And The Candy Bar Goes To….

Ok BIG surprise here, but, sometimes I don’t understand teenagers.  When I first mentioned to my family a few weeks ago that my sister thought I should start my own blog they (hubby, #1 & #2) were all VERY supportive.  #3 – not so much!   The teenager informed me that I “better not” write a blog because it would be stupid and embarrassing and that I definitely better not write anything about her because that would just be too too embarrassing.  So, I have tried to keep any writing about her to a minimum. And because of her reaction, I probably  even failed to mention to her that I was doing it. 

The other day, I was on the phone with #2, talking to her about my VERY FIRST blog award (THANK YOU Angelia over at Youthinkyoucanblog.wordpress.comI am honored) when #3 comes in.  She says “You’re writing a blog? Where is it?”  I told her to never mind, not worry about it, I wasn’t writing about her.  She kept asking so I told her I didn’t tell her because I didn’t want her to make a big deal and complain about it and correct everything I said as she is wont to do.  I finally gave in (big surprise) and gave her the web address. After a few minutes reading it she said “You write more about my sisters than you do about me. You love them more than you love me!” (Did I mention that she might be a teensy bit of a drama queen?) Hello???  Didn’t you SAY you didn’t want me writing about you? Then she says, “I don’t mind if you write about me to tell people how wonderful and beautiful and great I am! (And she’s not conceited – she’s just a teenager!) I just don’t want you writing anything embarrassing about me.”  Well, baby you gotta take the good with the bad… 

Kids are so funny. I told her that her sisters were actually jealous of her because I have a whole folder in my FB pictures dedicated to just her so that makes THEM jealous.  I guess you can never please everyone can you?  And then this morning, hubby calls me to tell me of something incredibly dumb he had done and says “You better not blog about this. OK?”  Well, then, you BETTER not tell me.  Any of their stupid shenanigans are open fodder for my blog is what I’m thinking! Right? 

So, anyway, I thought I would tell a good story about #3 (to start).  Not to brag, but all of my girls are smart (OK maybe I AM bragging).  They have all always been more advanced for their age, and #3 probably more so because she always had two older sisters around. She always wanted to hang out with them and their friends so she was essentially a teenager since she was like 5!  She acted older and had a much more vast vocabulary. 

#3 about 3 years old

 

Hubby used to always bring the girls treats home from work. He’d stop by the store and get them candy or ice cream or sodas or gum. Just a little something. This particular night he brought home candy bars. He brought home 4, 1 for me and one for each of the girls. He brought a Hershey’s Milk Chocolate for #3 since she was still only about 2 or 3 and he didn’t want to bring anything he thought she might choke on. He brought #1 and #2 Butterfinger candy bars and he brought me a Heath bar.  #3 pitched a fit. She wanted the same kind of candy bar that her sisters had.  It was late and there was not gonna be any going back to the store to exchange or buy a new candy bar.  She cried and threw a hissy fit. I offered her MY candy bar and she refused because she wanted a Butterfinger.  Finally to make her shut up #2 gave her HER Butterfinger. Then #2 decided she didn’t want the Hershey bar either so I gave her my Heath bar.  I took the Hershey bar and set it on my bedside table. I didn’t really feel like a candy bar that night anyway.  They all three ate their “new” candy bars and went to bed happy.  End of story… right?  Not quite. 

Despite the upside down jacket she really is smart!

 

A few nights later I am in my bed watching TV and #3 comes in and crawls in my bed to “snuggle”.  We are laying there watching TV when she sits up and looks over at my night stand and says “Oh, Mommy.  Can you hand me my candy bar from over there?”  I had pretty much not even thought about that candy bar since the fiasco a few nights before, but, when she said that, I looked at the night stand, saw the Hershey bar and remembered.  I said “Sweetie, you already ate your candy bar the other night, so, that one is Mommy’s , remember?”  She said “No, mommy, THAT’S my candy bar over there!”  I told her no, she had traded with her sister so she got hers.  So she looks up at me with those big brown eyes and smiles and says (remember this is coming from a 2 or 3 year old) “Actually, Mommy, I believe that I ate #2’s candy bar, so technically THAT would be MY candy bar.”  Now, tell me…. HOW can you argue with logic like that?  I just smiled and handed her the Hershey Bar.  Gotta love it!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to And The Candy Bar Goes To….

  1. NikNik says:

    I love this story! I am really surprised that I didnt offer mine as we all know how very giving I am- hahaha!

    • pegbur7 says:

      BAHAHAHAHAHA oops – Did I laugh out LOUD? #3 and I both got a chuckle out of that.

      Seriously, you ARE very generous… NOW… back then, not so much. You would rather listen to her pitch her fit than give up your Butterfinger! Don’t come between a girl and her food!

  2. suzicate says:

    Well, she had a point…good thing she didn’t try to pull that on her Gramma…we know how she is about chocolate. That’s right, it would have already been gone, and mine, too. Didn’t she try to pull something like that with the caramel Bugles she said were idsgusting and then wanted yours? I think I sense a pattern here!

  3. Angelia Sims says:

    A real charmer at age three. It’s the brown eyes, they are killer. I have some candy bars over here, she can have em! She can have em all! 😀

    P.S. Having only one? No fights. I’m feeling really happy about that right now.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yeah, I’ve always said if you only have one and they are arguing with “siblings” then you got a PROBLEM! LOL Luckily they never fought a whole lot. They were always too busy being conniving and trying to trick each other…

  4. Jane says:

    This is too cute! And so true about teenagers and their tug/pull with moms. My daughter said she didn’t even want to know the blog address of my blog because I’d probably embarass her more over the internet than I do in RL. But every time I’m working on it she peers over my shoulder “just to check it out!”

Leave a Reply

