Experiment #1

Our oldest was a very colic-y baby.  Bless her heart.  I breast fed all our babies and I never knew about how there were certain veggies and things you shouldn’t eat while you’re nursing because it can cause the baby to have gas. I thought I was being conscientious by eating healthy and lots of veggies etc.  

 

I remember going to the doctor for like her 1 month check-up or maybe it was two months, I can’t remember now.  He asked how things were going and I explained that I didn’t understand why she cried every evening.  For like two hours EVERY evening.  No matter what I did.  There were no Mylicon drops or anything like that then. No miracle things.  And she might have been a teensy bit spoiled on top of that because  I breast-fed on demand.  I was under the impression that if she cried and she wasn’t wet and I was already holding her (which was most of the time) then she MUST have been hungry so I’d nurse her AGAIN… Didn’t realize that I was a human pacifier!  But we live and learn don’t we?  So, I go to the doctor and he asks me what I’ve been eating and PROUDLY I say that I’ve been trying to eat right and that I’m eating lots of fruits and veggies.  He asked what kind of veggies and I told him I was eating lots of broccoli, cauliflower, onions, peppers, beans, etc.  He started laughing and said “You do realize those are some of the gassiest vegetables you could be eating, right?  She’s crying because her tummy hurts. You’re giving her gas.”  Oops….  Sorry boo….. 

Me and #1 around the time I found out I was pregnant with #2

Then when she was ten months old I got pregnant with my second and #1 NEVER wanted to take a nap.  I would BEG her to go to sleep so I could get a nap and no such luck.  The couple of times that I was beyond tired and just put her in her crib so I could sleep I was awakened by her smacking me with something because she had learned how to get out of her crib by herself! 

The little crib climber

One time I left hubby to watch her so I could take a long shower because I was pregnant and my back was hurting.  Hubby was drinking one of those pony beers and left it on the coffee table after only a sip or two and fell asleep.  I came out in the living room to find hubby asleep and #1 passed out UNDER the chair because SHE drank part of the beer after he fell asleep.  I’m just glad no one ever saw that and called DFACS on us!  LOL 

Well, the first one always IS the experiment, right? 

This experiment turned out just fine!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Experiment #1

  1. suzicate says:

    Yes, #1 turned out awesome…That pony beer must’ve had a lasting effect on her!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, I think it did. I actually have a pic of her passed out under the chair somewhere… I just couldn’t lay my hands on it last night. If I find it later I will post it.

  2. LisaF says:

    Thanks for the Friday morning giggle. I joke that my #1 only took 4 naps a year; Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter. And when #2 came along, she had all but given up her naps altogether! She was also a climber. Now she has a daughter and I’m sitting back with a smile on my face. History does repeat itself.

  3. NikNik says:

    Well maybe the veggies were a good thing cuz now I love them! And the beer too! Sorry bout the whole crying thing! Love you mama! BTW- that is one of my favorite wedding pictures!

Leave a Reply

