So How Does That Translate?

Now that I’m on the MIL roll, I do need to tell you one little story.  As I said yesterday, MIL does not have a firm grasp on the English language.  Or should I say Engrish?   She used to write us letters, in Japanese, and then she would give them to a friend of hers to translate and rewrite and then she would sign them.  The end result was that her letters sounded VERY formal and stilted. Almost like she was writing a business letter or to a total stranger.   In fact, most of the time, her salutation would be “Dear Mr. and Mrs.”.   No joke.  I’m sure she did not realize how they sounded to us, just like we probably wouldn’t have any idea if we had someone translate our letters into Japanese.  And she would always end them with “I love you, your mother” and then would sign her first and last name.  I always get a kick out of her letters and lately it’s quite a chore to even figure out what she is trying to say since she has obviously gotten a new translator so now they make little or no sense.

It’s fairly obvious that some words don’t translate quite as well as others and sometimes it seems her translator must use a very archaic Japanese to English Dictionary.  Even though some of the words may be technically correct, it will be words that we no longer use in the sense that she obviously intends.  One such instance had very comical results.

BIL & SIL have been living in Arizona ever since MIL visited at their wedding.  Hubby and I have lived in GA  ever since.  MIL’s letters often ask about how often we keep in touch with each other.  This one particular letter had the phrase “I hope that you {meaning Hubby} and BIL {his brother} and Peg {me} and SIL {BIL’s wife} are having good intercourse.”  My husband was reading the letter out loud to me and got to that point and practically threw the letter on the ground like it was contaminated.  I was like “What’s wrong?”

Hubby:  Did you not hear what I just said?  What is wrong with my mom?  What kind of people does she think we are?

Me:  Honey, I don’t think your mom means what you think she means.

Hubby: What else could she mean?  She said {and here he whispers} intercourse!  She thinks we’re all having SEX…together???

I had to laugh.  Then I had to explain to him that intercourse could also mean an exchange of words… as in communication?  “I think what she is trying to say is that she hope that we are all keeping in touch with one another and talking together”.

Hubby:  Oh, yeah, I knew that!

Sure you did honey…..Sure you did…..

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So How Does That Translate?

  1. suzicate says:

    HAHA, I’d heard about some of the translations, but don’t remember that one, Funny!

  2. Angelia Sims says:

    Ha ha! You don’t have intercourse with family? What? You’re not from Arkansas?

    Ohhhhhh, that was good. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Nor Alabama, nor Tennessee, nor Kentucky…. Shall I go on? Yes, MIL is good for lots of laughs but not on purpose. I’m going to post one of her letters soon with MY interpretation of that I THINK she means! LOL

  3. ck says:

    I hope you’re saving these letters!

Leave a Reply

