How do you like YOUR tea?

 Several  years ago my daughters and I went out for lunch one Sunday after church.  My husband is the manager of a restaurant and he was working so it was just the girls and me.  I honestly had not even thought about the fact that it just so happened to also be Mother’s Day.  We all know that Mother’s Day is one of the busiest restaurant days of the year, probably right behind Valentine’s Day.  We weren’t that far ahead of the church crowd and as we sat there it began to get pretty crowded.

 The waitress came and took our drink order. I ordered a sweet tea with NO lemon.  Anyone who knows me well knows that is something that I am VERY peculiar about.  I do NOT like lemon in my tea. I admit, I’m weird that way.  If I wanted lemon, I’d order lemonade. When I drink tea I just want my tea. Personal preference.

Anyway, the waitress brings our drinks and my tea has a BIG wedge of lemon about ½ inch below the surface of the tea.

Me:  I’m sorry, I don’t mean to be picky but I ordered my tea with NO lemon and this glass has a lemon in it.

Waitress (smiling):  Not a problem!

Sshe reaches INTO my glass with her FINGERS and extricates the lemon wedge!  She then shakes the tea off the lemon wedge, holds it out towards me and says:  “See?  NOT a problem!”

W T F?????

I am NOT kidding… she stuck her freaking fingers INTO MY GLASS OF TEA!!!!

Me (after I picked my jaw up off the floor):  Ummm, yeah, NOW we’ve got a problem.

Waitress:  (huffing and rolling her eyes) What now?  You said you didn’t want lemon? No lemon!

Me: (TRYING to remain calm and not jerk a knot in her butt) I’d like another glass of tea please… preferably one your fingers have NOT been in.

She rolled her eyes, picked up the glass and stormed off.  I watched her as she walked over to the drink station, poured out the tea and refilled the SAME glass with tea and brought it back to me.  She did NOT understand when I again told her I wanted another GLASS of tea… NOT the one her fingers had been in.  She then proceeded to lie and say she had NOT given me the same glass even though I told her I had watched her do it!  I asked for the manager. She stalked off with quite an attitude but did send the manager.

After listening to my complaint he told me he could not believe she would do such a thing.  (Yeah, I just go in restaurants and make up outlandish, unbelievable stories all the time.  People, you CAN’T make this stuff up!  He told me she was one of their best waitresses.  Really???  Did YOU train them?   He left,  then came back (I guess she had confirmed she did what I had related to him) and said he was sorry, she was having a bad day (then send her butt HOME) and they were really busy (DUH…it’s Mother’s Day) and he would send her back over to take our order. 

 NO – I don’t think so!  When I told him I didn’t THINK so, I would really prefer ANOTHER waitress, he truly did not understand why I did not want the same waitress again. (Duh! If I didn’t want her fingers in my tea, do you think I want her SPIT in my tea? Cause I‘m pretty sure after I told on her that’s what I would have gotten).   I should have walked out but after realizing it was Mother’s Day, I knew we would end up waiting even LONGER if we went somewhere else.  So, we stuck it out.  And our next waitress was much better.

BELIEVE ME… I am NOT dissing people who work in food service.  My whole family has worked in restaurants at some point or another or they still are.  I understand when you’re having a bad day, but PEOPLE… come on! USE COMMON SENSE…

The manager eventually came back by and offered to buy me a “dessert” FOR HAVING BEEN INCONVENIENCED by her behavior.  I declined.  Sorry, not really feeling it. And seriously, he should have offered to buy our entire MEAL –  PLUS given us a gift card, but…. Some people really should not work with the public.

Have any of you had similar experiences of customer NO-service?  Or should I call that DISS-service?   I was definitely DISSED (and pissed…).

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to How do you like YOUR tea?

  1. Spot says:

    Eeeewwww!! I would have felt exactly the same way! I don’t like lemon in my tea either and I sure as heck don’t like other people’s fingers in there!! You were right to complain and he should have been much more accomodating.

    My sister was a server for years and I know that she would be completely apalled by this waitresses behavior.

    ♥Spot

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I’ve seen you comment on my sister’s blog a lot. Isn’t she just a DOLL??? Yeah, that waitress def needed a remedial course in etiquette! I hope you’ll come back by!

  2. Hadassah says:

    I jumped on over to check out your blog after reading the Water Witch’s Daughter’s post about Big mama! I’m glad because you have an engaging way of telling stories much like your sister. It must be a family trait.

    I haven’t had anything overtly gross as in your situation, but I waited tables for several years. There are some duds to be sure that shouldn’t be there.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks for stopping by Hadassah! Yes, ALL of my family (Husband and kids and self) have worked in the food service industry in one capacity or another. Some things there IS no excuse for.
      Thanks for the compliment and comparison to my sister. I strive to be half the writer she is! She may be my baby sister but she is my role model where that is concerned! I hope you will stop by again (when I’m not ranting!) 🙂

  3. Robin says:

    Hi There..No I havent had anything too outrageous happen..but I would have done the same as you if it did…thats just bad manners, etiquette and cleanliness…Who knows where else HER hands have been..!!

  4. suzicate says:

    WOW!!!! That is crazy. I wish I had your balls sometimes. I probably would have squeamishly spoken up but usually if my food is not quite right or whatever, I jsut make do instead of making waves…how come I didn’t get balls…another thing they ran out of when they got to kid #6! I won’t start on my list of short comings here!

    • pegbur7 says:

      That wasn’t balls. That was total disgust of thinking of drinking something her fingers had been in! My kids wanted to crawl under the table but…

      I too tend to let people walk all over me but enough is enough! Thanks for your blog today… totally appreciated!

  5. Jane says:

    Ahhh, the stories I could tell. I was a waitress in college and my parents owned a coffee house for a few years. I am very sympathetic to wait staff, having been there, done that. BUT — I am very picky about my service, too. As I learned on the job – food service is not that difficult if you put your customer first. Personally, I would have walked out – on the manager and written a letter to the owner. There is no reason the manager should have challenged you. (btw – I’ll take your lemon! I order my tea “Sweet tea with extra lemon, please!” and hate visiting up north where they don’t “get” sweet tea.”

  6. LisaF says:

    A similar experience had a server forget to put lemons in our water. When reminded, he brought them IN HIS HAND! He may have an excuse as he was in training, but still…. We brought this to his trainer’s attention and I thought she was going to melt into the floor with embarrassment. I’m sure he was “instructed” on the proper way to deliver lemons from there on out.

    Both our daughters were servers and I’ve never seen two women more critical of service than they are! They don’t pull any punches when it comes to bringing poor service to the manager’s attention. Sometimes I melt into the floor with embarrassment. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Hubby is in restaurant management, he is HARD on servers. He had said if she had been one of his servers he would have fired her on the spot!

  7. Ron says:

    OMG…I just can’t get past the fact that she actually STUCK HER FINGERS into your glass?!?!??!

    That totally blows me away. It’s like something you would see in an I Love Lucy episode!

    Yes, I would definitely call that DISS-service and would have equally PISSED. And yes, I’ve experienced quite a bit of Diss-service myself. I live in Philadelphia, that’s only natural – HA!

  8. EEEEw! Good for you!
    My son is a waiter at a very schnazzy golf club out here summers (one I do not go to because I do not belong and couldn’t afford a meal there anyway), and he has me convinced that sending anything back is dangerous.

  9. Angelia Sims says:

    I can’t stop laughing over jerking a knot in her butt. Buahahaha! Too funny!

    I’m always nice to waitstaff and smile at the cooks. My brother told me one too many stories about what they do to food! Yeah, you don’t want to know!! 🙂

  10. Jimmy says:

    I too jumped over from your sisters blog to read yours, I am glad I did and will be adding you to my blog roll.

    Your story reminds me of something that would happen to my wife and I, she actually prefers her tea with lots of lemon I joke that she likes a little tea with her lemon. She also like fountain Cokes with extra ice–no Dr.Pepper no way, once at a drive through she got her drink and took a sip before driving off to get the taste of Dr Pepper she handed the drink back saying I ordered Coke the young girl who looked about 12 said and thats what you got, Cindy says no this is Dr Pepper the girl says You have Coke, Cindy then says How would you like for me to crawl through the window and show you the difference, The manager showed up about that time to make sure a Coke Extra Ice came out with no spit added, I never did see this young lady at the drive up again.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Hey Jimmy! Thanks for stopping by. Yes, we southern women DO like to have things our way, don’t we? 🙂 I just like to get my tea the way I like it and with no extra added spittle! I hope you will be back!

  11. krex555 says:

    Ick! It’s bad enough that lemons are a witches brew for bacteria, but that’s just bizarre for your waitress to do that, and then see nothing wrong with it!

Leave a Reply

