No One Asked Me to Sing Along

  

Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop

Todays post is part of Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop.  The prompt I chose was:  Write a list of 5 or 10 sentences that begin with the words ‘No one ever asked me’; then, write about one of them in detail, or use them all in a poem, or use several in a personal description of yourself.
(writingfix.com) 

My choice? 

  1.  No one ever asked me to join a choir
  2. No one ever asked me to join a dance troop
  3. No one ever asked me to bake them a cake
  4. No one ever asked me to be a cheerleader
  5. No one ever asked me to operate on them

I try to make you better when you don’t feel well… 

I fix your boo boos, your hurts and your spills. 

I try to make things better when you feel like hell. 

But love alone can’t remedy your ills… 

I give you sustenance to keep you alive 

I fry, bake or broil, whatever it will take. 

But it doesn’t matter how I help you thrive 

Because no one ever asked me to bake them a cake. 

I’ll stand in your corner and rally your cause… 

I’ll stand up to your foes and I’ll swallow my fear. 

The things that I do should not give you pause 

But no one ever asked me if I wanted to cheer. 

I can’t translate the feeling, the tempo, the beat….. 

That I feel in my heart, I’m in a trance. 

I can feel the rhythm from my head to my feet… 

But no one asked me to join in their dance. 

I can hear the music in my head as it splatters…. 

Who cares that the tune I would sing is all wrong? 

I don’t know the words or think that it matters… 

Because no one ever asked me to sing along.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to No One Asked Me to Sing Along

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    Bravo my dear! Great post excellent writing. The life and times of a mom. You did it wonderfully. I know your family appreciates you so much.

    🙂

  2. pegbur7 says:

    Thanks. I was really nervous about trying to do a poem…. it’s been YEARS! I HOPE they appreciate me! I know I appreciate them.

  3. terrepruitt says:

    You must have had that poem in you that you wanted to share because you chose the prompt and wrote a poem. It was a love poem.

    🙂

  4. This is absolutely incredible. I LOVE it. I think I read it through about three times, and I just think it’s amazing!

    • pegbur7 says:

      THANK you. That touches my heart! I;m so glad you enjoyed it! I used to write poetry a lot when I was younger. Just haven’t in years.

      • Well, I can only say this – I think you have a talent for it. Maybe it took the time and experience between high-school and today to be able to return to it, but I’m glad that you are!

      • pegbur7 says:

        Thank you so much. You have no idea how much it means to have someone actually say that to me! I really do appreciate it.

  5. suzicate says:

    I think you’re trying to prove something to Dwight today, thus the poem. Good job.

  6. Sabu says:

    That was wonderful momma!! And we do appreciate you – more than i can express with words. Love you – #2

  7. Spot says:

    It was a really good poem. Ah, the sacrifices of motherhood, eh? How sweet that your daughter commented!

    ♥Spot

  8. Hadassah says:

    Brilliant! I loved it!

  9. Just lovely! Wow! You’re good, Peg!

  10. NikNik says:

    Wonderfully done Mama!!! And we do appreciate you! Everyday- even if we don’t show it like we ‘sposed to…love you so much mama!

  11. Ron says:

    OMG, Peg…I am SOOOOO impressed!!!!

    applause…applause…applause!!!

    Holy cow, how did you do this???? It totally blew me away!

    The writing talent in your family is MEGA!

    ROCK ON, girl!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! That means a lot coming from you. I used to write a LOT of poetry when I was younger but stopped LONG ago. I guess maybe I should S L O W L Y maybe get back to it.

  12. LisaF says:

    This is wonderful! I so wish poems/prose would come off my fingers like that. You truly have a gift.

  13. Well said I really enjoyed it.

  14. Helen says:

    That was beautiful.

  15. Susie says:

    I really enjoyed your expression of how a mother feels. No one ever asked you because they didn’t have to. It is innate in a mother’s love to do all the things you mentioned above. There is no need to ask…it is like breathing. It just happens. Great job.

  16. I liked this so much I tagged you again!

  17. Mama Kat says:

    I love this!! Poems are so fun to write and you did a really good job of describing what it’s like to have that unconditional love in this one! 🙂

Leave a Reply

