Pete and Repeat

I was reading a new blog I found the other day, the Un-Mom, and had to laugh. She really reminds me of myself when my kids were younger. Nothing makes me feel so many mixed emotions as being a mom does. It’s the hardest but also most rewarding thing I have ever done but also sometimes the most thankless job you’ll ever have. And it’s a job that’s never done. I wonder sometimes… “When do you stop worrying about your kids”? Answer: NEVER

I kid sometimes and say that I will always be my Daddy’s little girl. I kind of always prided myself in the fact that I looked like my daddy.

Don't I look like my daddy?

 There was a little country store where we grew up and the owner there used to always tease me about how much I looked like him. My dad’s nick name is Pete. Whenever we’d go in that store she’d say “Here come Pete and Re-Pete”. I saw a store (or maybe it was a bar) that made me smile remembering that since my name is Peg and after a bad bicycle wreck got the nickname Peg-leg. Here’s the sign:

I tell MY girls all the time that THEY will always be their daddy’s little girls. It’s the truth. I don’t care how old you are, you are ALWAYS your daddy’s little girl. They never seem to think you are grown. When we were walking by all these shops yesterday I saw a onesie in the window of one of the shops that we definitely should have had when our girls were babies.

pre-requisite t-shirt

 That should be a pre-requisite for all baby girls to own.

It was funny because before we had our first child (we have THREE girls) my husband always said he wanted a boy. Every doctor’s visit he was always saying he thought “it” was a boy. Of course we are old enough that back then it wasn’t “routine” to find out the sex of your baby beforehand. It was a fairly new thing and I never wanted to know ahead of time. I always liked the mystique of finding out at the birth. Even while I was giving birth, my husband was sitting there when just her head was out going “It’s gotta be a boy! It looks just like me!” The doctor was like “Uh…. Little girls can look like their daddies too!” And they do. The middle one looks more like me but the oldest and youngest look more like him. I told him it wasn’t fair that I do all the work and he gets all the glory!

She definately looks like her daddy

I remember many times as a new mom feeling almost overwhelmed. I never really had any “help” when our kids were born. When our older two were born we lived in New Orleans and we didn’t really have any family close by so it was pretty much just us. I think there were many days that Hubby would come home to find me sitting in the middle of the floor crying.

Once because I thought I’d killed the cat. I was hysterical when he came home. I had been rocking her fairly fast trying to get her to stop crying and the cat (who I guess was also freaked out by the non stop crying) ran behind the rocker and I rocked over her or her tail or something. I just remember her yelping and limping off but then I couldn’t find her. And #1 wouldn’t quit crying so I couldn’t put her down to try to find the cat, and I hadn’t eaten all day and I hadn’t had a shower. I was holding her and trying to look under the furniture and finally I was so tired and exhausted and overwhelmed I just sat there in the middle of the floor holding her and crying and that was where Hubby found me when he came home from work.

#1 w/ the cat I thought I killed

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Pete and Repeat

  1. suzicate says:

    Funny how we change…You look exactly like Mama! And have since you were about fourteen…puberty did it! You should be proud of it because you are both beautiful!

  2. Jane says:

    What a fun trip down memory lane. Oh – and the almost killed the cat story? Totally been there, done that. Boy, am I glad those days are over!

  3. This was such a delight! It really took me back to “the day”. Your photos are fabulous and I love your writing. The almost kitty death is pretty hilarious, but so sad too and Oh my God, I can relate t0 the horrid overwhelmed feeling with babies!

    Thank you so much! I adore this!

  4. NikNik says:

    Love it! And yes, even though I’m married and moved away I still think of myself as (one of) Daddy’s Little girls!!! I thought for sure this story was gonna have a coco, dodo ending! Love you Mama- thank you for all that you do!!!

  5. Oh, this is so sweet. You know, I’ve never had that Daddy’s Little Girl feeling. My dad is wonderful, but he just was hard to be close to. You’re lucky.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Believe me, mine was hard to be close to too but you still knew that no one better mess with us. I just remember I always felt so proud when tah lady would call me Repeat.

  6. Peg, how do I “follow” your blog? I don’t see an icon for that. Thanks!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I am sorry to say that I don’t know! LOL I am fairly new to the blogosphere. I only know how to copy people’s url and add them to my blogroll. I’ll see if I can figure out if there is an icon I can add…SuziCate is my sister so I will ask her… Thanks for letting me now I can do that! still learning daily. If you haven’t visited Suzi I think you would enjoy her too. She’s under my blogroll under The Water Witches Daughter. I know you can subscribe at the bottom of each post because my daughter did that.

    • pegbur7 says:

      On the right hand side of my blog under the blog roll is a subscribe button. That is the only way I know. Sorry I’m not more tech savvy yet! 😦

  7. I took a quick peak at your sis’s blog and know I’m going to love it too! I will peruse it tomorrow. What a couple of sisters! Both with talent! I’m impressed as all get out! Wonderful to have found you and I subscribed to your blog!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks! Yes, Suzi is extremely talented. She is one of those people who is good at whatever she tries. Very artsy and makes beautiful quilts too. She was the one that talked me into starting a blog. I guest blogged for her and she told me I should do it so here I am! Glad you enjoyed it and I’ve been checking yours out too. Enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

