Someone Stole My Laptop!

Last weekend a whole group of us went to Dallas, TX for a conference.  I roomed with one of my very best friends in the world, AH, and another friend, Nita. 

The trip down was VERY long as we got a “stowaway” in our vehicle with us that none of us were expecting to ride with.  Without going into a LOT of detail, let’s suffice it to say that NONE of the 3 of us knew this gentleman and he was supposed to ride in another car group.  Somehow we got stuck with him.  It’s not that he was an awful person, but, why the end of the almost 12 hour car ride he was lucky one of us hadn’t suffocated him with a pillow in his sleep!  We ditched that negative Nelly as soon as we got to Dallas and never looked back! 

We had a great weekend (after the ditching).  We learned a lot, had great food, great times.  On Thursday we had a GREAT speaker, Gary Coxe, who spoke about facing our fears and not letting them hold us back.  In this case, his demonstration was a woman he picked from the audience who was deathly afraid of snakes and by the end of the evening he had her holding that snake in her hands!  So the weekend theme became “Handling your snake!”  

Friday night I actually got to meet in person another friend I’ve “met” through the blogosphere, Angelia over at Living, Loving, Laughing.  It was wonderful. We had a great time and it was so good to meet someone so wonderful that I would probably never have had an opportunity to meet had it not been for our bloggy family here.  

ME & the Angelias

 

We went to a nice Mexican restaurant, Uncle Julios, and then went to a Karaoke bar.  AND I HELD MY SNAKE!  I have NEVER sung in public for anyone and I did it!  I’m not saying I did it well, but I did it.  The most terrifying thing I’ve ever done.  And she still liked me! 

Karaoke! Handling my snake!

 

Saturday was continuing education all day and an 80’s party that night which was a lot of fun.  Brought back lots of memories.  So by Sunday morning we were tired.  We took our time getting up and getting packed.  We loaded the car and went across the street to eat lunch at Denny’s before we hit the road. My friend, AH, has a Subaru Baja.  It has an open bed like a pickup truck, not a trunk.  

AH has a Baja like this

 

After we finished eating, we determined that Nita was going to drive first so my friend AH could do some work while we were traveling. Nita and I hopped in the front seat while AH went to the bed of the baja to get her laptop.  The next thing we hear is: 

AH:  Hey guys?  Where did you put my laptop? 

ME and Nita (almost simultaneously):  In the back, in the extender part. 

AH:  Are you SURE? 

Us:  Yes, we packed it in there right before we came over here. 

AH:  OMG… someone stole my laptop!   OMG. OMG. OMG… I KNOW better than to leave it in the back of the vehicle. We don’t know this area. I can’t BELIEVE that we did that!  All my stuff was on there! 

By now Nita and I are out of the Baja and headed to the back of it: Did you look UNDER the garment bag?  That’s where we put it. 

AH:  No, it’s not here. 

Me (after moving the garment bag and now pointing to her grey laptop bag):  Here it is!  Right here… 

AH:  THAT is NOT my bag. I swear it’s not. Where  did you get that bag? 

Nita and I exchange a confused glance:  That’s the bag that has been in the hotel room ALL weekend! 

AH:  No, it’s NOT my bag, I swear it’s not! 

Me:  Did you LOOK in the bag?  

AH:  But it’s NOT my bag! 

I open the bag and pull out a laptop:  Ummm, is this your laptop? 

AH:  WOW… yeah. But, that’s NOT my bag!  They stole my bag and left me theirs… I swear that’s not my bag. 

Me:  What else did you have in the bag?  Files or anything? 

AH:  No, I cleaned them all out of my bag before I left. It was just my computer, and my wireless card and my laptop cord. 

Me:  WHY would someone steal your bag and go to the trouble to transfer YOUR computer to their bag and leave it?  AH, I swear that I’m pretty sure that is the bag that has been in our hotel room all weekend! 

I look in the side pocket and there were her wireless card and laptop cord. 

Me:  This HAS to be your bag. Here’s your wireless card and your power cord. 

AH:  I’m just so confused… why would someone steal my bag? 

Nita and I both tried to convince her it WAS the bag that had been in our room all weekend and if she had cleaned out her bag and there was nothing in it and she still had her computer, cord & wireless card, why sweat it?  BUT…. Why would ANY criminal go to the trouble of taking her laptop, wireless card & cord & transferring them to another bag?  Wouldn’t they just take it all & leave? We finally got her calmed down enough to get in the car so we could leave. 

About 10 or 15 miles down the road, Nita says:  AH Didn’t your husband pack your  computer bag for you because we were running late and you were packing your suitcase? 

AH:  I think you’re right!  That must be my youngest’s computer bag! 

So just like THAT…. It was over as quickly as it started…. Bless her heart!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Someone Stole My Laptop!

  1. Oh thank God! I was thinking the worst and blaming the guy who rode with you! I’m so glad it’s all settled! Poor thing! (Sorry, but it is kind of funny too!)

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s just funny because it’s so typically her. We had been teasing her all weekend about being scatter brained and A D D. To her credit she has 6 kids…who wouldn’t be confused?

  2. Jimmy says:

    Me too, I thought he may have stolen everything by making a switch, then didn’t like what was on the laptop, brought it back but couldn’t bring himself to return the bag, funny how you can get something set into your mind and not notice the obvious or remember who packed the computer to begin with, Ha Ha Good Post

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    That’s really not a nice trick to play on an Angelia ya know? Just not fair. We are ummm special like that. 🙂 See it’s NOT her bag if she didn’t pack it. HA.

    Love the pics you posted! I was gonna post about us too. Awh! My first bloggy friend meet! It couldn’t have been sweeter. Thank you! Great night. You SANG WONDERFUL! Both of you did! Everyone clapped and cheered. 🙂 I wish all your readers could have been there.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m glad no one was there to witness my mortification! It was great to meet you though! I know I’ll be back down there next year! If not before, wink, wink!

  4. suzicate says:

    I thought the stowaway stole it. Funny! Glad you guys had fun.

  5. pegbur7 says:

    We had decided if they tried to stick us with him on the way home, HE was gonna ride back there! 🙂 And we did have a great time.

  6. Whew, what a relief!
    Looks like a blast!

  7. Hadassah says:

    Sounds like a great time, and I’m prone to moments of stupidity…

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think she is just SO totally overwhelmed that she just can’t think straight sometimes. In her defense she has 6 kids and a husband on diability. And 3 kid and grandkids live with them now! I’d be lucky to put together a coherent sentence…

  8. Robin says:

    Hi Peg…I was having anxiety reading this..about the computer anyway..the rest was fun..Where would we be without our laptops…..great karaoke..I bet you were great at it, how about a Vlog for us all to see..Yeahh..!Have a great weekend..!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ok… I know I’m techno moronic but obviously just moronic… What’s a vlog? If it’s something to do with video and karaoke…. not a chance in hell! You’d NEVER visit my site again… nor would anyone else. Angelia was just saying I did good because she had just met me and she’s nice like that! I’ll tell it like it is/was: I SUCKED!!! LOL But it was fun…

  9. Pingback: To Text or To Sext? Hmmnnnn « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

