassah), for my friends who I have lost to this dread disease, for my daughters and every other woman who has NOT been afflicted with this disease in hopes that they never WILL be afflicted with it.  I walk so that they can find a cure so no one else has to lose a mother, or daughter, or niece, or friend, or grandmother, or aunt, or cousin, or any other woman (OR MAN) in their life to breast cancer. 

I’m supposed to tag 5 people to participate in the picture tag but since I got off on such a tangent I’m gonna leave it up to you, my readers.  If you think it would be fun, and you’d LIKE to participate, please feel free… just open your photo folder and pick out #10, post it, explain it and then you can either tag 5 other people to play or let whoever wants to, join in! 

Sorry I’ll get off my soapbox now….

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tagged Again!

  1. Ron says:

    First, CONGRATULATIONS on raising $2, 500.00. Holy cow…that’s AMAZING!!!!

    I applaude you for your passion in being dedicated to this cause, because it’s such an important one.

    You GO, girl!

    Yeah, and I have to agree with you…I think people should be able to walk no matter how much money you raise. And obviously this “guy” had a specific purpose in walking….

    “he kept a lot of us pumped up and really gave us incentive.”

    Hope you’re having a MARVI Saturday, dear lady!

  2. Spot says:

    I think it’s amazing that you raised the money and walked!! I’ve lost a grandmother to breast cancer and my aunt is a survivor.

    I did hear though, that this walk doesn’t actually raise much money towards anything because they spend so much putting it on and publicizing it. Whether that’s true or not, I couldn’t say. But even if it doesn’t raise millions, it does get the word out, energize people and boost awareness. All of which helps.

    So kudos for you for doing your part. I may donate because I sure as heck can’t do the walk part!!

    ♥Spot

    • pegbur7 says:

      I never thought I could either! I figure if I can do it anyone can! I haven’t been training like I should though because I lost the toenail on my big toe from the walk last year and it hasn’t grown in enough to where it doesn’t hurt yt, but I’m still gonna do it. It is SO worth it. And I think MOST of the money does go to it. It’s part of the philanthropic trust I think…

  3. I really admire you for your efforts for this very worthy cause. Bless your heart! And as for the guy who walks. Bless his heart too! And raising $2500 in this economy is astounding! Good job, Peg!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Linda. And now I start over again! I am determined though. Too many people affected by it. What amazed me was the number of MALE breast cancer victims there are. I had never before thought of it being something that affects men but it does!

  4. Wray says:

    Wonderful job, Peg. Are you the one with pink? I thank you and admire you.

  5. 5kidswdisabilities says:

    What a great job! That must have been a lot of work, but you raised a lot of money. Congratulations!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  6. LisaF says:

    You are a beautiful person to put yourself through all that.

  7. Hadassah says:

    I’ll do it tomorrow hopefully.

    I just want to say thank you from the depths of my heart for walking. You do so in memory of my mother, grandmother, great-grandmother and in honor of myself, and my two aunts.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, this year, you guys are all added to my list. You were last year just without a name, as I had said I did it for ALL the women who suffered and who could not walk for themselves for whatever reason! I just have even MORE reason to do it this year!

  8. I admire you for doing it and for now planning to walk again. Living abroad, I’ve never been able to yet participate in a walk, but I definitely want to once I move back to the US.

    Isn’t breast cancer horrible? It’s so frightening, just how many women have it or get mastectomies so as NOT to have it. I had a friend who was 20 and had size D breasts, and her doctors told her she was so high risk that she needed to have her breasts reduced. She’ll live forever with those scars, and she still isn’t guaranteed not to get it.

Leave a Reply

